I think having a heart default to give like 10% upvote power is a better way to ...

in DBuzz4 years ago

I think having a heart default to give like 10% upvote power is a better way to go about things than a hard cap at a dollar. I understand the need to prevent abuse, but we're shooting ourselves in the foot competition-wise with Web 2.0/twitter

Sort:  

Why are we shooting ourselves in the foot? D.Buzz doesn't even show rewards; Major step fwd for a HIVE based service. When promoting the money rewards at HIVE, HIVE will never grow. I've seen way too many content creators and community players leave due to the money thing.

We had originally planned on including a $ indicator on a future update, but you may be raising a valid point @edje it might be better to promote the value of our service above all else, and making monetary rewards less visible might help!

Please do so indeed, leave the $ or HIVE value. I have a few suggestions for short term roadmap: 1) speed of content loading needs to be improved a lot 2) ability to edit a post would be very beneficial 3) direct link to explaining how to include media (eg clickable photo, youtube,...), you dont seem to use markdown, which I discovered after making the post. I'll play around a little more with the app and come back to D.Buzz with my findings and suggestions.

Especially given that 50% of the upvote value doesn't even go to the creator, not to mention on 50% of that will be liquid after a full week.

Twetch has wayyyy more incentive upside for creators to move too

I've been working on getting big creators on here but its hard to convince them that jumping through the hoops are worth it for such limited upside.

I think the time to get big creators on here is after we have rolled out more features i.e. Image Uploads, Tips, etc. this isn't the final product yet, it's just a rough draft.. but any and all of your ideas can and will help! 👍🙂

If you could share how much incentives Twetch have it would help. I am not familiar with how much incentives they offer . . and is it via tips? Or something else?

The hardcap is to protect our users, some of our users are already getting comments from @hivewatchers, even with the hardcap of $1.00 and the limit of 8 rewarded Buzz's per day . . eventually there needs to be more discussion about how to prevent spam w/out harming growth!

Maxing out the upvote strength at 10% is a novel idea, but it would also zero out posts that would otherwise earn. There are also users like @brianoflondon + many more who do NOT want to earn over a certain amount on Buzz's due to #HIVE culture of rewarding long-form content more

The problem I'm thinking is that on days I'm likely to release a significant video or long form post, if I've already put something on @dbuzz then I'll lose out because various autovotes won't hit me again.

For me the issue isn't the people voting via the dbuzz interface, which are relatively few, it's the auto vote trails which I'm grateful for and try to live up to but are blind to the nature of the content.

I don't think that a default of small percentage of voting power is good, because votes of users with small HP (like me who can give only about $0.001 at 100% voting power at 100% voting mana) will become "dust votes" (meaning my vote will be nullified).