Natural Teeth - Finding Our Way Through the New "Natural" Zero Waste Options

in #naturalproducts4 years ago (edited)

Natural tooth care has never gone out of style and always been easy and a very cheap option here in Northern Thailand, where the pre-plastic-tube, old fashioned tooth powders are still readily available all over town and in most small villages.

18073.jpgHand photo created by katemangostar - www.freepik.com

I started using natural Thai tooth powder when I was pregnant with my now 15 year old daughter. Because I knew all about the dangers of chemical toothpastes? LOL. Heck no. I simply forgot our toothpaste on a visit to the Thai family home in Thung Saliam, and the local store (pre 7-11 days in the village!) only stocked the local tooth powder. But wowie!! It felt AMAZING, tasted great and was absurdly cheap. I was, and remain, converted.

Nearly 16 years on, after brushing 2-3 times day with it for a decade and now with my own tooth powder blend, I have great, healthy & strong teeth. People ask me constantly for the address of the dentist who does my teeth cleaning-whitening. LOL. I drink strong black coffee and red wine by preference. Most every day. :) I drink black tea. I have not been to a dentist in 16 years. I have no tooth ache, no black spots and just a great, white smile. This is me just last week, at Chiang Mai's Divali celebration:

73226652_529480951173666_3038957200375545856_n.jpg

and last year with my daughter:

MamaBoss.jpg

My daughter's pretty white teeth? We're off to see the dentist soon for the first time in her life. Why? She still has half her milk teeth! LOL. At age 15 she still has only lost 9 teeth and we're not sure what to do about half a mouth still full of baby teeth and she'd like a pretty straight adult smile. Clearly our diet aimed at strong teeth and bones is working. :) But I digress...

Natural tooth care has always been on my radar in the nearly 17 years I have lived in Thailand, so I was initially THRILLED to see new, chewable toothpaste tabs popping up for sale in local health and zero waste stores. Let there be less plastic in the world!!

NaturalTeeth1.jpg

Doing without the plastic tube MUST be a great thing, right? Well only if the product inside being sold is clean, safe and natural too. And so I checked the ingredient lists of the products for sale in Thailand and consulted the Search Engine Fairies.

SAD TO REPORT that those trendy, new little "zero waste" chewable tooth tabs that are happily being sold as eco-friendly? They're very often not!

READ THE LABELS!!

Ingredients: Sodium Bicarbonate, Xylitol, Spearmint Flavor Powder,
Maltitol, Hydrated Silica, Peppermint Powder, Kaolin, Microcrystalline Celluloses, Sodium Cocoyl Glycinate, Sodium Fluoride, Menthol. Contain Sodium Fluoride 0.22% w/w (1000 ppm Fluoride)

Sidestepping the fluoride for a moment (as a few brands ARE fluoride free, although the ones I have seen on sale in Thailand all contained fluoride), what's the problem with that ingredient list?

  • sodium cocoyl glutamate: not safe to swallow, don't want to think about it being absorbed through the mucosal skin, day after day.
  • Spearmint flavor powder. NOT the same as spearmint powder. This is a chemically derived synthetic flavour.
  • Hydrated Silica: an abrasive agent which damages tooth enamel and another nice word for sand.
  • Maltitol: a synthetic sugar substitute. "After eating maltitol, some people experience stomach pains and gas. It also can act similarly to a laxative and cause diarrhea. The severity of these side effects depends on how much of it you eat and how your body reacts to it."
  • Xylitol: a synthetic sugar substitute. Preliminary research suggests that prolonged exposure (as in daily tooth brushing or gum chewing) promotes tumour growth.

Yikes!!!

So what's the local, old-fashioned Thai tooth powder like and what's in it?

It looks like this, and you can find it in most Thai pharmacies, many Mom&Pop stores and some supermarkets, including Makro.

NaturalTeeth2.jpg

Yes, you can see the price marked on the pack, at the bottom. 15 baht. As in about USD $0.45.

What's in it?

NaturalTeeth3.jpg

The only unknown there is Borneol. LOL. Are you ready??

Borneol is a terpene in cannabis that plays a major role in traditional Chinese medicine. Commonly referred to as moxa, this terpenoid was used in China as early as the 1600's to relieve pain, reduce inflammation, lower anxiety, and cure heart disease.

So I brushed with this for about 12 years until the last few, when I changed it up a bit, having read more about the detoxing function of the tongue, and the importance of magnesium for healthy teeth. And to now I take 1 sachet of that old fashioned tooth powder, I put it into my blender and I ADD:

1 tablespoon pure Magnesium Chloride crystals
1 tablespoon of bentonite clay
1 teaspoon pure menthol crystals
1 tablespoon activated charcoal

I whiz to blend it and break up the magnesium and menthol crystals and store the powder in reusable screw top tins.

NaturalTeeth4.jpg

How to use?

FIRST: oil pulling for 5-10 mins with pure, cold pressed, extra virgin, coconut oil. Spit out only about half of it. The dip your damp toothbrush into the magic powder and brush thoroughly. Don't spit!! Swirl and swish and oil pull some more with the bentonite and charcoal working their detoxing, remineralizing magic. THEN spit and rinse.

