Post Coup & Ready To Thrive In the Hive

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

In Thailand (where I have lived for 17 years) we say you don't really LIVE here till you've been through at least one military coup. I guess I'm now seriously local, since I've lived through two real military coups, as well as the odd bit of armed conflict back in 2010.

Today, as I pondered my first #Hive post, I recognize that steem has been through a FAILED coup. It had all the hallmarks: an uprising, surprise usurping of power, attacks and counter attacks, propaganda, lots of accusations, spades-full of FUD, confusion and distress. And yet here we are tonight, Thailand time, celebrating core values and giving virtual roses to our "soldiers" who have engaged and held our collective values so well. Yes, we DID do that after the last Thai military coup here, and I feel like doing that again tonight.

ThaiSoldierFlowers.jpgimage credt: reuters.com

In the end, the best fight is the one a warrior walks away from, with her head held high and her values intact. Sensei Bob taught me that in a sweaty little dojo, decades ago. Tonight I celebrate that.

The shift from weary soldiers, conflict and the debris of what has been a battlefield is one we need to choose. And I LOVE what we are choosing tonight. The hive.

honeybees326337_1920.jpgImage by PollyDot from Pixabay

The hallmarks of a Hive?

  • Industriousness.
  • Community.
  • Honey.
  • Celebration of flowers.
  • Sustenance.
  • Transmutation.
  • Productivity
  • Nourishment
  • Value.

What fact do I LOVE MOST about honey? It doesn't spoil. Ever. A well sealed jar of pure raw honey keeps and is perfectly edible after 1,000 years.

It holds its value. Honey also heals & soothes.

I'm incredibly excited to be here in the Hive - the online home of decentralization and no censorship. After the last intense weeks, I feel like a real local! I'm hopeful that after honoring our battle-scarred front-liners with flowers and well-deserved accolades, we can re-focus and settle into the sweet buzz of community, productivity and sweet, sweet honey dripping out of the Hive.

Much appreciation to the witnesses and the core people on twitter who have been amazing at educating and engaging a weeny minnow like myself.

I feel empowered to have survived this, my first crypto-coup, with my energy and enthusiasm intact. Ready to contribute, engage with and grow the Hive.


Come check out my natural Thai herbal business… yes, we ship world-wide

pure thai naturals.png

NM Banner.png

Sort:  

Yes happy to be through the coup and can't wait to get buzzing in the HIVE!
Interesting that you had to go through 2 coups there in Thailand! Glad you made it through unscathed!

SOOOO nice to see you here, @porters! Awesome. Funnily enough the 2 military coups much like the corona stay home... head down, shelter in place. All good. I have much greater faith in the Thai system with its coups than I do the US "democratic" debacle. I think you're not too badly off in Canada, other than food supply chain issues.

Sending love and looking forward to new things on Hive.

It's great to see all the awesome people from Steem move over hear (you included of course). I think we'll do just fine, I look forward to your coming posts and helping each other grow.

Glad you went through the coup unscathed, these times thoug... so much turmoil everywhere.

Hugs from Chile!

I think the community will reform, but differently. And yes, the turmoil runs deep in many parts of the world, and on so many levels. The financial turmoil ahead for the world (and the US, UK and Europe in particular) and gonna make the virus part of all this look like a walk in the park.

There has never been a better time to be decentralized, and committed to learning together and supporting one another.

I was stoked to see you over here too. :)

It's like a fresh new-ish start.

It IS a fresh new start! And a chance to refine and build on all the good bits of steem - and drop the rest like a dirty, wet towel on the floor! Appreciate you stopping by. :)

Great analogy! Thank you for sharing these thoughts, @artemislives! I've been through a non-military coup in 1989 and learned a hard way since then how this planet is partitioned into nations, while the internet is the place to be. Thinking of John Perry Barlow's https://www.eff.org/cyberspace-independence it tickles me to now be through a cyberspace-coup and still keeping contact to those who thrive for even more decentralization - on any chain. Chain on! Chains off!

Hmmm... #chainonchainsoff Did you just create a new Hive hashtag?? LOL. I find cyberspace to be literally like a separate culture-country - and a very liberating one. Thanks for the support and sweet, supportive comment. Following you, too.

Haha, what a nice idea to make it a #chainonchainsoff tag. It came from greeting Steem on! lots of times and now first using Hive on! Eventually the chain did no difference to me and then with Chain on! I followed a trend that Hive developers already started: they made resteem into reblog instead of making complicated things even more complicated with a term like rehive.

To me you perfectly put into light with your blog post how narrow the gap is between chain and chains. When there's upheaval, go inside (spiritual literally) and observe. The real revolution is not going to be televised. Chain on! Chains off! 😍