LIL: Photos for the LMAC Image Library

in Let's Make a Collage3 years ago (edited)

Hurricane Henri Forming in the Atlantic
2021_CIMSS_08L_Eight_visible_infrared_satellite_loop.gif
Attribution: SSEC/CIMSS, University of Wisconsin–Madison

In my neck of the woods, summer is drawing to a close with its usual barometric eccentricity.Though there may be nothing predictable about the weather, there is blessed predictability in the LMAC community. Pictures are flowing in to the LMAC Image Library. I personally have been combing through my family photos to find appropriate images for the library.

Just in case you are new to the idea, here's a blog from @shaka that explains exactly what the library is and how to contribute. Two prevailing rules are: all contributions are with no strings attached (must be completely free of copyright restriction), and they must be your photos. Also, they must be clear enough for artists to use as a resource.

Please refer to @shaka's blog for more detailed guidance.

Our collage contest resumes in September. I encourage everyone who enjoys creative activity to join in. You will have fun and become a member of one of the most dynamic communities on Hive.
lmac graphic3.jpg

July Column, Paris Monument, Bastille, July Column, Paris
Silhouette on The Beach Beach, Silhouette, Sunset, Children Playing
After the Hurricane Fallen Trees, Home, Hurricane Debris
Cows in the Pasture Cows, Pasture, Sky, Fence
Noodle Bowl Bowl, Noodle Bowl
Hôtel de Ville, Paris Building, Hôtel de Ville, Paris
Grand Cayman Steps, Palm Trees, Sky, River
Angel Knickknack Angel Statue, Knickknack
Turtle Turtle, Grass
Swimming Pool, Grand Cayman Swimming Pool, Volleyball, People Playing, Resort, Grand Cayman
Silhouette on a Country Road Country Road, Silhouette
Basketball Hoop Basketball Hoop, Basketball Stand, Park
Hockey Rink Building, Hockey Rink
Cat in a Window Cat, Window
Water Fountain Water Fountain
Crescent Moon Night Sky, Crescent Moon, Tree Silhouettes
General John Buford Statue U.S. Civil War Statue, Cannons, Buford Statue
Plants on a Lawn Flowers, Plants, Lawn
U. S. Civil War Statue General John Reynolds Statue, U. S. Civil War Statue, Monument
Staircase in the Park Park, Staircase
London Bridge Skyline, London Bridge
Westminster Abby Westminster Abby, London, Church
Comb Comb, Pink Comb
Ship Greenwich, Ship, People
Greenwich, England Ship, Greenwich, Seaport
Grand Cayman Coast Grand Cayman, Coast, Rocky Shore
Sand Monster Beach, Sand Sculpture, Sand Monster
Paris Vista Distant Eiffel Tower, Paris Street Scene
Cows in the Meadow Meadow, Field, Country, Cows
Paddling in Grand Cayman Beach, Bay, Grand Cayman, Hat
Gnarled Tree in Grand Cayman Beach, Gnarled Tree
View of the Seine River, Bridge, Seine
Cows Behind a Fence Cows, Fence, Country
Surveillance Sign Sign, Warning Sign, Surveillance Sign
Arc de Triomphe Paris, Arc de Triomphe, Street Scene
Hôtel de Ville Hôtel de Ville, Paris Museum
Jones Beach View Beach, Jones Beach, Boat
Sort:  

Thanks for these nice photos, especially those from Paris 👌
We‘ve just seen the July column last Saturday.

Thank you very much. I'm looking forward to seeing more of your vacation photos. Not getting out much these days. I love to travel with other people, virtually :)

Heheh... I was about to say that I know these places quite well ;)

I know very well some of the photos there. Those of Paris of course, which I could see mostly every day. I am now back on site, in Paris downtown, 3 or 4 days per week (and this will go to 5 days per week quite soon; life restarts...)

Hello @lemouth,
Thank you for stopping by and enjoying my pictures :) Life restarting...won't that be wonderful. School's open for my granddaughter (12th grade!!), but protocols are followed, so there is a good chance the school will stay open. There is less intransigence about vaccination in my school district than in a lot of the U.S, so we have a chance of actually keeping classes open.

Hope you and your family stay well.

Regards,

My big boy is now entering middle school, and the small one primary school. Time is flying and I had the impression to have spent 2 years in one in 2020-2021.... Apart from this, the family is well, and quite busy as you can imagine (September = new academic year = a lot of things to do). How are you? It has been a while!

On my side, the university will be 100% open this year. Everyone will have to wear a mask on-site, and un-vaccinated students in contact with someone COVID-positive will have to quarantine for 7 days. For my boys, they will also have to stay home for 7 days as soon as confirmed COVID cases are found in their class (either 1 or 3, I don't remember exactly and cannot check now), as they are not vaccinated (note that this is impossible for them, as they are below-12 y.o. kids).

(I just voted for my own comment! Still making mistakes on the platform 😄)

Your children are growing so fast! Time does fly.

My daughter works in an elementary school. They got their first positive COVID case today. 2nd day of school! I don't think they are sending kids home, unless they have been in close contact. Really casual attitude. Which probably explains our high infection rate in the U.S.

We (my family) are fine, and I have the same sensation you do of having lost a whole year. It wasn't hard, but where did it go?

Everyone in my family is vaccinated (J&J, Moderna, and Pfizer). Now the CDC is talking about boosters for Moderna and J&J. The secret to surviving, for anyone at any time, I guess, is adapting. So, we adapt.

I hope you and your family get through the year with relatively little discomfort, and certainly in good health.

We indeed need to adapt but most and for all, we need to think collectively, and for the best of our society. Many here in France (however only a minority) cannot do that and have a kind of "me, me, me and myself" vision of life, which adds to the usual set of conspiracy believers). In the US, the situation seems worse, from what I have read online.

I will try to spend some time on HIVE this week and write a new posts summarising my life since March 2020. I am however unsure I will find the time and energy to do it. The last two weeks were again very demanding administration-wise... The following week will be heavy, but hopefully not as heavy as the previous ones.

Anyways, have a nice week-end!

Very beautiful photos!

Hello @katerinaramm,
So good to see you here. I hope you are well in these crazy times. My photos are kind of a hodgepodge of categories, but they will hopefully be useful to community members.

Take care of yourself.

Warm regards,

They are awesome :) I will search and find more info about this community, I know nothing about it :)

Hello friend, a great quality of photographs to make our collage, thank you for your contribution to the LMAC community

Thank you for your visit and your kind words, @cetb2008. It's amazing how many pictures are flowing in...
Enjoy the rest of your summer.

A very nice selection of pictures. You are truly an asset to the LMAC community. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @pokerm. Your consistent support of my blog is heartening. I'm glad you like the photos.

I can imagine the good memories that came to your mind elaborating this post. Paris must be a dream, I have to go there someday. You can always find good photos for the library in our family album. I hope all is still well on your side and that the hurricane is just history. 🤗

Hello @mballesteros,
Weather is good here :)

I love going through this pictures and manipulating them. It's almost as relaxing as making a collage. I keep adjusting resolution, coloring and size. Keeps my mind off other stuff.

Thanks for stopping by, my friend.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.