Sort:  

That's too bad. I was in Scouting from age 4 to 16, and I went all the way to the top (Queen's Scout). I went to Jubilees and other events across Canada. I slept in -40oC (water froze before hitting the ground), I got lost with other boys in the Canadian wilderness, I did a ton of community service. I was involved with many different troops over the years. Both my brothers were also involved. I've never experienced or heard of anything improper happening, not once. That's pretty remarkable for ANY organization. Let's see any church pull off a record like that?

Anyway, I'm sad my own son isn't going to be able to be a Scout. I'll teach him from my memory, from my tattered Scout handbook, and from others online.

Yeah I dont think you need the organization to provide the same value. Maybe you can even have a bit more freedom in creating your own nature plan for your kids.

It seems like youth organizations in general deal with a lot of this.

Might be a bit tough to do group activities with just a parent and child, though. There's a reason people gather. We need interaction with others as youth, or we become mentally unhealthy poorly-adjusted adults. This has been understood since the dawn of time.