Picking the dry beans at the community garden plot

in #gardening6 years ago

Hello, steemians, and welcome to da garden, eh!

I finally got the chance to go up to my garden plot at the community garden to pick my beans. The weather today was mostly sunny and in the low 60s, so it was a good day to do garden stuff. It rained about 1-1/2 to 2 inches of water last night, so there was no way I was going to dig potatoes today.

I wasn't sure what I was going to see when I got up to the garden, it's been more than a week since the last time I was up there. The grass is way long again, but there's not much point in cutting it now with the cold weather coming. I was glad to see that most of the corn stalks were still standing and most of the beans were still off the ground.
DSCN9946.JPG

Of course, the bean vines had pulled down a lot of the corn stalks that they'd been climbing on. You can see the dried bean pods on these vines.
DSCN9947.JPG

DSCN9948.JPG

DSCN9949.JPG

As I was picking the beans, I was also pulling out some of the corn stalks. Some of them come out pretty easy due to the sandy soil, but some of them are well rooted in. That's pretty hard on my back, so I didn't pull them all. I still have a fair amount of stalks to pull, but that will be for another day.
DSCN9951.JPG

I think I got a pretty good harvest of bean pods out of this garden.
DSCN9952.JPG

I'll put them on screens to let them finish drying. All the rain that we've been getting has softened some of them up, and I need to get them dried out so that they don't start to mold before I shell them.
The next time I get up to the garden plot, I'll continue cleaning it up and getting it ready for winter. I'm hoping to get the tiller up there this fall, but that depends on the weather. We need a few dry days so that I can till it up without making mud.

Well, that's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

Thanks for stopping by to check out my post, eh!

amber garden.png
banner helpie.png
steemcreative.png
banner2.png

Sort:  

wow your garden really embraced autumn. the grass is so green still!

Yeah, green and way too long... :-)

Nice lookin garden eh! that'll be a good stock to re-seed for next year! Very efficient and effective way to plant out your garden plot might I say.

Yes, it seems to work out pretty well for the corn and beans.

Huge fan of community gardens!

They certainly do have their value for people who can't have a garden in their yard.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves