A couple of garden things

in #gardening6 years ago

Hello, steemians, and welcome to da garden, eh!

Since I don't have anything specific to write about today, I thought I would share a couple of garden related things with you for today's post.
As I've been complaining about recently, it's been raining here for most of 6 weeks now, so I haven't been able to get out into the garden to finish harvesting the potatoes. Last weekend, it didn't rain either day, so I managed to get some things done. It started raining again on Sunday night and dumped probably another 2-3 inches of rain on us. The ground here is just saturated right now. It didn't rain very much today, and we had some partly cloudy weather with a brisk wind, so perhaps the ground will dry a bit in the next day or 2. We're not supposed to get any more rain for several days, so maybe I'll be able to get back into the garden this weekend to finish digging potatoes.

text divider.png

This has been a very unusual year for my rhubarb plants. Usually, by August, they're starting to die back, but not this year. For some reason, they kept growing right into fall. I took this picture last weekend. I think that some of the stalks might still be usable, which is kind of weird for around here.
DSCN9964.JPG

text divider.png

This is one way to take care of the weeds and grass that has overtaken the gravel path. This also works well in the garden once the crops are harvested. This method burns up a lot of the weed seeds, and the ash adds a slight bit of fertility to the soil.
DSCN9907.JPG

DSCN9908.JPG

That's all the random things that I have to share for today, I hope this isn't too much of a shit post.

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post, eh!

amber banner.png
banner helpie.png
steemcreative.png
banner2.png