Restoring a tin tent trailer, part 3, continuing the wood work on the lower back end of the trailer

Hello, steemians! Welcome to my page, eh!

Last week, I showed you how I replaced the wood lower frame structure on the passenger side of the trailer. For this episode, I'll show you the work on the driver's side of the trailer.

I started by pulling the aluminum skin loose on the lower back end on the driver's side. There was a lot of screws to remove from the edge piece to be able to get to the skin along the edge.
DSCN1199.JPG

The skin on the back was folded over the side skin and nailed on to hold it in place before the edge piece was screwed on when this thing was built. A lot of those little nails were rusted half away, making the removal a bit more tedious. I did manage to get the back skin loose without too much trouble.
DSCN1200.JPG

DSCN1201.JPG

From there, it was a simple matter to remove the bottom section of aluminum skin. That made working on the lower frame wood a lot easier.
DSCN1202.JPG

Here's a look at the good, the bad, and the ugly wood, and the half assed repair.
DSCN1203.JPG

I got all of the wood removed from that section of the trailer.
DSCN1233.JPG

The project sat that way for a few days until I could get back to it. Once I got back to it, it was time to fit the new piece of treated 2X6 into the bottom of the frame. I had to prop up the trailer body framing to make sure the side didn't sag while I was fitting the new piece of wood.
DSCN1234.JPG

After that, I was able to get the new bottom support mounted in the body frame.
DSCN1296.JPG

DSCN1297.JPG

That took care of the bottom supports for both sides of the trailer body structure.
DSCN1298.JPG

Once I had that work done, I was able to move on to the rest of the back end of the trailer, rebuilding the wood framing for the skin. That will be the subject of the next post in this series.

That's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber banner.png
banner_helpienaut.png
banner2.png

Sort:  

Nice work. We have done up a few caravans. Rewarding in the end. They are so expensive here now even for the shit ones as everyone is on the tiny home thing like no one has ever done it before!

Posted using Partiko Android