«Doukato Cape» (7 pics)

in #travel5 years ago (edited)


Leucadian cliff, or Doukato Cape, also known as Lady's Cape is the southernmost tip of the island of Lefkada and one of the most famous cliffs of antiquity. According to one version, the island owes its name to this place (from «lefkas akri» which means «white tip» in Greek).

The sheer cliff of the Doukato cape, more than seventy meters high, since ancient times was associated with ritual jumps, human sacrifices and also as a place of punishment for criminals.

Legend has it that this is where the famous ancient Greek poet Sappho flung herself into the sea.

Once upon a time, there was a temple dedicated to the Greek God Apollo. Nowadays, a modern lighthouse is operating on the cape.


Breathtaking fabulous Mediterranean landscapes open up from the steep shores of the Doukato cape. White limestone cliffs create an impressive sight and visitors can enjoy views of Lefkada in the north and east.




Thank you for stopping by!

Lefkada, Greece.
July, 2018.
...

@alexanderfluke's travels
Canon 650D + EF17-40/2.8L USM + EF70-300/4.0-5.6 IS USM
© All rights reserved
...

                                                            
Sort:  

Thanks for the cool article!

many thanks 😌 😌 😌

a new place to try to get to know, good photographs

thank you!

Hey Alexander! Great report with stunning pictures! Also the structure looks great! You should consider using the "Travelfeed" tag for those kinds of reports. They support great content related to travels (only requirement - 250 words)
Hope you have a great Sunday! Cheers

Hi! :)
Of course, I know about #travelfeed but my poor English does not always allow me that luxury.
😊😊😊

Well it's definitely good enough in my opinion ! But I know what you mean, I also sometimes struggle with it :D

Wonderful cliffs and beautiful view of the ocean! Yeah! These white limestone cliffs can create an impressive sight, as you said, I agree. Great shot!

Interesting legend! Thanks for sharing. ;)

:)

Many thanks!

You're welcome! ;)

Great photos brother.
I visit lefkada island every summer for my free camping vacation( I live in Ioannina) and I can say only one thing.
Best beaches in Greece.
I go at Miilos beach,near Agios Nikitas village and eventhough I have visited a lot of places in Lefkada,I have never been to Leucadian cliff.Looks amazing.
I willpay a visit for sure this summer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your feedback!

I visit lefkada island every summer

So do I. :)

Best beaches in Greece.

It's true!

I did not know the island of Lefkada and thanks to you I see that it is wonderful, with those high cliffs and turquoise waters. 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you!
:)

empty.png

empty.png

empty.png


@alexanderfluke, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Minnow!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It is sad. :(

Hi @alexanderfluke!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.142 which ranks you at #9221 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 9226).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 214 contributions, your post is ranked at #116.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you!

that is quite a terrific landscape!! I hope this summer I'll be able to visit greece

thanks for the feedback!
:)

@alexanderfluke purchased a 41.58% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (65.22%)
Summoned by @alexanderfluke
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh