Earthdeeds - Brushing With Sustainable Bamboo

in #earthdeeds6 years ago (edited)

I was really was not planning to actually ever use a bamboo toothbrush. Despite knowing what an important environmental choice it is. Intellectual assent is a very long way from changing deeply ingrained, personal habits that involve inserting things into one's bodily cavities.

In fact, I sat down to my coffee at Overstand Cafe Nimman (awesome coffee!) and was chatting with Jack about the mental blocks people have against using them. And so, being the generous and intelligent man he is, he gifted me 2 bamboo toothbrushes (yes, he sells them) and there I suddenly was - staring at my own resistance in the face of reason.

So what were the blocks in my head (please note past tense)?

The big bamboo head will be rough and awkward in my sensitive post-jaw-reconstruction-and-sometimes-still-painful mouth.

Hmmmm....BambooToothbrush1.jpg

Well clearly that didn't stack up in the face of actual comparison.

I thought the natural bristles would be harsh on my sensitive teeth.
Let's be clear - bamboo toothbrushes are NOT 100% environmentally friendly, compostable or biodegradable. They have nylon bristles and only the really expensive ones are made with nylon 4 (the biodegradable kind) - MOST bamboo toothbrushes are made with nylon 6, which is...errr.... toxic plastic. So clearly my fear of abrasive harsh natural bristles was unfounded. In fact, the tapered nylon bristles are quite soft and get in easily around the gum line.

I realized as I was testing the bamboo toothbrush, how insidious advertising actually is, cos I HEARD a plastic (pun intended), slick voice from two decades ago or more whispering in my ear that the handle should have that snappy little bend in it to enable easy brushing in hard to reach spots. Haha.... Is that even TRUE?

I was concerned that the brush shape wouldn't cut it for easy brushing.
BambooToothbrush3.jpg

Wrong. Yes, you probably do need to open your mouth a tiny bit wider. But if I had no issue with that post jaw re-co then it's really NOT a concern.

So did we like the bamboo brushing experience? Actually yes, I did. As did my 14 year old daughter, Ploi @nabithecat. We both tossed the plastic ones in the recycle bin, with more than a passing thought as to what actually will happen to them now.

We both particularly like that the bristles are not white, since we brush with a natural activated charcoal based powder.

Were there any downsides I hadn't expected?

Haha... we lost our identity!! No more "I'm the blue and you're the orange". We finally decided a dab of toxic nail polish was the most permanent way of marking which belonged to whom. Cos despite me being happy to share a toothbrush with my lover, Ploi would rather DIE that share mama spit or a toothbrush. 😅
BambooToothbrush4.jpg

Mine started out as green dots but my OCD self was unhappy with the spacing, so a line they became. 😉

I also had never LOOKED at a bamboo toothbrush well, nor stopped to consider how they actually get the tufts of bristles to sit into a piece of bamboo - a material which notoriously splits. Hmmmm..... So how is it done? You only have to look carefully to see this is composite bamboo - tiny fragments of bamboo pulp pressed into a shape around the tufts of bristles and held together with glue. The glues they use for composite wood? Best not think too hard about that. The glue choice sits somewhere between petro-chemical-nasty or bone-origin-definitely-not-vegan. Like I said, let's not even think about that.

So if it's so imperfect, why is this an important transition and one we will persevere with (for now at least - the dangerous toxic mold over time issue yet to be tested in our damp, tropical bathroom)?

  • Because it's a BEGINNING and better than 100% plastic;
  • Because it's a signal to my daughter that every small choice needs to be considered and weighed up on criteria beyond convenience, price and aesthetics;
  • And because many people NEVER use straws so the whole reusable bamboo-glass-steel straw 'thing' merrily passes them by. But toothbrushes? We all use them! Some people get through 12 a year, while others soldier on with the same inefficient mangy brush for 6 months or more. But in the end, that plastic handle is left as a waste product that will still be here polluting the planet 10 or 100 generations from now..

Being a conscious consumer MATTERS. Being an example MATTERS. Demanding change and better products MATTERS. Our spending $$$ are the most potent form of political power we have.

They WILL stop making plastic crap if we stop buying it.
I can feel Mother Earth smiling and heaving a small sigh of relief as She is HEARD.

Come check out my natural Thai herbal business… Logo1.jpg
Pure Thai Naturals

@ecoTrain Eco-Green-Sustainable content on Steemit

EcotrainBanner.png

Proudly contributing to @naturalmedicine natural-medicine banner.jpg

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Celebrating and encouraging Freedom, Truth, Happiness, Life and Love with @freedomtribe freedom_steem_tribe.jpg

Sort:  

Happy thanksgiving day (the day after), my dear friend!

🌈🍊🍓🍇🍉🍑🍒🍍🥦🥑🥕🌶🥝🥒🍠🍋🍉🍑

A fruitful hug from @amico! 🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank-full for you. dear @amico Thanks for your constancy and sweet support. x

how do they compare in price and do they wear down at the same rate?
people on a low budget will need to know that as well.

The price is going to vary dramatically depending on which country you're in and if you buy it at the non-profit vegetarian society co-op shop or at some chi-chi boutique. Given the international spread of readers across steemit, I decided in the end that price wasn't that helpful. Since I've just started using mine, I can't comment yet on wear and tear rates - also going to vary hugely between users depending on the pressure applied, whether they brush for 1 minute or 5 mins, and vigorously or not. In the end the suggested wear and tear rate so personal as to be a bit useless, since there will be no standard. Again, why I left it out. :) But good questions that we need to ask ourselves and track personally.

That's funny I wrote about the same topic but my conclusion was different. As the bamboo doesn't last very long about 1 month before the wood gets mouldy. Ive decided to keep using plastic as my brush will last a year and I will reuse them for cleaning. Once they can be fully natural and biodegradable I'll be happy to swap.

Ooohhh interesting. I did allude right a the end to the possible mold problem, and halfway suspected it might be an issue. I think the main thing is (1) you're open to better and different things, (2) you're using something for ages and (3) you're ready to change up when the better version of bamboo becomes available. :)

I have never used a bamboo toothbrush, but we really do need to be conscious consumers and start being an example. I like twig brushes myself and yes not spending $$$$ is the right sort of message to send, we really all need to be more active xxx

I think these are simple things we can slowly change in our daily lives, one at a time. I LIKE the #earthdeeds challenge cos I get to see other people's ideas and think about them, and challenge myself. :) Mostly it's about redirecting $$ from the toxic 100% plastic products to more sustainable choices, even when they are flawed and imperfect.

Gosh did you read my mind? I'm freaking out about my toothbrush and also my razor. I just can't bring myself to use that antiquated brass single bladed leg slicer that my husband is using and my razor blade gets used so much that it cannot be called a single use disposable razor that's for sure. But I haven't felt an alternative. Perhaps I should just be more careful and learn to use a machete for my leg hair instead.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're funny!! haha.... I have soft, fine blonde hair and not a lot of body hair, so my razor lasts for like 6 months. We have machetes a plenty for when you visit.... :)

I don't shave so that makes the razor a easy one for me to not worry about xx

I second that hehe