Anyone know what this could be? (i don't mean NEOWISE comet)

in Photography Lovers4 years ago (edited)

I went out trying to get some photos of Neowise comet. I tried few roads but we had rain last few days so it was muddy everywhere. So i decided to just try and take some photos on the end of solid road.

Just got home and imported the photos. As i went through them, and got to this one, i thought to myself, was i that lucky to get a meteor just left of the Neowise? Nice.
IMG_8327.jpg

But then i moved to the next photo and the "meteor" is still there? you can see the trail disappearing. So no way it is a meteor, they don't fall upwards, and it was something relatively slow because i had 3 seconds gap on my intervalometer between the shots. Exposure was 20 seconds.
IMG_8328.jpg

And it did disappear and not go across the sky because this is my next shot, 3 seconds after that and nothing is there. I know how planes look like but there would be a line across.
IMG_8329.jpg


I don't do a lot of night sky shots, so i am not familiar with all the things that are going on there.


Anyone has an idea what this could be?

Sort:  

UFO 😵

well they are active this year :D

Probably a satellite or something else in low orbit of the earth

i thought when they "glow" you can see them for a while, but i know nothing about satellites :D

Could be ISS or SpaceX starlink satellites. There is a lot of stuff circling earth right now. Check this out

i know there is shit tone of stuff out there, thought satellites glow all the time till they don't :). could be just a weird coincidence :D

I'm pretty sure that the satellites only glow when the sun is hitting them just right. That might differ by satellite though.

you could be right, because my knowledge of satellites is almost 0 :D