High Heel Zombie Scramble Ramble

August 22nd, 2020

Some Days Just Happen


source: https://peakd.com/zombiewritingcontest/@snook/hive-writing-contest-win-10-hive

What a fricken comedy of errors that day was. Hell of a way to start the Zombie Apocalypse.

I still can not believe I fell for the trick, I always thought my boss was an okay person. I know others did not think so, and thought he was a jerk, but after one year working for him, I encountered no problems from him.

I knew he was a practical joker sort of person. And still I fell for it, a party for my promotion, and it was to be a themed party. It was simple, everyone had to where high heeled spiked shoes, even the guys.

I had a hell-of a time finding a size eleven and a half that would be strong enough to support my weight.

So I show up for the party and lo and behold I am the only one wearing high heels. I feel like such an idiot, everyone was in on it except me.

Fortunately, or unfortunately, the heckling and laughing died down pretty quick, as the warning sires outside started to wail, and everyone's phones started to ring, and the TV emergency broadcast started blaring.

Until a day after that moment I used to think technology had intruded far to much into our lives. I must say though that it likely saved a lot of us.

Everyone saw the broadcast, the mayhem downtown. A protest that went viral, literately viral. The TV lasted for 3 days, long enough to show the beginning of the end of the world. Smart phones and the internet lasted for 5 days.

I have survived, a few others made it to safety that night because of the high heel shoes I had on. We saw on the TV and in the media reports on our phones you had to hit them in the head or they just kept coming. just like all the zombie stories we had ever read or the zombie movies we had ever watched.

My boss of course was the first person to try and run. He went outside, we watched from what we thought was a save vantage point behind the glass windows, we watched as he was torn apart by a mob of zombies, someone screamed, the zombies turned to the windows and rushed.

The windows held for all of 3 minutes, I was already moving to the stairs along with a few others. I could not run with the high heels, I could barely walk, I took them off, handed one over to someone standing next to me, I don't even know who it was, I just said here, go for the heads.

We made it to the second floor and were able to block the door from the zombies. I didn't know her name, she worked in HR or something, only saw her in passing. She had survived. Five of us had survived so far.

We did not know about the other stairwell, it did not take us long to learn of it though, as more zombies attacked a group trying to back away. We quickly started checking doors like the other group was doing. We both found doors at the same time opposite sides of the hallway, our small group ducked into the room as their group was doing the same.

That was day one, we were safe for now locked in our room, hoping the zombies would lose interest and move on. It was not a fun promotion party to say the least. Life has not been very pleasant this last four months, but still I am alive, the sole survivor from our group.

We have met others, and we still fight, we still hope, and some of us still survive.


Details for the contest contained below. Image above from the Contest post.

Writing Contest

  1. Using what you have read and seen in this post, write a story.

  2. Tag the story with #ZombieWritingContest and #SnookMadeMeDoIt so I can find your posts.

  3. The deadline for joining the contest will be August 30, 2020, at 11:00 PM CST (4:00 AM August 31, 2020, Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)).

  4. I will announce the winner of the 10 Hive on September 1, 2020.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 20 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

OMGosh!!

What a great story!!!!

The size 11 shoes made me laugh out loud! Thank you for that!

I was wondering where you were going to take it. You had me reading faster and faster to the end of the story to see where you would take it!!

Thank You for joining the contest!!

Snook Aproved.png

It was a hard prompt to pass up, and fun to try.

yaaaayyyyyyyy!!

I am so happy you had fun

Hahahah! cool story! 😂 😁

It was a very fun prompt.

When I first saw the photo.... I was thinking, what tha??? Was he shot in the head or was that heal the weapon?

Fun story.... well....it wouldn't be fun to be attached by zombies.

No, I don't think it would be fun either, but to meet the end of the world as a man in high heels, (when I first saw her prompt that is what I thought), was a story that had to be told. I had fun with it.

😁 I love such end time and zombie stories ... and some fun. Great entertainment on a Sunday morning, I enjoyed reading it 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

Thank you, it is fun to stretch and write the imagination down every now and then.

You're welcome 😁
I understand, it is fun for you writing and fun for us reading 😁
Have a wonderful Sunday 🌞


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @bashadow! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Fighting Gods Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

One day at a time! HA! Good story :)

Thank you.

Who knew that dudes wearing size 11.5 high heel shoes could be such a lifesaver? Maybe there is a moral for us all to take away from this story ((aside from, never trust your boss!)) I must cnfess that from a purely selfish point of view I hoped to see Covid Katie resurrected for this short dystopian tale.

Enjoyable and fun read my friend, I wonder if this all that 'out there' when we consider 2020 so far, it seems pretty run of the mill tbh.

I hope I have time to enter this before the deadline, it's a fun prompt, hope your weekend's going well oh shadowy one :)