Night Walk in Downtown Chelyabinsk, Russia · 30 pics

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

Today, I invite you to take a short night walk through the streets of Chelyabinsk, my hometown. Despite the fact that I was born and lived here almost all my life, I very rarely photographed my city. Of course, this is inexcusable, and I decided to correct the situation. This post will be the first big article and the first pin about Chelyabinsk on my favorite map service Pinmapple.

Chelyabinsk is the largest industrial city in the Southern Ural; almost one and a half million people live here. Recently, more and more new public spaces have been created in the city — places where residents can comfortably spend their free time. However, the main such place in Chelyabinsk has always been and remains downtown — the embankment of the Miass River and the Kirov Street. This is where many of the city's attractions and popular entertainment venues are located.

In short, the night before last, I waited for the rain to stop, took my camera, got in my car, and arrived in downtown near midnight. My walk started from the Opera and Ballet Theater. There, in the parking lot, I left my car.

Chelyabinsk State Academic Opera and Ballet Theater named after Glinka was founded in 1956.

Monument to M. I. Glinka — Russian composer, after whom the theater is named.

The Kirov Street is the main tourist and pedestrian street in Chelyabinsk, popularly called Kirovka.

Most of the buildings on the Kirov Street are objects of cultural heritage. Nowadays, many of them are located boutiques, cafés, and entertainment venues.

Currently, most of the cafés and restaurants are closed, for known reasons.

For the same reason, fast food restaurants are everywhere now.

Benches after the rain.

Reflections are always fascinating.

The tall building with vertical lighting is a modern business center called Chelyabinsk-Siti, built in 2007.

Not a very original name, if you ask me.

Chelyabinsk-Siti is the tallest building (111 meters) not only in the city, but also in the entire Southern Ural. Many residents of Chelyabinsk still criticizes this high-rise for the fact that it does not fit into the urban landscape.

A shop called the Castle of Sweets.

The pedestrian part of the Kirov Street is only 700 meters long. I walked the entire street in about twenty minutes.

On the next street is the Old Town Hotel.

Intersection.

Shopping Center Kuba. The facade of the building is finished with black tempered glass, so at night only advertising signs are visible on it.

View of Chelyabinsk-Siti from the next street.

The embankment of the Miass River. There is a monument to the Russian composer S. S. Prokofiev. To the left of the monument is the city museum complex.

Promenade.

Views of the river and the city on the opposite bank.

City Ferris wheel.

In 2013, Memorial to Law and Order Soldiers was opened on the embankment of the river in honor of law enforcement officers who died in the line of duty. Here my walk ended, and I returned to my car.

I hope you enjoyed my story and night street pictures — I tried to make them atmospheric. In the future, I will return to the photo stories about my hometown more than once, so stay tuned. Many thanks to all of you for your attention and support!

Chelyabinsk, Southern Ural, Russia. 
July 26, 2020. 
...

@alexanderfluke's pics 
Canon 650D + EF17-40/2.8L USM + EF70-300/4.0-5.6 IS USM 
© All rights reserved 
...

published via Ecency

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #923.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much! I am very happy you liked my post! 😊 😊 😊 Much appreciated.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That was a great city tour! I'm not really sure if I ever heard about "Chelyabinsk" beofre but it seems nice with some interesting history. Good job!

The history of my hometown is really very interesting; for example, in 2013, a meteor exploded over the city, have you heard about it? 😁 Anyway, I always have something to tell. 🙂

Thank you so much for your feedback! 👍

I knew immediately the video when you mentioned it :D I have seen it on Youtube a while ago. How crazy that is!!! :D

I will look forward for more reports! Cheers 😁

👍 👍 👍

Beautiful night city in black and white photography. It looks really nice. Thank you for sharing the beautiful content.

Thank you! 😊 Much appreciated.

These photographs show the beautiful city and the night life. Cool pictures 👌

Thanks man! 👍

Thank you for this great virtual walk! Congratulations!


Your amazing photography was shared and upvoted by @PhotoCuration, an initiative by professional photographers whose aim is to appreciate, support and add value to good photography here on the blockchain.

Keep up the great work and have a wonderful day!

Wow! 🙂 Many thanks! 😊

nice night walking 😊 cool photos!