🎵 Hive Open Mic Week 18 - "The Voice" (Original Song)

in GEMS4 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community of music lovers, for music fans and musicians. Each week is a new invitation for expression and connection.


The Voice

A song about hearing a higher calling

HiveOpenMic18CabeLindsay.jpg

This week's Hive Open Mic invitation is this: Signs. Searching for inspiration in this area, I found resonance and relevance in a song called "The Voice." This song verbalizes something special that I'm witnessing throughout our community: Harmony.

When I say "Harmony" with a capital H, I'm talking about the peace and unity that results when people cooperate cohesively—in music and in life. I'm seeing signs that our live music event is making a difference in the world by bringing people together from many nations as we celebrate a universal language: music.


The Voice

This is a song that arrived on Christmas day, 2018. We were at my mother-in-law's place, celebrating the holiday with hot chocolates, enjoying our Christmas gifts. I found an old flamenco guitar, tucked away, and I started to play a chord progression I hadn't discovered before. It just showed up, like a star in the sky.

The words crystallized right away, except for the chorus. At first, I was singing: "Pa rum pum pum pum," like Little Drummer Boy. Later, I embraced the familiar Kirtan mantras: "Om-mani-padme-hum" and "Karuna-hum." When I first presented this song publicly, it was for a sound healing event with my full eight-member band: concert harp, flute, cello... Magical.

Note: "Om-mani-padme-hum" is an ancient Sanskrit mantra, with infinite interpretations, such as: Behold, the jewel in the lotus. "Karuna-hum" means: Compassion is my nature.

The Voice of all voices is singing
Singing in the innermost
Calling all of us who listen
To listen and lend our voices

The heartbeat it is being drummed
Om-mani-padme-hum om-mani-padme-hum
The heartstrings they are being strummed
Karuna-hum karuna-hum

The presence of the Presence is with us
Here now in the moment
Calling all of us who focus
To focus and lend our voices

The heartbeat it is being drummed...

The Star of stars is guiding
Guiding high in the heavens
Calling all of us who wonder
To wonder and lend our voices

The heartbeat it is being drummed...

The harmony of the Harmony is calling
Calling the star people
Calling all of us who sparkle
To sparkle and lend our voices

The heartbeat it is being drummed...

HiveOpenMic18C.png


Acknowledgements

I'd like to thank @in2itiveart for her introduction to sigils—signs or symbols considered to have magical power. The sigil you see above is an example. This one began when some words appeared in a dream: "God have an impact on my interests." This felt like a request for divine intervention. I crafted a sigil with the key letters of each word in the statement: GHIOMI. Visually, it resembles "OM", which feels strikingly appropriate as a sign / symbol for the continuation of Creation.

I'm seeing signs that Hive Open Mic is making a mark on our hearts as real proof of Global Harmony happening here and now. I imagine this movement rippling out as peace between people, between cultures, between nations. I imagine this movement penetrating deep inside my own life too, cutting through thoughts and emotions, reaching the innermost source, where the message is embraced. I imagine it will lighten me up. I imagine it light up the world.

Our collective thoughts, words, and voices are creating the world we wish to live in. When we gather together harmoniously, through artistic expression, we create bridges of connection. This connection is genuine, and it crosses all distances. It frees us. It connects us as a community. It gives us a sense of belonging. It lets us know we are loved. It reminds us we are light. Together, we radiate. We radiate. We radiate.

HiveOpenMic18CabeLindsay.gif

HiveOpenMic18B.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 18 is underway right now, with the current theme: "Signs." There is still time to jump in and enjoy! Late entries are always accepted in our pressure-free event. Look and listen for this week's highlights to be released on Tuesday.

🌞 🌜 🌟 ✨

Enjoy Live Music - Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🦢 🕊️ 🌿 🌸


Bio

I'm Cabe Lindsay, an ultra-fly guy making movies with ARISE and music with Cosmic Butterflies. Publications include films: Voices of the Grandmothers, Wild Family... books: Brave Spirit, Be Well Bee, WYLD, Big Idea Patterns... and songs: Brave Spirit, Home, Colors Flying... Most importantly, I'm a rad daddy making life with three kids and a wife: @wildfamily, delighted to thrive on Hive.

Sort:  

hey thank you so much for acknowledging me and I am very glad you found Sigils!!! That is so fantastic that you went and made that sigil for yourself and you are seeing it's impact on you and the lives of others!!! blessings!

My pleasure, and thank you for planting these seeds of insight. I sure appreciate you for bringing your gifts into the world through Hive. I honor you for your special way of helping to bring out the gifts in others—including me.

Thank you so much! In these crazy times it does help me to hear that my purpose is being realized...

Nice finger-picking. The verses are like a single breath. Really like it man!