Arriving Home

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

August 22nd, 2021

Parking the Car

For myself I don't remember what age I was when I first started to take note of where I park. While I was working when I got home all I could think about was getting inside and being comfortable, to relax and burn the days stress off some.

I have pretty much owned a home, or in process of buying a home I should say, since my mid twenties. So a lot of opportunity to see my yard when getting home, but I never really paid attention to it until my Saturdays when I would go and do my yard things.

iris.jpg

Since retiring I seem to take note more often when I get back home from shopping or just a day out. The above Iris image was captured on July 4th. It was the day I saw it just blooming very nicely when I got home from a shopping trip. It sits in the middle of my yard so I was sort of surprised I missed it earlier.

I think most of the times being retired I don't feel the need to rush inside and unwind from being away, or it could just be it takes me longer to get in and out of the car than when I was younger.

A few recent driveway parking spot surprises. Not a great shot of the mushroom, but it is one of the first larger mushrooms we have seen this year. We have had the rain, and the moisture but few mushrooms so far this year.

mushroom breadloaf.jpg

What can I say, Mother Nature is pretty amazing, yep a mushroom breadloaf. I saw that while parking the car and just had to get a snap of it to eventually share on Hive. That was from just a few days ago on August 17th. Also the reason for the post mainly to show it, I wanted to do the post on Friday, but, well being retired I get distracted easy sometimes. I thought it would have been a nice #fungifriday post.

Not to far away from the mushroom were these little white wild flowers, I keep forgetting what they are called, but they are very noticeable in the green grasses.

litle white wildflower.jpg
Also they are one of my favorite little flowers, when there is a big patch of them they are simply wonderful to see, very eye pleasing, so delicate yet they survive our sometimes harsh winters.


Now for something totally, most likely, unexpected among the pictures presented. It is not from just coming home, I have no remembrance of where I took the picture or what the white stuff is. From way back, okay only two moths ago, on June 18th I captured this little guy.

fly.jpg

I could not think of where to share that particular photo, but since it was on my phone I thought what the hell, why not share it in the post with pretty flowers and a nice mushroom, after all it could be the reason for the flowers. Mother Nature is still full of surprises, we jsut need to stop and look down, up and all around to see it sometimes.

Just a few small slices of coming home and seeing things instead of rushing inside, like the outdoors is trying to kill me after work, I really like being retired.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

aaahh you've been away too long and as a retire now you have your old habit to share the beauty of nature around you again. Try Amazing Nature and Fungi lover. I wouldn't believe it was Fungi if you don't say it. No wonder why it called Bread Fungi, If I saw it my own eyes, I probably thought it's a fallen bread...lol

I don't know if Bread Fungi is the real name of it, but it certainly looked like a loaf of bread sitting there.

That certainly is a weird looking rectangle mushroom. never saw one like it around here.

Close up of bugs though.... pretty gross ! LOL

Yeah, where else but Hive can you post a close up of a fly in a blog, and kind of make it work.

Where else !?!.... ha ha

I have seen many close ups of many bugs posted, so you are right. Close up, they are nearly all gross.... well... to me.

Not sure if I will ever retire. Love restoring motorbikes, love seeing the finished product.

Now that you are working for yourself though it is a retirement, retirement doesn't really mean lay down and die, it is more of a relaxed state of mind, no one to answer to except yourself, at least for me that is what retirement is.

Agreed, without the greed part. Great is it not, not having a boss or supervisor.
Love spending time in the garden as do you it seems.
All the time in the world to do what we want with no need to rush.

Now that’s a mushroom that I think might get mistaken and bitten! Never seen a mushroom loaf lol.

We don’t have a house but I’ve been trying to slow down and take in the sights and sounds of outside instead of rushing inside to drop our stuff off. We planted some nice flowers near the entrance so it’s been nice to watch them grow (or die lol) throughout the summer. Gotta slow down that’s for sure!

Pre-retirement, my slow down day was Saturday, although I did try to take time on occasion to see things around me, just not as often as I should have.

Yeah with our son it's most days. He's like a blood hound with looking at and trying to smell or touch everything. Sometimes it's tricky but it's been good to spend a few extra moments outside to appreciate the small stuff!

Both Saturday's and Sunday's are usually good for us. Go out traveling to some local things to enjoy it. Looking forward, in a way, to when it cools down and we can get some hiking in! Been a bit too warm for the little man to go hiking but soon (sadly) that will change!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 71 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3

Thank you, appreciated.


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Those are some nice shots! I like all of them. Pretty flowers and nice job with the fly! The mushroom is pretty interesting look too. Quite a variety of interesting and beautiful pics. :)

Thank you, it is hard finding a reason to post a picture of a fly, but for a smart phone I thought the picture came out pretty good.

It's fun thing when you slow down and enjoy everything around you instead of just rushing all the time.

Not retired but I do it once or twice whenever I feel exhausted, and want to take things slow.

And btw, you still work a bit on hive, crypto, games etc.😄 Maybe the actual definition is now you do work that you like, and enjoy, and for fun.

I see the fun aspect, not so much the work aspect of Hive, but I am enjoying my self and that is enough.