FancyBear is on the starting blocks - christmas challenge is on ;-)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello my sunshines of the snowy day !

Today was having a lot of snowing/raining here in my little place of paradise, which allowed me to stay warmly home and begin a new painting-process post for these festive time ^_^

In the same time, I had in mind the Christmas Drawing // Painting Contest #1 run by @leminhead (link and rules are here)

so here is my participation to his first challenge ;-)



Christmas FancyBear is on the starting blocks for this festive time ^_^

20171210_180847-01.jpg

You can find on this pic almost all the tools I have used for the making of this drawing/painting

  • a pencil for the sketch
  • fine liners 0.2 and 0.005, pigma micron and Uni, I don't mind as soon as I
  • Water-soluble wax pastels Neocolor II (my all time favourite tools...^_^)
  • Ink blocks from Derwent (the green ones in the pic)


Now to My Behind The Scene ^_^

  • My process is quite alwas the same at the beginning...
    those who read my posts for a certain time know now that I begin with a rough sketch and that I then draw with a fineliner

  • Once that made, I've decided that I will let the bear as an illustration and would focus the coloring part on the background and the details (christmas suit, nose, gifts), so I then add some adornments and stars on the background

    christmasbear1.png



Yesss ! the colouring part ! My favourite part at equal distance with the drawing one ^_^

(you will discover that ALL PARTS of a creation are my favourite...LoL)

Let's take my beloved Neocolor II and apply multiple layers...

one of golden yellow, one orange and a last vermillon

christmasbear2.png

I like to see the color appearing under the action of the water, which sweetly spreads the pigments ;-)..This is my enjoyable-ish moment =D



Same action on the stars with the pink Neocolor...

To obtain this lighter tint in the middle (which shapes my star and gives it some volume) I just dilute a bit more the color, by being more insistent with my (not to) wet brush, which kinda remove the color...

christmasbear2b.png



The green ink sticks are acting like the Neocolor II, they are water-soluble, it is the water that reveals the ink on the paper, I love that ! ;-)

christmasbear3.png



Here I show you another of my (Q) tip ^_^ :

after applying the felt (Pitt Artist Pen from Faber-Castell) of a darker color to create the shadows, I blend it with a cotton swab so that it mixes perfectly with the rest of the color

christmasbear4.png



Et voilà my Lovelies !

My christmas FancyBear, ready to entertain you
and bring you some Smiiiiles during this festive Time !

20171210_180709-01.jpg



happy holidays.png



If you had some good time with us... spread the joy.pngand feel free toifollowus.png for your DailyWonkieDose ^_^

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

You got a 4.78% upvote from @upme requested by: @barbara-orenya.
Send at least 1 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Warm colorful and fun and so beautiful

Soooooooo adorable!

Thank you Ophelia ^_^ cheerful day.png

I love seeing your art emerge as I read through.your post!'He is a beautiful white bear in the snow!'I love it!

I'm happy you enjoy the process my dear ! ^_^ I'm having a cheerful time doing it, even if it takes me forever to do this kind of post, but hey, it's fun so I won't deprive myself of it...LoL
bisous.png

hello, as always your drawings fascinate me, happy week

Hello my beautiful dear ! Thanks for your appreciation;-)
lovesender.png

Congratulations @barbara-orenya! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.