Cindicator: April results

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Image from Google Play store, press kit for Cindicator.

Well... April was a bit of a nightmare rollercoaster for analysts on Cindicator... good for the crypto ecosystem in general as there was a continuation of the steady rise since the start of the year.... but with some really really unexpected spikes and falls which meant that predictions were going to be hideously inaccurate!

Short Timeframe Challenge (Invite only)

This was an single week interesting challenge which was an invite only challenge for the top 150 or so analysts with Cindicator. So, I was pretty chuffed to be invited! Anyway, it was a 4 daily rounds of 8 questions about the pairings: USD pairs with BTC, ETH, USD and XRP along with pairings with BTC and BCH(ABC), ETC, OMG and LTC.

Each question was only open for a single hour and were +/- 2% upside or downside questions. It makes for some pretty snap judgement forecasting, as we all know that crypto can swing pretty wildly from hour to hour. Luckily, I had built up a buffer in the first couple of days, as the crypto markets started to have a sudden unexpected drop, which triggered many of the fail thresholds for my predictions, which meant that I started bleeding points profusely! In fact I was very much in the red points wise... but I did predict that there would be a turn around, and so I finished the week just under 0 in points, my worst ever results for any challenge!

Hopefully, I will still get a payout, as I might still rank in the top 50 analysts who answered enough questions to qualify for a payout... however, I'm not holding my breath...

Crypto Markets

Again, being hammered by the sudden Bitcoin spike at the start of April and then the flash crash to 400 USD meant that I was hemorrhaging points after having started so nicely... so most of my month was struggling to stay afloat for the payout rather than gunning for a top spot!

The spike in Bitcoin meant that most of the alt coin price and threshold predictions were completely thrown out (as they were denominated in BTC trading pairs), and so I was seeing a lot of red contributions to my points total... seriously, there is nothing more demoralising than seeing endless red predictions coming in at the start of the month... it almost makes you want to just give up for the month!

Luckily, I kept plugging along and was able to salvage a positive score... nothing to write home about, but at least I get a payout!

Traditional Markets

I'm starting to see more and more questions appearing in the Traditional market space... which means I need to start readjusting my time expectations for how fast assets change in value (traditional markets are turtles!)... plus, getting acquainted with lots of companies and what they do... it really is a completely different space, as most of the assets have real life fundamentals attached to them.. instead of speculative crypto assets.

That said, I'm getting better at these markets... managing to finish within the top 200 analysts. Not bad for something I know little about... but my performance in this market is getting more reliable.

Going Forward

Well, in the crypto space, I'm hoping to redeem myself and recover my prediction average after a terrible last mont... I'm still staying clear of 7 way rankings as it is just too difficult to predict the rankings of crypto asset growth one month out (even a day out is pretty tricky!). I do hope that there is a continuation of a slow upwards trend, but I'm a bit wary that there are some hints and talk of another large drop looming.

In the traditional markets, I'm just trying to slowly improve and tighten my predictions. It's a completely different world to the crypto one, and so it does take a bit of time to build up experience and gut feeling!

Hopefully, with my pretty dismal performance in the Short Timeframe Challenge I've not disqualified myself from other invite only challenges... my general performance remains high (barring that last crypto month...), so I'm hopeful that I can still stand as a decent performer in the eyes of Cindicator!

Keep Your Crypto Holdings Safe with Ledger

Ledger is one of the leading providers of hardware wallets with the Ledger Nano S being one of the most popular choices for protecting your crypto currencies. Leaving your holdings on a crypto exchange means that you don’t actually own the digital assets, instead you are given an IOU that may or may not be honoured when you call upon it. Software and web based wallets have their weakness in your own personal online security, with your private keys being vulnerable in transit or whilst being stored upon your computer. Paper wallets are incredibly tiresome and still vulnerable to digital attacks (in transit) and are also open to real world attacks (such as theft/photography).

Supporting a wide range of top tokens and coins, the Ledger hardware wallet ensures that your private keys are secure and not exposed to either real world or digital actors. Finding a happy medium of security and usability, Ledger is the leading company in providing safe and secure access to your tokenised future!

Ledger Nano S - The secure hardware wallet


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

More power to you @bengy. Trying to analyze this market is more than enough to short circuit my mind. I kind of understand why things have dropped off, but not fully. If I were a conspiracy theorist, I might think that there are those that would benefit if crypto keeps dropping the way it does. I'll leave that speculation to those individuals.

It's a bit of a nightmare trying to do the predictions... but in the end, I don't try to analyse too much and go with the gut interpretation of the graphs.

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 800 posts. Your next target is to reach 850 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!