An Encounter With An Extraordinarily Tall Client.

in NeedleWorkMonday7 months ago (edited)

Good day Needleworkers.

It's a brand new week and I am excited to be here again.

I had an encounter with an extraordinarily tall client and I just couldn't wait to share the story.

png_20231112_130719_0000.png

A regular tape rule stops at 60 inches except for the longer tape rules that stop at 120 inches.

A very tall client walked into my office and the cute thing about it was, that she was pregnant, she wanted me to make a lot of maternity outfits for her and we started with this as it was so urgent for her.

It's no surprise that pregnant Woman outgrows their previous outfit as a result of a change in their body size.

I worked with crepe fabric, black and some African print, I also needed bias or ribbon to turn the neckline and armhole.

IMG_20231014_144620_586.jpg

IMG_20231109_102745_594.jpg

IMG_20231014_144615_775.jpg

The client initially wanted a very long A-line outfit with a cupped hand and a touch of the African print as gathers around the hem.

IMG_20231014_144610_646.jpg

However, while cutting the outfit, the length of my client consumed everything as the fabrics weren't in abundance, it was just a two-yard crepe fabric by 60.

I couldn't get a piece to make a sleeve for her, so I reached out to her so that the outfit would eventually become sleeveless.

IMG_20231014_152420_912.jpg

IMG_20231014_145653_612.jpg

IMG_20231108_142325_212.jpg

After agreeing to the new development, I marked out her body measurements, hip, bust and under the bust and added enough allowance for ease since she was pregnant and I cut it out.

IMG_20231109_110230_303.jpg

I placed the cutout fabric on my machine and began sewing, turning the neckline, and armhole and then I made straps of the Ankara (African print) to form the gathers around the hem.

IMG_20231014_150632_679.jpg

I divided the half yard into four by 5 inches in length and 5inches in width.

IMG_20231014_150643_050.jpg

I started by making a gathered stitch on the hem of the fabric and ensured I did it all around the hem as seen here.

IMG_20231109_111313_151.jpg

IMG_20231109_114646_474.jpg

IMG_20231109_111807_690.jpg

The total length of my clients is about 70 inches and that's pretty tall.

Screenshot_20231112-130200-removebg-preview.png

When I first wore the mannequin outfit, I felt reluctant to take a shot, so I took an up-close shot.

IMG_20231109_134425_558.jpg

Well, I thought of taking a complete shot to show you all the length of this dress, can you see how it's sweeping the floor despite it all?

AirBrush_20231112125556-removebg-preview.png

I admire her height though, but it consumed a lot of fabric making this simple outfit for her but it sure would be a perfect length for my client.

I would be delivering this outfit today but what do you think of this design?

AirBrush_20231112131313.jpg


All images used are mine.


𝕭𝖊𝖋𝖔𝖗𝖊 y𝖔𝖚 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 𝖆𝖓y𝖙𝖍𝖎𝖓𝖌 𝖔𝖗 𝖆𝖓y𝖔𝖓𝖊, 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 y𝖔𝖚𝖗𝖘𝖊𝖑𝖋 𝖋𝖎𝖗𝖘𝖙.

A𝖒𝖎𝖊,
ᵀʰᵉ ᵍⁱʳˡ ʷⁱᵗʰ ᵃ ᵇⁱᵍ ʰᵉᵃʳᵗ ❤


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 182 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @amiegeoffrey, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wow - that is quite a challenge, dear @amiegeoffrey - it looks brilliant and I hope your client adores it!

😍

I hope she does too, thanks for visiting me.

You are a very talented seamstress!

It's a truly gorgeous dress - one of a kind that was made with love! @amiegeoffrey

@tipu curate 3

Thank you so much for the kind comment and the support.

You're very welcome!🧵👗🖤
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @amiegeoffrey and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/9 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

This is fabulous! !BBH

@amiegeoffrey! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (1/5)

The dress looks do beautiful Amie, I already imagine how sophisticated she will look in it, and that ankara pleated hemming gave the dress extra spark.

Well done dear.

Thank you so much for the kind comment.

People who have a type of body that consumes more fabric should pay extra cause most of them would want to pay the same amount as a slim person

Haha, they wouldn't agree to this. Thanks for visiting.

Nice work! I could see it's harder when someone is taller. I'm 1.92 meters tall, so I know how hard it is to find clothes for us tall folks. You've been a busy woman!
!DHEDGE

It wasn't easy, haha. Thanks for the kind comment.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @thebighigg! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv

@thebighigg has 3 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

I would be delivering this outfit today but what do you think of this design?

Simple and elegant, I lowkey want to see this client of yours though😊😊

If she eventsukky sends some an Ohio I will share it with you. Hehe. Thank you for visiting.

70innches height, let me run and come back again.
The tallest I have seen so far is 65". Having a lady this tall is admirable.
You have done a nice work here dear.
Well done dearie 🥳

Haha, it's my first time seeing a lady talk. a that as well. Thanks for your time on my blog.

On me, this dress would be a flowing gown,hehe. This looks really beautiful. There is indeed beauty in simplicity.

!diy

Yeah, there is beauty in simplicity. Thank you so much for visiting.

Always a pleasure.

@wongi just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post dear @amiegeoffrey! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!

You can query your personal balance by !DIYSTATS

It looks gorgeous🤩. I hope she loved it. 💕

Yeah, she did. Thank you for visiting.

That's the music I like to hear when it comes to a done outfit 💃🏽😁

You are most welcome.

Hello amiegeoffrey!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 12th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by nuthman

You receive 🎖 1.8 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 116 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

Thank you so much @nuthman