Fall Road Trip to Tern lake

September 18th, 2021

Finally Fall


In Alaska, Fall can happen pretty fast. It feel like our shortest season of all. Last week we had the dish of water we leave for the birds frozen over. So we are dipping below freezing on a few nights. This is does not really bother me at all. I don't like the cold, but I can deal with it, after all you just throw on a sweater or a thicker coat, but most times that is not needed as I have acclimated to the colder weather.

Monday I presented a few shots from Fall last year, Fall is always interesting to me, it is or can be one of the most photogenic seasons of the year.

The Bridge into the Picnic Area
Once again I forgot I was going to get a picture of the bridge as you drive over it. It is a small one lane bridge, and people with the big motor-homes(RV's), do not seem to like taking it, so the area is pretty free of people most times.

This is the view from the small platform they have for people to stand on and watch the salmon swim into the lake on their spawning run. We missed that event this year.


Small foot bridge to a nice view point.
Small foot bridge to a scenic view point

It has been a couple years since I wandered the trail here. It is not that long but did take me some effort. Along side the trail there are a lot of mushrooms and other small things to take pictures of.

The destination:

Foot Bridge Scenic View Point

There is a little bench to sit on here, and you do get a nice view of the lake and with eyeballs you can see some swans in the reeds. I'll have to try and come back in Spring when the birds are inbound with my longer lens and try to get some birds landing/taking off from the water.


Entry point for the Old Sterling Highway
A nice view of some of the Fall colors, the road ahead is not for the faint of heart, I am not sure if it even still continues all the way to Sterling. I have driven a few miles into it in a small car several years ago when I was a lot dumber than I am now. I am not even sure if it is a jeep trail any more or if the best choice would be a motor bike or a four wheeler. I do know if you decide to try it, make sure you have a working wench and an anchor for your wench just in case you get bogged down where there are no trees or rocks. One day I would like to travel the road again.


Small Leaning Tree

Just a small tree leaning over the path between the parking areas. I liked the contrast of the bright yellow and the green behind, and also the tree was leaning, who doesn't like a nice leaning tree.

Leaving the picnic area

This was not an easy picture to take, in fact I was not sure what I was going to get. The Nikon D7500 is not really a one hand camera, it is fairly large. So I got a good hold and held it out the window, unable to see what I was looking at, just using my eyes to try and aim the camera. I managed to aim it pretty good, and push the button, and auto focus did the rest.


After the picnic area we decided to try for Trail Lake. When we got there the sun was not really there and there really was not a lot of fall color, so not to photogenic, but we did take some pictures. Here is the bet from the lake, and it was as we were leaving.

Leaving trail lake pullout

Well that pretty much covers the photo part of the day. We hope to get out again today or tomorrow for some more weekend photo excursions.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

In a couple of days "fall" will officially be here. We don't have trees turning colors this early here, but there are already light signs things are changing. Of course it gets dark earlier now. It seems like only a month ago, it was light till 9 pm, but already, sunset is by 7:30. I'm solar powered, so I am not liking that ! It doesn't help not to like it, it still happens every year....LOL The days are still hot, some in the upper 80s or low 90s. A few nights though last week, it dropped into the 50s, which hasn't happened since spring, but now it is back where it has stayed in the 70s over night, so fall is slowly creeping over, a few days at a time. Our weather has started waffling....

I love a lot of things about the fall the pumpkins and colorful trees and the such, but I don't love it's foreboding of cold weather to come. I detest codod weather ! I also don't like the added bulk of thick clothes, coats and restricting shoes. I'll try not to think on all that just yet and enjoy what happily warm weather there is still left.

That looks like a very peaceful place to walk.

I was surprised that I did not hear a lot of the road traffic walking along the short trail, so yes it was a pretty peaceful walk, even though it was short, it was plenty long enough for me.

It's hard to drive and take pictures at the same time! The area looks perfect to learn survivalism, commune with nature...

You have beautiful scenery in Alaska and captured lovely reflections in the water.

I know what you mean by becoming acclimated to the changes in the weather. After a few days of heat this summer, I got used to it. The same will apply when the cold weather sets in. the first week is brutal,then one’s body gets acclimated to it and don’t mind it so much.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 74 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7

Thank you the chance of more exposure is welcomed.

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)