Cannabis chronicals #13, the indoor plant update

in #cannabis5 years ago

Hello, and welcome to my page!

My indoor cannabis plant has been growing under a large fluorescent growing light for several weeks now, and I try to keep the bulb fairly close to the plant to give it more light energy. The down side of that is that the plant grows up into the bulb about every second day, and I have to raise it again. Since the light is hanging on a chain, it's easy enough to raise a bit at a time. Today, I ran out of room to raise the light.
DSCN1211.JPG

I've had the plant sitting on a plastic crate under the light since I repotted it, it has grown tall enough now that I had to put the pot on the floor to give me room to lower the light.
DSCN1212.JPG

Here's a look at the top of the plant. You can see the one leaf that has a bit of damage from the heat of the lamp. The plant had grown right up against the lamp and the leaf got some heat damage.
DSCN1213.JPG

The main stems are really putting out side stems right now.
DSCN1214.JPG

I readjusted the light down close to the plant again. Now I have room to raise the light quite a bit.
DSCN1215.JPG

I don't quite know what I'm going to do when the plant gets too tall for the space it's in right now, but I guess I'll figure that out when the time comes. I think the next thing I'm going to do with the plant is trim some of the big leaves off so that the side shoots will have more light to grow. I probably should do that in the next few days.

That's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber banner.png
canna curate banner.jpg
banner2.png

Sort:  

An excellent overview @amberyooper and your cannabis looks quite healthy and its foliage is very lush!

I WAS IN THE HOSPITAL FOR LIKE A WEEK AND MISSED A COUPLE POST BUT!!!! OMGOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT'S GOTTEN SO BIG!

Sorry to hear that you were in the hospital!
Yes, that plant has been growing like a weed! LOL

That looks pretty nice man! One thing you could do is cover part of the corner walls with reflective mylar or even alu foil. That will help to push some light past the canopy and into that side growth.

That's a pretty good idea. I have some of that foam insulation with the reflective facing, I should try that.

He could avoid the excess of light inside the room doing something like that all around the plant.

Ofc, but that takes more effort :D sticking some reflective things on the walls takes 20 seconds.

Smokers thoughts hehe.... Or you can do it easy mode with raft wood sticks and glue, very cheap too.

Congratulations you've been chosen by our curators at Canna-Curate for great cannabis content! If you'd like to join our curation trail
JPEG_20180729_131244.jpg
12.5SP - 25SP - 50SP - 100SP - 250SP - 500SP - 1000SP

Ahhh yes.... the difficulties of flowering in early summer.... TOO MUCH LIGHT! hehe

Not much of anything, and metal halide isn't in the right spectrum either..

For flowering a HPS is required or a top of the line new led..

Perhaps this is just a mother tho?

Posted using Partiko Android

Mendocino eh ? 707 ! I grew in redwood Valley for years myself..

Yeah I was generalising on the lights, usually MH are OK for veg, whereas high impact discharge are usually going to be the go to ballast to power high pressure sodium lights.

Heat being an issue I Always opted for T5 or cfl for veg and hps for flower without much concern about giving them blue green light as its only a 8-11 weeks flowering and 3-4 months total indoor anyway.

Stretching will be an issue during transition and the first stages of flowering though as all plants tend to have vigorous growth at this stage regardless of strain.

I've tried dual lights mh and hps and basically a bit of everything over decades and I don't see any reason to fool with mh from my experience..

Indoor is a compromise and I'd rather enjoy outdoor any day even if it doesn't test as well because you can't replace the full spectrum of a dynamic sun over seasons. It makes the bud more holistic or something intangible IMHO.. Looks nice but indoor bud is meh for me, good for consistency and sales etc but it's missing that je ne sais quoi..

http://ursalighting.com/effect-green-light-plants/

Interesting conversation!
I do believe the plant is stretching a bit, it wants to grow right up into the bulb. I'm probably going to take most of the big water leaves off the plant in the next day or 2. As for a flowering bulb, hopefully they make flourescent bulbs for that with more red spectrum, I can't afford to buy a HPS light system, and a large enough LED array is also pretty expensive. I'll have to go to the local hydroponics store and see what kind of lighting they have in stock for flowering that I can afford.
I doubt that I can cut the light back to 12 hours for the plant right now, our daylight lasts too long this time of year, and I don't have a place to put the plant where there's no windows.

That's a good idea about cropping it in stages instead of all at once. I'll have to do that.
I have a 400 watt metal halide light and ballast that works, but I don't want to use it in the room where the plant is, it generates so much heat that I would have to set up some kind of ventilation system to get rid of it. If I had a dedicated grow room, I could set all of that stuff up, but the room that the plant is in is also used for other things.