What's on the 3D printer today Hivers

in #3dprinting3 years ago (edited)

Something rather big that's what. I got a call from a mate who has just got a new Mac Mini and very nice it is too, but he wants to mount it off the desk asked if it was possible to print a wall mount which we found on Thingiverse.

A little bit of a tall order on the Ender 3 printer bed but with a bit of tweaking the printer settings in Cura I just managed to get it to fit. The standard bed size is 220mm X 220mm as there 10mm allowance all the way around. I've increased the bed size to 230 x 230 but you run the risk of the print edges lifting because the edges of the bed run a little bit cooler, it all seems ok at the moment time will tell though as the print gets taller.

IMG_0684.JPG

The other issue is I'm fast running out of PLA to print. The power cut we had this evening didn't help I was about 3 hours into the print when the lights went out and the printer stopped.

IMG_0687.JPG

I suspect it was something to do with the storm at the time but they seem to happen all too often in the Philippines.

IMG_0678.JPG

But it did mean that the print had to be restarted wasting a good bit of PLA filament I can ill afford at the moment as orders are taking so long to arrive. But fingers crossed there will be enough I should know in about another 12 hours.

IMG_0682.jpg

Well, that's all finished with no more power cuts and enough filament to finish the print. At a guess, I've got about 20m left so not too bad.

IMG_0686.JPG

All fitted so another happy customer.

IMG_0688.jpg

Sort:  

cool stuff! Where did you get the 3D printer and what is the cost? Thanks for sharing your experience here!

The one I have in the Philippines came via Lazada a sort of Asian eBay, it was about 180 euros over a year ago.

It's a Creality Ender 3 fairly basic but it does the job ok. One really good thing about the Ender is there is a huge FB and Youtube community if you ever get stuck there is always someone who will help and a few hundred who will take the piss ;).

There are a few places in Europe you can get them or direct online from Creality in china

Nice work! I'd be interested in getting some Australian dollars 3D printed if you can work it out. I'll pay you 50 cents in the dollar. :)

is that the one with the wallaby or the ball and chain on it

Here's some I prepared earlier...These will work.

P3310030 2.jpeg

On a serious note, I have heard of counterfeit plates being printed for US$ so it could be worth looking into ;)

Haha, yeah I heard something to that effect. It's amazing what's possible these days.

You can get resume from power out features on the Ender 3 by upgrading the mainboard. See my post here : https://stemgeeks.net/hive-163521/@apshamilton/upgrading-the-ender-3-pro-with-klipper-on-raspberry-pi4-skr-1-3-mainboard-and-tmc2209-drivers

yes, I know mine has a power resume. but the nozzle cooled down and stuck to the print so cocks up the start point

I've done a mainboard upgrade on my printer back in the UK. I will probably bring one back for my printer here in the Philippines when I come back next time