Working in the greenhouse, preparing for the growing season

in #greenhouse5 years ago

Hello, steemians! Welcome to my greenhouse!

Yesterday was one of those days that's nice enough to motivate me to go outside and do stuff. We took a trip to the local big box store to get a few things. I'm planning on changing out at least half of the soil in each of the planting pots in the greenhouse, so I was hoping to find some potting soil on sale. I did manage to find a pretty good deal on some 1.5 cubic foot bags of what was labeled "raised bed" soil. After doing some mental calculations on the various prices of the different bags of soil, these were the lowest cost per cubic foot, so I bought 4 bags. I probably would have bought a couple more, but the few that were left either had a hole in them or were still frozen to the pallet. I might go back tomorrow and see if there's any bags left.
DSCN0853.JPG

I also bought a flat of marigolds, and a cat mint plant while we were there. It's easy to get carried away in the moment when garden season is near.
DSCN0856.JPG

Then we went to the local Tractor Supply store because my house mate wanted to get something from there. I was looking at the starter plants and seeds, and ended up buying 4 strawberry plants, and 3 tomato plants. Behind the strawberry plants in this picture is the cat mint plant from the big box store.
DSCN0855.JPG

DSCN0854.JPG

I don't know why I bought the tomato plants, it really is too early to have them in the greenhouse. The strawberry plants are to replace the ones that didn't survive the freeze thaw cycles in the greenhouse this past winter.

I knew that the tomato plants would need to be repotted right away due to their size, so I got started on that.
DSCN0857.JPG

DSCN0859.JPG

I also decided that, as long as I was repotting the tomato plants, I might as well put the strawberry plants in bigger pots as well. I put 2 of the plants into one wide pot, and the other 2 I put in separate pots. I only had 1 of the wide pots to use.
DSCN0858.JPG

The nights are not supposed to drop below freezing this week, so it may not get cold enough in the greenhouse at night to kill the tomato plants. I figured that getting a couple of tomato plants is the easiest way to find out if they'll survive in the greenhouse. If they do die, at least it's only a couple of plants, and not a bunch of them. I know that I'm pushing the growing season a bit, but it will be interesting to see what happens with the tomato plants. I'm not worried about the strawberry plants, they can handle a bit of cold weather.

Well, that's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

Thanks for stopping by my page to check out my greenhouse post, eh!

amber garden.png
banner_helpienaut.png
banner2.png

Sort:  

Reminding me that my potted strawberries need a bit of TLC and more pots.

Thanks for stopping by my post! :-)

wow! lookin good already. you are so industrious :)

Industrious, or psycopathically driven? I'm not sure which... :-)

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #308!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


With this nomination you will be able to use @ocdb - a non-profit distribution bot for whitelisted Steemians. Check our website for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information. We usually add everyone nominated at the end of the week. :)


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

We strive for transparency!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @eonwarped.