Free Slurpees: Pandemic Edition

in #7-eleven4 years ago

         Yesterday was July 11. You know that meant? It was 7/11. Usually your local 7-Eleven would be offering free Slurpees for everyone. Unfortunately, the pandemic caused a change in game plan. I had expected something to be different this year, so I scouted ahead.

         Instead of the traditional way, now only those who signed up to the loyalty program could get a freebie. That is, from stores that participate in it. That's not a huge deal, but I am wary of signing up for a ton of programs that I seldom use.

         If anyone is wondering, the "points" you earn do not include fuels you purchase. So, that pretty much makes it worthless. I don't go and spend a ton of money at 7-Eleven most of the times outside of fuel.

         Anyways, that didn't stop me from getting Slurpees. Although, it was a bit weird carrying out several of them by myself. I take precautions because we have elderly family members that are around us.

         I am a basic man, I tend to prefer simple flavors. I got the plain old Coca Cola ones.

         Since 7/11 was a bit of downer for everyone this year, I went ahead and made some fish and chips for late lunch. Sometimes, you gotta enjoy life and get rid of the extra halibut you have in the freezer.

         I cooked both the fries and the fish with the air fryer. I did them in separate batches. It only took about 35 minutes or so to prepare. The fish was already precooked, so that made it even easier and quicker.

         Speaking of fish, I would like to give fishing another go this summer. Although, I should see what the situation is like since the pandemic. I'll figure that out for another day.

Sort:  

There's hardly a 7-11 left around here, they've all been sold mostly to independent owners. There might still be some out more in the suburbs but to many robberies in the inner cities may have played a role. Just like Stop and Go stores people use to call them Stop and Rob....lol. That fish looks delicious, I gave your chicken recipe to my son but he hasn't had much luck with it, the crust still comes off. I went fishing with the grand kids yesterday, they caught some blue gill and sun fish, mostly small ones, I just did a post on it awhile ago. I like to fish, I did it a few years ago but I don't know..putting that worm on the hook gets to me being an adult unlike when I was a child. I've been thinking about doing it again for something to do to get out a bit more.

That’s too bad about the chicken.

But yeah, I seldom fish, so it’ll be an experience.

I guess I've grown more of a conscious than I've been awoken to when it comes to fishing. Taking that worm and often having to tear it in half than shove the rest of it down the middle of it's body onto a hook seems torturous, almost inhumane....I guess I could understand it if it came down to me starving and needing the food but often times I don't catch anything of relative enough size to fillet and eat nor am I starving and anything will suffice for food....then consider the poor fish whom you just caused all this pain and suffering trying to get the hook out...which isn't to bad if you can get it out relatively easy but leaves you feeling awful if you end up tearing up the inside his mouth or it lodges to close to their eye. I've tried other non live bait without much success and here they don't allow you to use things like corn anymore you have to use things from the natural environment when using bait outside of using non live bait. I guess overall though it's a good idea to teach kids to fish because you just never know what the future holds and it could prove to be a vital way for them to get food. I enjoy sitting along a body of water and fishing but do I enjoy it enough to get past my conscious is my dilemma.

There's a difference between survival and sports. I wouldn't dwell on it.

For sure....for now whatever excuse gets my conscious to bait those hooks....lol.

I think fishing is fairly safe to do because it is a naturally social distancing event.

There are tons of 7-11s in Korea, but few have slurie machines. I miss those.

lol, slurie machine, that sort of reminds me of when a friend of mine moved to California many years ago. Out there they call goulash macaroni and hamburger, pop is also called soda...which it technically is but it shows you the difference in regions of what people call things.

actually it was a typo...sorry to disappoint you.
We call them slushies where I gre up (toronto, canada)
Howevere we call it pop and goulash. Gimme a litre of cola, please!

I don’t think I’ve seen too many without one in the US.

Lycky. When I visit places that sell them, I usually get the largest double big gulps (half gallon or whatever its called) and just finish like 1/10 of it....just for the feelingof carrying around 5000 calories of slurpee.

Double gulp is the way to go. Go big or go home.

lol

With the current climate food and slurpee posts take on a whole new angle, seeing fish and chips makes me so acutely aware of what I used to take for granted like going on Sundays to the "Brit Pub" to watch some games and eat it wrapped up in newspaper and then getting a nice pint of whatever.....le sigh and nom nom

Oh yeah. I didn't even think about taking things for granted until seeing that sign.

The fish and chips look pretty tasty. I usually only get fish when I go out to eat because my wife doesn't really care for it. Since we haven't been going out in a while, I haven't had fish. I also haven't had a Slurpee in forever. We used to live around the corner from a 7-11, but that was years ago.

That's funny because there is a 7-Eleven by the corner from where I live.

I usually don't do fish, but figured might as well.

I have seen more guys taking up fishing during the pandemic. Seems like the ideal hobby for this kind of situation. Finding food while being socially distant.
Good luck.
Looking forward to your catch of the season.

The good thing is, a fishing license isn't too expensive in my state.

The question is: what kind of fish can you catch?
Where I am they throw the fish back in the water because most of it is not really edible. Doesn't taste great and too many bones.
Hopefully you can get something tasty.

Catfish and rainbow trout are some of the ones I know people catch around here regularly.

I think some of the more adventurous ones go for tiger muskies.

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 65000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 66000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!