View From My Window - (Four From One)

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

June 3rd, 2021

Standing Proud


Digital photography can be great fun at times and one does not need a lot of pictures to have fun with one picture.

Yesterday evening, (6/2/2021 at 6:41) we had a visitor. Every year we have a couple of these proud ladies stop by to show off their children to us. This year so far we have had one with twins and then yesterday this single Mom stop by.

Fullsize uncropped moos.jpg

That is the full size un-cropped picture. She was a little bit away even though I was zoomed in to 220mm. still it is a fairly nice image of nature in action.

Here is a digital zoom and crop. The first of three.

Close of mom and calf.jpg
More focused on the Mother Moose and her calf than on the entire in nature scene. It is still difficult to make the calf out so we can digitally zoom a little bit closer.

baby.jpg
Probably the closet we can zoom with out losing a lot of info and the picture becoming just a blur.

Just one more zoom for you.

Mom looking.jpg
That look of He is so cute, but keep your distance or I will stomp you. I don't know if you read or saw the story of a woman getting stomped by a moose Nikiski woman stomped by moose is flown to Anchorage. People just never learn. There are lots of moose stomping stories and not all of them relegated to just Alaska, they happen in other states and other parts of the world.

She looks so proud of her new born and will do anything to protect it. I think one of the reasons they like our yard is we don't have many predators run through and we very rarely get stray dogs wandering through.

The animals are one of the things that make Alaska life so interesting. From tiny voles to really big moose.


One photo, yet four different views. One of the nice things about digital cameras and the photo software available today.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

Moose? I think we don't have that in our country Philippines. (I'm not sure)

Very true, having a camera will make enjoy life being alone. Just like capturing things in any way you like it. I'm amazed at your camera quality because even though it's far, the results were still clear.

By the way, you don't eat them or is it prohibited to hunt them? lol

Hunting is allowed during the hunting season. A lot of people do hunt and enjoy the moose meat to eat. I have tried it a few times but find the wild gamey taste a bit strong, but in a chilly it is pretty good.

Are the females as tall as the males? I will never forget my encounter with a male moose in the mountains north of Salt Lake. Turning a corner in the car with my friend the moose was in the middle of the road and it was a goddamned giant! Scared the shit out of us and casually walked off into the forest. You'd have to be a fool to get near one.

The females may be a little bit smaller but not by very much. it is amazing how they can be pretty much invisible when they are ten feet or so into the woods.

Thats so cool. That would be amazing to see from your window. I've only ever seen one moose in my lifetime but it wasn't that close.

I am just glad we do not get black bears in the yard. I have seen some about two miles away before, but never in the yard.

You've even had the opportunity to see it once but then there are people like myself whose only opportunity to see such wonderful creature is on blogs like this or Google lol.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Wow! All I get in the garden are guinea fowls and the odd cat!

We had a mixed wolf coyote once wander through, I think he snatched a few chickens from the neighbors a couple years ago, haven't seen it since then.

You are so lucky. I think I'd die of shock if I saw something like that walk through my garden.

Shock? Lol. I would love to see such pass by. Honestly that would have been the best day of my life.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

A nice image you got there @bashadow . Your digital camera is a really good one you know!!
As for moose running around your yard in Alaska! Wow it's amazing you guys got such cool scenes to view almost everyday.
In my country we got no such thing even if found, the humans around would think of a way to harm it.
You guys are really blessed by nature.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I want to have an experience like this ...
What a beauty of photos, I love them, thanks for sharing this here.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

We do not have a big variety of wild life, but it is pretty cool when they bed down in your yard.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That is so amazing that you have such a view from your window.

OH HOW STINKIN CUTE IS THIS!!!!! Love it. Obviously the only Moose we see around here is in pictures. How cool that you get to see this every year. Thanks for sharing with us!! I TOTALLY enjoyed it.

Why do people mess with or get close to wildlife?? It's called wildlife for a reason. They just have to get close to get the shot I suppose. Painful lesson.

Pretty safe from an upstairs window. We also try to stay in the car or very close when we see them along the roads.

I don't blame you. And it keeps them safe as well.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 59 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
12