Ulog #103 & 7daypositivitychallenge #101: Steemph.UAE bled with APO | Blood Donation Campaign

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

My post for today is all about blood donation, family and friends. From today onward I will be posting a back dated blogs as I did not had a chance to post these blogs of mine on those previous days that I should have posted them... simply because my weekend was really hectic hehe. So please bear with me on these back dated posts of mine. c",)

This is my 3rd #Ulog (initiated by @surpassinggoogle) story & my 1st ever #7daypositivitychallenge(initiated by @conradt).

June 7, 2018

Here it goes...

@Steemph.uae had an open invitation for the blood letting last May and my husband @donaldd and I decided to join the team for this good cause... thanks to @lifediaries2nd for keeping us posted. ^_^

Shirt.jpg

Since this had been a topic in our group chat for few times, we - @iamdeth @paluchie & I decided to travel together using their car to meet the other team members at the Abu Dhabi Blood Bank.

We came from Dubai and was surprised that the Abu Dhabi team were not there yet to think that they're the nearest among all of us... hahaha sorry guys just pointing it out hahaha! c",) So we reached our destination and @lifediaries2nd was there to guide us.

When we arrived, we were guided to the registration to fill out the form as we were not registered online, coz we were there to be volunteers to lend a hand... not there for blood donation. Why not? My husband had his first blood donation on 23rd of April and since the event happened on 7th June, the 2 months has not been completed yet to be able to donate blood again, as per donation requirement. And my reason is I am an anemic person and I cannot donate blood.

Donald reg.jpg

Anyway, so we moved from registration to our initial interview were we were given a blood donor interview form. After receiving the forms, we decided to answer those together while eating.

Filling out forms.jpg

photo grabbed from @prinsepong

After filling out the forms, the next thing to do is to follow the line that will lead you to the laboratory room for your preliminary screening that includes hemoglobin determination, body temperature and last but not the least is the checking of your weight if you are eligible as a blood donor.

Pic 1.jpg

photo grabbed from @prinsepong

Pic 2.jpg

photo grabbed from @kennyroy

While inside the laboratory room, I was surprised that I passed the test! ^_^ I am not an anemic person anymore! I can now donate blood! I was literally happy but had a mixed emotions because that was my first time donating blood. I was a little frightened.

So after I passed the tests, I went straight to the bleeding room, which literally means blood everywhere, not in a yucky way but the room for all the donors who were donating their own bloods for a good cause! ^_^ When I went inside, I saw some of the team members who were waiting in line for their names to be called and some who were already donating. And also noticed that my husband who loves donating was there and was not wearing the shirt given by the APO. Hence, I asked him why? So he mentioned that he was rejected due to not completing the 2 months requirement of after finishing the first blood donation. After hearing that, I felt like my heart jumped out of my chest as I got tensed of not seeing him next to me to bleed together. But he was shocked after hearing my story that I passed all the tests and my sister @pingcess who was standing next to him was surprised as well. Hooray I am no longer an anemic person haha

Bleeding Room.jpg

photo grabbed from @prinsepong

Ok, this is it... one of the beds was empty, so I hopped in and laid feeling brave (though I am honestly not). This is my first time dude, you cannot blame me hihihi So while I was laying down one of the male nurses approached me and started searching for my vein to start the process. He started on my left arm, moved to my right arm, moved to my left arm again and moved to my right arm again... Why??? Simply because he cannot find a good vein to start with!!! Until he asked me, "Ma'am do you still want to do this? I cannot find any good vein to insert the needle." I told him "yes I want to" and that lady (pointing to the kabayan lady nurse) "searched for my vein earlier and she found that". So the lady nurse started the process... when she found a good vein she asked me again if I am ready? I simply said yes though the people around me were already teasing me that I was starting to get pale and looks like I was about to faint. Until I heard my husband saying "Just look at me, don't look at the needle' and so I did. Without realizing the needle was already inserted and started sucking my blood. My sister @pingcess kept on asking me if I was OK? Feeling OK? And I saw @kennyroy giving boiled eggs, juice and biscuits to hubby @donaldd to feed me as it was my first time so I might need some energy booster!

this is it.JPG

photos grabbed from @prinsepong

Well, to cut this very long story of mine... I bled and shared a blood for someone who will be needing it in future or already waiting for some for him or her. I felt very good knowing that I conquered my fear and someone in front of me told me that "I am so proud of you!" with a hug (@donaldd). awww sweet hahaha

After this I received my certificate and all of us started eating together and took photos as a remembrance of our good deed! We were thankful for the chance that was given to all of us and kudos to everyone!

certificate.JPG

... and the group pictures started - we missed you @iamdeth & @paluchie T_T

Selfie.jpg

Groufie 1.jpg

Groufie.jpg

Wacky.jpg

above photos were grabbed from @prinsepong


all other pictures are mine taken by my iPhone 6, others pictures were credited


If you want to see more of this event please check the below posts:
On The Ground | Steemph UAE Bleeds with APO: Blood Donation Campaign Photo Gallery by @prinsepong
Advance Birthday Gift Treat by @essan-san
A Drop of Blood to Go a Long Way | Steemph Uae Bleeds with APO by @arrliinn


#7daypositivitychallenge
Perfect topic to share for the #7daypositivitychallenge started by @conradt to spread positivity around steemit. I was nominated by @arrliinn.

Today I nominate @iamdeth, @paluchie and @pingcess.

Here are the rules:

Write a post about something you have to be postive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the oppurtunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated

Mention three people who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.(Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.)

Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).


Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @qurator, @jerrybanfield, @blocktrades and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses


Thanks for your time folks! Bye for now... until next time! signature_1.gif

ulog.gif

lhyn .png

Sort:  

I super enjoyed this! we should do it again!!!!! =)

Agree! That was really fun and fulfilling! Let’s do more of this! Let’s share some more of our bloods. ❤️❤️❤️