Art Imitating Life?

in #blaagh5 years ago

I've shared bits and pieces of this particular page in progress of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." in the past, but I've recently gotten back to it (I tend to skip around a lot!) and am reworking some areas and completing the unfinished panels and details. I'd even previously started to ink the page, but scrapped what had been done there and will be starting from scratch.

I know I should be concentrating on "finished, not perfect" as discussed in the first Trial by Comics: Exposé, which you should be reading if you haven't already! But what can I say... I still have a hard time letting go.


IMG_0061.jpeg


Anyways... this isn't as much an update post as just a general rant; or as I call it, a blaagh, and attempt to keep at least a bare minimum of exposure and participation on Steem. My last active post just paid out, meaning it's been over a week with only a few comments to show for it. Rest assured I still read and vote obsessively!

Lately I feel like I'm taking a beating, thus the appropriateness of this page and the title idea of art imitating life! I think we can all relate to the crypto market dropping like a rock. The arc of Dave's body flying through the air to the pavement below is a nice metaphor for most of the value charts right now! But, Dave's getting back up and I still believe the same will hold true for crypto and Steem. I haven't lost my enthusiasm or interest in this grand experiment at all.

My main gut punch right now has come in the form of a family member being diagnosed with cancer. The first tumor was only just discovered Monday and there's still little information on the spread of the disease, severity, and prognosis. Needless to say, I think I'd rather just take a good left hook from a troll right now than feel the way I do.

I don't live in close proximity to my family which makes it all the more frustrating. Nor do I have a job that allows me much control over my schedule and time. I wish Steem was mooning, or that I'd already built myself a career in art that granted me more personal and financial freedom. Obviously I'll be offering all the support I can. But I guess in addition I just feel a desire to channel the excess feelings of frustration and anger into improving myself and my situation, so that maybe I'll feel just a little bit less useless in the future. That desire is of course at war with the desire to climb in bed and pull the covers over my head amid feelings of depression and dread... so we'll see which course wins out! I'm pretty sure it'll be a manic seesaw, with some days being bed days and others being flurries of productivity.

Please don't worry about me or take pity! For the few of you who read and converse with me, I really feel like you all are part of my extended family and just wanted to vent a bit. Plus, I don't want the label of being a "fair weather Steemian" and you all thinking I'm "ghosting" because of any recent developments in Steem or crypto. I still love this blockchain, but in the weeks to come my energy and mood for it might both be a bit depressed, so please forgive me. In a nutshell, this is my way of saying, "It's not you... it's me."

Alright, time for that covers over the head thing for now, in all fairness it is bedtime... Take care everyone. Hug your loved ones, chase your dreams, and keep Steemin'. That's what I'll be shooting for at least.

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff



itiwbz_button.pngafd_button.pngseer_button.png


Sort:  

I wish your family memeber the best Bryan. Cancer is a shit disease. I’m sorry you have this added to your plate.

Thanks man. I know so many people deal with shit like this all the time. I’m actually fortunate that this is one of the most serious things to affect my family... but it means I don’t have much coping experience! Over the past decade I’ve actually had the most health struggles of my immediate family, and I’d honestly rather be the one afflicted than the spectator. As cliche as it is... one day at a time I guess...

Hello Sir @bryan-imhoff
I am sorry about your relative that has cancer right now and I hope he/she will recover soon but I know it is a hard and expensive medical problem. I too have some of my own worries but I am just trusting what God will do for my life.
I hope we all recover with all these problems and with cryptos adding to our worries :/

Thank you @cryptopie! The adversity you overcome every day and your positivity is always an inspiration and I appreciate it.

I hope your relative can get good treatment and pull through. Life isn't always rosy. I think the future of Steem is partly up to us users. If we stick with it then it has some sort of future. We're getting some great comics on here, so now we need more of the fans to sign up and show their appreciation.

Thanks Steve. I’m still just on edge waiting for more information and fearing the worst. Best to try and live in the moment and focus on the things I can control. And that’s a pretty good attitude for Steem too I guess.

Oh honey, I'm sorry to read about your family member's illness, I know a lot about that illness, several relatives have suffered it.
I hope all the best for your relative!
I think you've had a lot of work lately in which to focus and I regret that a disease adds to your worries.
Quiet, I understand, if you have not been regularly here is because you can not.
It is impossible to forget about you! I always see you on my PC!

Thank you. I’ve been so fortunate that cancer isn’t prevalent in my family, this is my first time having to cope. I hope you and your family are all well.

Unfortunately, my aunt could not overcome this illness, I hope that your family member can overcome.

Hi @bryan-imhoff!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.749 which ranks you at #1447 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #194.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server