Honesty PAYS!

in #steemchurch5 years ago

Earlier this year, something happened on social media. The video of an airport cleaner who returned over one million dollars she found in the toilet went viral. The lady was honest enough to have returned every dim found inside the bag by reporting the lost item to the airport authority. The said lady lived in a self-contained with two kids, her husband was jobless at the time she found the money so they could barely feed with her monthly salary of 100 dollars. When the video went viral, people commended her honesty while others called her all manner of names. Well, everyone expected the owner of the money to offer at least a tip to the lady, but he never did. According to him, the money wasn't his, but the amazing part of this story was the recognition the lady got from the government.

She was offered accommodation, a better and well-paid job, and free education for her kids till university level. Amazing Right? Imagine, what was going through the mind of this lady when the money was found. Imagine, how a million dollars would have changed her life forever. I mean, she actually needed the money from the look of things, but she chose to be honest. When I saw the video, I decided to head over to the comment box to feed my eyes. I wanted to know people's reactions and I couldn't believe it.

I was amazed at the level of dishonesty in the world. People called her a fool for returning the money that wasn't hers in the first place. It was as if she had done something abominable. Some people even mocked her! They told her, she will die a poor woman. Well, I was happy she did the right thing. The fact she was also recognized by the government and other multinationals gave me chills. I tried to picture the demons she had to fight before coming up with a decision, but I learned something from it; honesty is the best policy! You see, nothing beats having a peace of mind.

german-virtues-3587229_1280.jpg
Pixabay.Com

Being honest is a matter of choice. No one holds you accountable for your actions except the law in some cases. Most of the time, the decision, to be honest, is usually taken in the secret which means honesty is just between you and your conscience so it is easier for anyone to take the easy way out, after all, no one was with you when it happened. Frankly, it takes a lot of discipline to be honest at all times because it also comes with consequence too, but one thing is certain, honest sure pays no matter how you look at it. Oftentimes, a situation can make one be dishonest especially if the advantage outweighs the disadvantage, but looking at a long term goal, you will agree that nothing beats honesty.

I remember when my company changed management. The new board of directors decided to cut down the staff strength. So, there was massive retrenchment! People were laid off for no reason and I was scared too, I prepared my mind for the worse while asking God for His will to be done! Few weeks After, one of the directors decided to visit the branch (upcountry) where I work. On his arrival, he asked for the manager to fetch me. I was scared to my bones, I thought it was over, but when I got there, I was shocked by what he said. In his words; "Amaka, I have heard so much about your honesty, keep it up!" I thanked him and left. In fact, the compliment came with a small token which I collected anyway. But, that comment got me thinking. I have never met any of the directors, but I guess, they asked questions and were given answers. I don't work at the HQ, but my honesty spoke for me even when I was far away.

As believers of Christ, we are expected to be honest in whatever we do. It shows the strength of the Word of God in us. It also shows the value placed on your faith! The Bible says a good name is more powerful than riches. It's not all about what you will get from being dishonesty. Yes, I get the fact we all want to make it quick in life, people love shortcuts, but what happens after that? Just like I said earlier, getting to this level in life is not an easy thing to do. No one is perfect! We are all working towards perfection, but if we truly want to live a life of honesty, we can ask the Holy Spirit, I believe the Spirit can help us obtain this height.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

It is an inspiration what Dama is doing, despite her poverty, she proved to be rich in honesty. Honesty is like a diamond without flaws, which can never remain hidden. In the same way, the honest person is clearly perceptible. Thanks for sharing sister Ammyluv.

Resteem
EC

Logopit_1555130494112.jpg

Truly! Honesty is like a diamond! Thank you @steemchurch & God bless

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Honesty is a seed. Often time, it might not be you who will eat the fruit but your children. keep been honest.

Exactly! Sometimes, we not don't get the reward attached to it as soon as we want it, but a seed must germinate. Good point @elisedaniels! Thank you & God bless you.

Excellent reading @Ammyluv

Thank you @albaa

God bless you

I tried to picture the demons she had to fight before coming up with a decision, but I learned something from it; honesty is the best policy! You see, nothing beats having a peace of mind.

🖕That’s the key 🔑 point!

Thanks sister for such a nice post!

Happy SPUD 🥔
Steem Power Up Day!
Please join us!

Posted using Partiko iOS

And thank you for reading! God bless you @maxdevalue

Congratulations @ammyluv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thou shall not steal. We mice reckon this is pretty simple.

DQmccA7jHyCRhovAuMYGj1TK5hF86CLs41RjLefmBuyVJrR (1).png

Hahahaha! Pretty simple & straightforward. No stories! Thank you the cutest mice ever!