You will be stunned at how intensely clean your whole mouth feels, and how FRESH and nice it tastes. No plastic packaging, cheap, and not only cleaning, but RE-MINERALIZING. Which is ultimately what matters most.

Please don't assume every new "natural" or so-called "zero-waste" product is good just because it's not in a plastic tube. Ask questions. Shop locally and save a small fortune. And be encouraged by cultures like the Thai culture which haven't thrown away all the old-fashioned products and which continue to quietly offer great, natural, healthy solutions for very little cost.

And don't forget that the best, natural tooth care starts with what you EAT. So grab yourself a crunchy, yummy organic apple, every day.

fantasy2748828_1920.jpg

Blissed&Blessed in my Thai natural world. Smiling. :)


Originally published on my own blog, My Natural Thai Life - my personal and unapologetic view of the Thai natural world after 16 years here as a solo entrepreneurial mom. Connecting you with all things natural and Thai.


Come check out my natural Thai herbal business…

Logo1.jpg
Pure Thai Naturals
@ecoTrain Quality Eco-Green-Sustainable Content on Steemit
ecotrainbannerpassenger.png
Proudly contributing to @naturalmedicine natural-medicine banner.jpg

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemuptribesteemupbannerNM2.png

Building a Better World with @innerblocks, Starting Within!
InnerBlocks.jpeg

Celebrating and encouraging Freedom, Truth, Happiness, Life and Love with @freedomtribe freedom_steem_tribe.jpg

Sort:  

@tipu curate
@giphy curate 100


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

#sbi-skip !trdo

Congratulations @amico, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @artemislives!
@artemislives will receive 0.31954500 TRDO & @amico will get 0.21303000 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Upvoted 👌


Powered by witness untersatz!
Current VP: 69.87%

Hugs darling @amico. Your constancy is appreciated. x

My daughters both had baby teeth until they were nearly 16, as did my husband. I thought it was maybe genetic. It's certainly an interesting phenomenon and not very common, it seems.

I like the sound of that tooth powder. Most of the ones I come across our see for homemade recipes aren't very nice in the mouth and don't taste great. There's no way I'd convert my family to them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny I was just thinking about oil pulling this norning! I'm in the middle of a move and never went to get some coconut oil... I guess I cpuld use some good olive oile in the mean time!

Nice article, it is motivating for me and need to get back on the dental health sovereignty path.

Here, if you haven't already hear of Nadine Artemis, here's an awesome interview I think you will like:

http://www.danielvitalis.com/rewild-yourself-podcast/successful-self-dentistry-nadine-artemis-87

Dear friend @artemislives your work is great, because in addition to telling us your experiences you also give us guidance regarding natural products, and which of them to consume, you also give us the complete recipe and even the preparation, is fascinating.
Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

Querida amiga @artemislives tu trabajo es grandioso, porque además de que nos cuentas tus experiencias también nos das la orientación respecto a los productos naturales, y cuál de ellos consumir, así mismo nos das la receta completa y hasta la preparación, es fascinante.
Gracia por compartir tus conocimientos con nosotros.

Love this. I read a post a few weeks ago by someone who wrote that his toothpaste was natural medicine coz it had mint in it. I had to scroll on very quickly lol. I am yet to perfect my toothpaste blend like yours, but thanks for the recipe and inspiration!! Xx And super bright gorgeous smiles. X

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you must need to do quite a lot of rapid scroll-bys. 🤣 Did I just invent another word? 🤣🤣🤣 Always happy to share what has worked, & how I have tweaked it, over time. 😁

That is a useful information and I will have a look for this during the upcoming travel to Thailand.

There you get a healthy !BEER token with not at all alc but a lot of fun

Enjoying steemfest? Be in touch for a coffee if you're in Chiang Mai.

Yes, I will have a Speech at SteemFest but this time I don't travel longer in Thailand.

Been there for a month this summer

Are you coming to SteemFest?

We used to use Colgate until my hubby complained of mouth ulcers. stopped that and then went for ayurvedic toothpaste but as you point I must make sure the ingredients are okay. Hereabouts also, we get herbal tooth powder.
Awesome post and touchwood

Glad you're ahread of the curve! Reading labels is SOOO important.

Awesome! This takes the idea of a valuable, informative post to a whole new level.

Aaaawww. Blush. Thank you. 😍

Useful article. Everyone will benefit from your prescription for your dental care.

Thanks for stopping by to say that. x 😁

It's just that my translation is not very good.

Hey @artemislives! We've manually upvoted your post with both accounts, @build-it.assist and @build-it.curator.

As a matter of interest, there's a tribe on the steem platform known as Build-it that accommodates all DIY, How-to tutorials, and life-hacks respectively.

Your DIY/how-to tutorials get rewarded with the tribe's token known as BUILD upon posting via our website or by using one of the recommended tags; #diy, #how-to, #build-it, #build, and #doityourself. Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram. Are we adding value ? your witness vote will be appreciated! Click here to vote

Congratulations @artemislives, your post successfully recieved 0.319545 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.21303 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site