My YouTube video with 1.9 Million Views - "Why I'm burning my last bridge with Obama"

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

There was a time that I believed voting was not only my duty as an American, but an effective way to change things. Obama's 2008 presidential campaign was sort of the pinnacle of that belief structure... As I said in my introduction post:

Though I had always been drawn to rebellious movements, studying history and always taking classes that focused on revolution, I channeled that into the false promises of Obama, never realizing the need for dissent continued into his presidency and beyond it.

When the Arab Spring began, I felt compelled to google the news, and I found Obama was bombing the Middle East, had appointed bankers to his administration, and was just another snake oil salesman with particularly seductive rhetoric.

Fast forward a few years, and I found an Obama shirt in my closet (having been long-removed from that mindset, and quite a ways down the rabbit hole. I decided to make this video, to share with the world how I still felt about Obama and the violent, authoritarian system he represents. The video BLEW UP, and is now sitting at over 1.9 million views.

Watch on Dtube (external link)

Watch via YouTube (embedded)


Interview with Justin King, founder of TheFifthColumnNews.com:

(this interview was done for @antimedia, about 3 months after I uploaded the video)


OK, so what was the straw that broke the camel’s back as far as the Obama Administration goes? When did you decide you could no longer support the policies?

“For me, the straw broke in 2011 when I first “Googled the news.” One of the first articles I read, after catching up with the chain of revolutions that started that year, was about a Goldman Sachs appointment Obama made. Though I was quite uninformed back then, I knew from my liberal talking point memory that Goldman Sachs was bad, which did not comport with my perception that Obama was good. This appointment was so incongruent with everything the president had said during his campaign that I continued to research his record, which was highly disappointing. It seemed that the deeper into his presidency he got, the more corrupt he became, and by mid-2011, the headlines were inexcusably abominable. He was trigger happy with drones, attempting to stay in Iraq longer than Bush had, and a complete corporate puppet from Monsanto to Raytheon. He was perfectly content with the Patriot Act and keeping Guantanamo open and by New Year’s Eve 2012, he was signing the National Defense Authorization Act, legalizing the government’s right to indefinitely detain American citizens without trial. So it was really that first discovery of Goldman Sachs that turned me against him, but his continued criminality that kept me from ever rationalizing his wrongdoing again. As far as making the video went, I had made a few before that directly addressed public figures. I’ve made one for Michelle Obama and one for Justin Bieber regarding police brutality after his home was raided earlier this year. I knew I wanted to do one for Obama, but didn’t want to force it without an original idea to drive the main point. When I came across my Obama shirt in an old dresser drawer, I knew I had the foundation for a video.”

So what is the solution? Is it possible to vote the problem away?

