Can I get a witness? How about a @fulltimewitness. 😉

in #fulltimegeek6 years ago (edited)

Glad my pal @fulltimegeek secured the account. First, we had @fulltimebots and now we are blessed with a @fulltimewitness!

I know some people may have me pegged as one who is negative about Steem and, in a sense, they are correct. At the same time, I see that Steem does have many strengths the foremost being the many communities we have.

I would be lying to you if I said we didn't have problems. I think considering the 10 hour service interruption we experienced, that may or may not have influenced Dlives decision to migrate, is one such indication that one of our greatest areas to improve is witness competency. See this part of the Dlive announcement to migrate.

The Lino blockchain not only maintains the important positive attributes for why DLive decided to utilize blockchain technology for live streaming but also provides solutions for a more decentralized and stable infrastructure, fee-less transactions, and can process over 10,000 transactions per second which is ideal for micro transactions

Note the emphasis I added.

Link

I don't believe we need any more marketers in the witness ranks. What we need is techies that are proactive and also fluency in the codebase would be a huge advantage. I think it would behoove the whales to establish a baseline for compentencies that are requirements for Top 20 slots and use such as criteria to help educate their votes. I know in my industry at least that we require certain certification to fill certain positions. It's something to consider.

A couple techies I would highly recommend are @emrebeyler and @holger80, the creators of lightsteem and beem respectively.I aspire to one day reach their levels of adroitness in programming. They have done so much for the blockchain and it's a shame they are not among even the top 50.

Anyways, I am not well versed in the intricacies that led to the outage but there most assuredly needs to be some lessons learned.

I'm not saying any one in particular is to blame but there is most assuredly a shortfall that needs to be identified and fixed. I don't know what it is. That's above my pay grade.

Not sure if there was a a hot wash after the incident and a way forward established to prevent future occurrences. IIRC there was some compatibility issue with the logs. Does anybody have a link to a comprehensive report? I would like to peruse for my edification.

As someone that works in enterprise IT at a global scale, I understand a bit about the processes involved in change management and wonder how that could translate to a decentralized blockchain to bolster stability. I'm sure a lot of business owners lost money. (But if your business is selling votes, I have little sympathy.)

I have chatted with @fulltimegeek a bit about our past working in networking and I learned he does have experience with open source networking technology whereas I am more accustomed to working with proprietary software (Cisco). I think his understanding of that is a huge plus. I'd like to see @fulltimewitness reach the top 20 to help fund a better witness infrastructure.

Ideally, think we would expect to see all top 20 witnesses running high availability clustered witness nodes that are load balanced (not sure if this is technically possible) in conjunction with a testnet node that can be leveraged for methodical rollouts of subsequent hard forks without a unexpected outage in production.

Perhaps, one day I too may run a witness for @steemflagrewards. I sure as shit won't do it for the money as, quite frankly, I don't think Steem would be able to match my current compensation any time soon.

If I ran a node, I would be doing it for my friends on the blockchain but would not entertain running it at a loss. My first goal post is getting out of debt and then I can look into hardware.

Being that I am now cloud certified, I would be interested in looking into purchasing components from Cisco ONE Enterprise Cloud suites and set up a node in an application container. That's down the road possibly but I digress.

Bottom line is I am excited to see FTG begin his witness journey. I hope he makes it to top 20 in short order. From my observation, he's a pretty selfless dude that cares about Steem's future in a big way.

Looking forward to the golden age of Steem to come.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hi @anthonyadavisii, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @fulltimebots doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @fulltimebot2 ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.