More work in the greenhouse

in #gardening6 years ago

Hello, steemians, and welcome to my greenhouse, eh!

The greenhouse is an on-going, never ending process once you get started on it, until the growing season ends. I'm always doing something in there as well as the normal chores such as watering.
I decided to take out all the heat tubes that I've had in there, empty the water out of them, and store them for the summer. I don't need them now, and I could use the space for more plants. I had them all standing in one spot next to the center pole in the greenhouse. This is them back in March.
DSCN8477.JPG

I cleared that area out a few days ago. The 2 X 4 that kept them standing up is still screwed to the post. I won't be able to pull out the screws until the next time I empty the water barrel, it's right in the way. This gives me space for a couple more pots for plants.
DSCN8895.JPG

I planted 3 watermelon plants in a big pot where they'll stay for the summer. I don't know how long the vines are supposed to grow, but I guess I'll find out.
DSCN8903.JPG

The cucumber roots were growing out of the bottom of the seed pods, so it was time to put them in pots with a bit more dirt. I set the little pots in the big pots because it seemed like as good a place to put them as any other.
DSCN8902.JPG

I have 3 more watermelon plants, I want to put them outside in a couple of weeks to see how they do in the garden.
DSCN8904.JPG

The strawberry plants in the planter are continuing to bloom, I hope they're self pollinating.
DSCN8906.JPG

That's all I have for this greenhouse update, I hope you found it interesting!

stars divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post, eh!

As always, feel free to leave a comment or a question if you would like.

May the Steem Force be with you!

amber garden.png
helpie.png
banner2.png

Sort:  

That's a clever idea to use the heat tubes. Great way to preserve warmth for those cold nights and extending your season. I love growing larger watermelon but only get a couple because of the shorter northern growing season. That's where the green house would really come in handy. I really should brain-storm to come up with something for next year.

Thanks!
If you have a shed or garage with a south facing wall, you could always build a lean to greenhouse onto that, or the side of the house even. A stand alone greenhouse is a bit more work to build, but it depends on how big you want it to be.

YES! That's exactly what I was thinking.....a lean to on the back of the house. That would be awesome.

Friggin yeah, I need to get busy on my garden this year. Ya'll are inspiring me.

Thank you!
It's pretty cool if I can inspire someone else to do a garden. :-)

Wowsers! You really are a garden wizard, mate!
I have to get my veggie patches back in order!
Thanks for the inspiration reinvigoration!!
Blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Thanks for stopping by to have a look!
A little inspiration can go a long way. :-)

Thanks for stopping by to have a look!
A little inspiration can go a long way. :-)

Really cool that you were able to build the vertical garden towers!! I want to get some made for my own use! I hope they work great for you. Keep me posted!! :)