Sort:  

Best picture of the year well worth the watch. It took a while before I saw the movie but I really loved it. Mahershala Ali did a fantastic job which got him that oscar and he is on board the MCU for the upcoming Blade movie.

Great actor.
I didn't know he was going to do blade. I guess I'll put that on the list.

It was a good film wasn't it, and the actor is one of my favourites, he was the king in lord of the rings, and he did vanishing point, and many other fabulous movies

The acting was well done. I really liked him in History of Violence, too. The dilaogue between the two main actors was amazing and the driving scenes made it really realistic.

History of Violence. Yes!!

@abitcoinskeptic,

I have not seen this movie, but I will. Good review and write-up.

Quill

Thanks. I think Don Shirleybwas actually born in Florida.

You did such a great review on this!! Spot on and yes! I thought it was a truly great film, deserving of all the accolades it received (and didn't) There aren't many that can take this touchy subject and make it right.

Thank you for giving this the attention it deserves!

!tip

Thanks. I'm not used to reviewing serious movies. Others are Avengers or Disney.

Hehe! Well, you did well!

Thanks for the review. This looks like a good movie. The reason we have anti-discrimination laws in the U.S. is because racial prejudice and such still exist. I grew up in Texas and it was all around me. We've made a lot of societal adjustments over the years that curtail outright discrimination, but it still exists in some places. It's exacerbated by our Constitutional respect for individual liberty. Some people take that as a license to hate others. Unfortunately.

It is interesting how people use their rights to insult and torment others.

Freedom and liberty are important but respect needs to be encouraged.

Bottom line ~ becomes life line:
don't be an asshole, and treat others how you want to be treated, also in Steemit !

Exactly. Fortunately on Steemit there is mute and ignore.

Congrats! I'm going to check the movie out. Hadn't heard of it before your post.

Good stuff. I recommend watching it.

While I haven't seen the movie yet (but I plan to, one of these days), I completely agree with your bottom line. Also...
movie watching.gif

Thank a lot. Great .gif by the way.

You're very welcome, @abitcoinskeptic! And thank you in return! 😊

I seldom watch movies as much as I used to when younger. It's hard to find a decent one for my mindset nowadays. I will take your recommendation.

I hope you like it.

Great review. I'll add it to my to watch list

Thanks. I want to try more reviews for movies that aren't as obvious.

Do you know "What you can get in 1 Steem"?

8kolsl66zk.png

Welcome to SteemIncome a lifetime Upvote Service to increase your post Reward. You can get daily upvote on your post by just Purchasing SI Shares. You can purchase "One SI Share in 1 Steem".

Benefits of SI Share

  • You can Sponsor your Fellow Member
  • A Daily Upvote of $0.001 Worth.
  • Extra Reward of Steem-Engine's Token of Different Tribes. (Because We've Staked Sports, Reality, Creative, Actnearn, Marlians, Lifestyle, Lassecash and INT Tokens)

For Complete Information:
https://steemit.com/steem-income/@steemincome/steemincome-one-time-payment-for-lifetime-upvote

Posted using Partiko Android

The movie left one with lots of questions. I like your bottom line.

Bottom line is important.
I'm glad it isn't that bad anymore.

That's one that we haven't watched yet, but I think I would be interested in seeing it. Especially since I live in the Southern USA. There are still plenty of tough questions to be answered, and lots of gray areas. I appreciate when films or other entertainment at least make us think a bit more and reflect on how our own actions and biases impact others.

I think today in some of the smaller towns and rural areas, the tensions can still be found.
Also, the civil rights movement is still well within living memory.

Oh yes, there is definitely still tension in many places unfortunately. One of my favorite clients has lived here in Atlanta for his whole life, and he was a part of the civil rights movement when we was younger. He participated in rallies in his youth for civil rights, and still rallies now for things he's passionate about!

I think everyone needs to find something they are passion about. If it is civil rights, that is excellent.

Hi @abitcoinskeptic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.819 which ranks you at #4905 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 112 contributions, your post is ranked at #37.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @abitcoinskeptic! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

I'm going to add this to the list of movies I'd like to see.

It's a good idea. At first I wasn't sure.

Will have to look out for this movie @abitcoinskeptic sounds interesting.

I hope you enjoy the film.

🎁 Hi @abitcoinskeptic! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Where Is The Love In The Hard Fork? Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh wow I did not know there were places there that I could not go as a non-Korean. Very eye opening.

It sounds mean and rude, but it is a private business.

My girlfriend wants to see this movie @abitcoinskeptic and now I do too. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a great movie. I guess it will be a classic in a few years.

I understand where you're coming from when you're watching this movie.
Sadly, I work in an environment that is both :(
Totally unacceptable in the current world we are in and yet it still exist!

I'm sorry to hear about your situation. Hopefully it improves soon.

Discrimination is different for everybody. Shame to know about that kind of discrimination but it's great how things have evolved. Great review

Posted using Partiko Android

I also like to see how things have improved. I guess they will continue to improve, too.

Yea, there should be progress with life

You got a 39.97% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @abitcoinskeptic! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 12 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Love your bottom line:

don't be an asshole, and treat others how you want to be treated.

Great review! I will admit I skimmed over parts because I love to be surprised when I see a movie. This one sounds really good!

I think I avoided most spoilers in this movie. I had an idea of what it was about before watching, but it is still shocking.

Howdy sir abitcoinskeptic! I wanted to see that one when it came out but I didn't and then I forgot about it until your review so I'll look for it again, great job!

Definitely a film worth watching. I forgot about it until I saw it on the airplane menu.

And thanks to your post I'll be looking for it and know what it is when I see the title!

oh I really enjoyed this film! Did you know that the author is actually the son of the real life Tony, and that the real life Tony actually acted in The Sopranos?

Interesting! I did not know this. I had heard some of the family members weren't fully satisfied.

There is a Golden Rule my friend; "Treat all others as you want to be treated"
Sadly so many do not know or understand the rule.
A great review here and glad that you enjoyed the movie.
Blessings!

I've heard of the golden rule. Maybe the words are a little different, but the idea is the same.
Thank you!

Oh yeah, I know that the original words are in old English, but I have placed my own modern version of the golden rule truth out here my friend.
I think it serves the same purpose.
Blessings and may you have a good Friday!

I have been wanting to see this movie, sounds like I need to put it on my must watch list. Great review @abitcoinskeptic. You told us what it was about without spoiling anything. It does drive a person to watch it.

Thanks. I kept the ot details out of this summary since the message is more important than the plot.

I definitely get that. It sad to see, but we need to learn about it. To know what happened and to still see some effects of it today. We still have a lot to learn.

I absolutely enjoyed watching this movie! :)

I thought it was a great film, too.