Firefox lite: An advanced web browser with nifty features.

in #utopian-io5 years ago

E6C6DF18-2F69-4F0F-B9F3-6F1B697F0F6B.jpeg


Protect Repository:

https://github.com/mozilla-tw/FirefoxLite

There are a lot of things I consider before using a web browser. I remember when Opera mini and UC web browsers were my favorites. Since the launch of smartphones, I have used more than ten different browsers. On my Android device, I have three different web browsers; Google Chrome, Firefox lite, and UC web browsers. I use the UC web browser for media downloads, while the Firefox lite, and Google Chrome are meant for surfing the Internet. On my iOS device, I have two browsers; Safari and total file browser. I prefer to use the Safari web browser in surfing the Internet, and the total files browser for downloading media contents. I would have downloaded the Firefox lite browser for my iOS device, but it is not available on the Apple store.

A few days ago, the Firefox lite had a new version; version 1.2.1. Though it wasn't filled with many features, it is a welcome change.

What’s New

•   Introduction of “Life Feed” feature in India with news content
•   Improvements for reliability

Source

In this article, I'd be reviewing the amazing feature of the Firefox lite mobile. But before I dive into the features, let me introduce the project itself.

What is Firefox lite mobile application?


4AEAAD5F-AB2E-45DC-8640-BB5936534349.jpeg


The Firefox lite is a nonproprietary mobile application developed and managed by Mozilla. Initially, it was exclusive only to Indonesians, and Its name was Firefox rocket before it was changed to Firefox lite, and made available to all regions. The Firefox lite mobile application provides users with a means to access contents over the Internet. There are a lot of tools embedded on the Firefox lite mobile application which distinguish it from the proprietary web browsers. I have used the Firefox lite mobile application for quite some time now, and it has been an amazing experience. I get to improve on my browsing speed with the turbo mode feature, I get to screenshot* web contents, I get to reduce my data consumption with the block images feature, and I get to browse the Internet privately.

The Firefox lite mobile application is available for the Android platform only, and its source code is available within its GitHub account. I don't know why it's iOS version has not been released. My guess is; the developers are working on it.

Features:

  • Private tab,
  • Turbo mode,
  • Screenshot,
  • Block images.

Private tab:


934BE810-6965-4C72-8174-EE647F84C5AD.jpeg


The Private tab feature is a blessing to everyone using the Firefox lite mobile application. A lot of security breaches on web browsers have been reported in recent times, and it is an issue of concern. With the private tab feature, I get to browse the Internet privately without worries. I know the private tab feature is a common feature among other mobile browsers, but the one on the Firefox lite mobile application comes with its own thrill. When the private tab feature is used, your browsing history will be disabled along with your web cache. Also, local data won't be stored on your flash cookies and cookies. For me, this is an amazing feature to use. I work on my mobile phone, and I hate to leave traces of my browsing data.

Turbo mode:


B81128CB-8BDB-4CE1-A26F-B8E9D061E100.jpeg


Like I said earlier in this article, I have used several mobile web browsers. In my many years of experience, the only mobile web browser I have seen with a turbo mode feature is the UC web browser. I have not seen it on Google Chrome neither have I seen it on the Safari mobile web browsers.

The Turbo mode feature on the Firefox lite mobile application is a huge plus. I commend the developers for adding such a useful feature. Most users get worried over their internet speed when it is slow, and most times they blame their internet providers. The truth is; ads on websites contribute to your browsing speed. The good thing about the turbo mode is that; when you use it, it blocks ads from popping up. I have never seen a user who doesn't hate ads. I use the turbo mode always, and whenever I toggle it on, my browsing speed improves, and I don't get to be bothered about ads.

Screenshot:


86F352AF-E7E5-4845-9ED3-3FAD6BA240D9.jpeg


From the title of this feature, you might think that it is a trivial feature. But as you read down, you'll see why it is an amazing feature within the Firefox lite mobile application.

The screenshot feature is an amazing feature implemented within the Firefox lite mobile application. There are a lot of differences between the screenshot feature on the Firefox lite mobile application, and the normal screenshot that comes preinstalled on mobile phones. When taking a screenshot within the Firefox lite mobile application, the whole webpage is captured, whereas when using the normal screenshot feature, it captures only what is visible on the mobile phone’s screen.


5932B3A4-71B0-4059-987B-654AFA6EA199.jpeg


Each time I want to access my screenshots, I don't go through the stress of accessing them within my mobile phone’s gallery because there is a dedicated tab which stores these screenshots within the Firefox lite mobile application. These screenshots can be edited, and it can be used in linking back to the webpage where they were taken from.

Block images:

The Block images feature is another useful feature implemented within the Firefox lite mobile application. It has helped me a lot. Most times when I'm running low on internet data bundle, I use the block image feature to block images from loading while I surf the Internet.

Conclusion:

The Firefox lite mobile application is a great application developed by Mozilla. I have enjoyed every feature on it, and I can conveniently say that; it was developed with professional rigor.

Resources:

All contents are sourced with links.

GitHub profile:

https://github.com/abasifreke50

Sort:  

Hi Abasifreke,

Thank you for your contribution. Mozilla lite is a decent project. I also have it installed on my android device, and I have been enjoying its useful features.

I can see you intended to review the new features/improvement on the project, which is the ‘’Life feed’’ and the ‘’Reliability’’. However, you left the main purpose of your review and focused on the basic features of the app. Also, the post had many styles and grammar issues. I’ll cite examples.

There are a lot of things I consider before using a web browser.

This should be: ''I consider a lot of things before using a web browser''. Concise and easy to read.

I get to improve on my browsing speed with the turbo mode feature, I get to screenshot* web contents, I get to reduce my data consumption with the block images feature, and I get to browse the Internet privately.

That is rough, and hard to read. I get, I get, and I get. You could rephrase it and make it more easy to read. Besides, that could be two or three sentences.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Hi @abasifreke!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @abasifreke!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!