Digging the rest of the Yukon Gold potatoes

in #gardening6 years ago

Hello, steemians, and welcome to the garden, eh!

It didn't rain yesterday or this morning, so I figured that the garden wouldn't be all mud and I could get on with digging the potatoes. I had a row and a third of Yukon gold potatoes left to dig, plus a row and a half of Goldrush Russet potatoes. I started where I had left off with digging the Yukon Golds last time.
DSCN0049.JPG

I decided to finish the row that I had been digging first. I had covered it with one of my weed covers to keep the potatoes on the surface from getting any more green. I pulled the cover off the row.
DSCN0051.JPG

I didn't get a lot of potatoes from this end of the row. These were replanted in the middle of June and didn't do as well as I would have liked.
DSCN0052.JPG

Then I started digging the row on the edge of the garden. A lot of these were also replanted late because the first planting didn't come up very well. I didn't get hardly any large potatoes from this half of the row, just a fair amount of medium size and small potatoes.
DSCN0054.JPG

I took a break from digging for a bit to rest my back, and then dug the rest of the row. I didn't get a lot of potatoes from the second half of the row, but I did get a few big ones.
DSCN0056.JPG

DSCN0055.JPG

The end result was 1 bucket full of potatoes. Not the best harvest, but enough to last for at least a month or so.
DSCN0057.JPG

I'll put these potatoes into the basement refrigerator for storage once I get them cleaned up a bit and dried off. We probably won't eat any of these potatoes until after the red potatoes are gone because these keep for a lot longer than the red potatoes do.
If tomorrow is nice, I'll start digging the Golden Russet potatoes. It's getting below freezing at night now and I need to get them out of the ground soon.

One more picture for you today, my raised bed carrot patch. This raised bed is on the edge of the garden next to the potatoes. The carrots seem to still be doing well, they're fairly cold resistant.
DSCN0050.JPG

That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

Thanks for stopping by to check out my post, eh!

amber garden.png
banner helpie.png
steemcreative.png
banner2.png