“To think about a solution, I have to identify the problem. To me, the issue is that people are disturbingly desensitized to violence. I think this is in large part because of the government’s massive influence on society and its glorification of using force. As much as schools and society teach that violence is wrong, we receive a contradictory message when we see police officers shooting up individuals and have the federal government insisting that military action is the only way to solve a problem. We know that it’s wrong to steal and kill, but because of the government’s brilliant marketing of these two things it does best (as it markets them as taxes and war), we create a double standard for them in our minds. We excuse corruption, lies and malevolence because we have been taught to and we accept it because they have the guns. The other problem is that the collective American consciousness has been steeped in fear and anger. Americans fear the terrorists (that their government instigated) and each other, and they hate those with opposing viewpoints. For years, politicians have parroted “bipartisanship” as a solution, but the only way government officials work together is if it benefits them, not the people they represent. Still, people remain convinced that their political counterparts are the evil (and they must use to the government to stop them), not the government itself. The solution, in my eyes, has multiple layers. First, people must stop excusing government violence simply because it is committed by the government. The state is responsible for more death, destruction, and murder than any sum of individuals in the course of history, and if we continue to ignore that, we will continue to see violence all around us, as well as violations of our human rights. Further, we must stop living in fear, anger, and prejudice. So many of America’s criminal policies are accepted because the American people are terrified of the threats the government claims are there—whether terrorism, corporate hegemony, or each other—all of which are outrageous because the government and politicians have directly enabled and empowered them. Those in power thrive on our disconnectedness, fear, and prejudice, and it is the job of the individual to overcome this and connect with our humanity by practicing love, gratitude and compassion. If we could cultivate these values while recognizing where government violates them, we will be on a long-term path to a better world. In addition to breaking out of cognitive dissonance and negative thought patterns, I also think it is vital for most Americans to stop watching television and pursue actual knowledge. I’ve spent the last two years writing a (nearly finished) book about popular and celebrity culture marketed to women and girls. The perpetual attempts to captivate the attention and energy of females is both manipulative and conducive to ignorance, and the same goes for media marketed to men. Whether it’s celebrity gossip, professional sports, or even the nightly news, the condition of this country would likely be far better if the vast majority of people realized that their worlds are filled with manufactured conglomerated media with vested interests and ties to government. I do think that in some cases it is possible to “vote” problems away, but not “the” problem of how the system works. Activists in California have done a wonderful job of pushing for nullification of the NDAA, and there are measures in the House right now to combat some of the worst components of NSA spying. However, as much as I value and encourage the people who push for these changes, it’s clear that these victories are exceptions rather than rules. As a short-term solution, I think voting for people who claim to have principles and outrage toward sinister policy can help, but overall, the mindset of people has to turn away from violence and imposing their views on others. Voting unfortunately encourages individuals to do just that by selling “elections” as a chance for individuals to impart their own wisdom on their fellow citizens. It is easy to think we are doing our part by checking boxes in ballots and never having to see the bureaucracy, corruption, and threats of force that back the decisions we make at the polls—which of course, do not represent all of us, but often a minority (since voter turnout is so low). However, the most important decisions that govern our way of life and the nature of government are not left up to a vote. They are decided by central authorities and the banks and corporations that direct them. I saw some of the comments on your video.”

So do you want to put the discussion to bed about whether you are a leftist, anarchist, neocon, or whatever? Do you have a political ideology you want to share?

“I believe that the use or threat of initiatory violence is wrong, whether it is done by an individual, group, or government. This essentially means I won’t make double standards for the state, which, taken to its full extent, makes me a radical libertarian. I believe in helping others, reducing prejudice and hate, and cultivating prosperity—contrary to what most stereotypes about libertarians denote. I just recognize that the government’s track record with improving these issues is abysmal and I would prefer to effect change through persuasion as opposed to force. For example, if the average die-hard government supporter knew that soon, 3D-printed homes and food will be able to obliterate the problem of homelessness and hunger, would they still insist on taxing others to fund poorly managed and motivated bureaucracies? Humans have the ability to revolutionize and improve the world, but all too often, we conflate humanity and its potential with government.”

You do a pretty good job of listing some of the problems of George W. Obama’s third and fourth terms. Is there a political figure that you think might be able to sway the country away from the path it’s on?

“I think that at this point, after over one hundred years of central banking, total war, extreme lies and deception, and endless violations of human rights, there is no single individual that can undo all of this damage. I am not a fan of Rand Paul’s principles and many of his policies, but I recognize that he is one of the few people currently in a position to run for president with any inkling of anti-establishment tendencies. That said, to me, voting for him is still surrendering to the lesser of two evils, which is the argument I used against many Obama and Romney supporters in 2012. So while I think that he may be able to end some of the most destructive policies if elected, I don’t think anyone is capable of putting this country back in the right direction. That is a mechanism that must snowball through a heightened sense of awareness and urgency from people as they increasingly realize what their government has been up to. History shows this is always inevitable. People just have to start caring and paying attention.”

Was that shirt really your last memento of Obama? No campaign button hiding away in a little heart shaped box or anything?

“It really was! I went digging for an old “CHANGE” poster I used to have in my college dorm—the one with his solemn yet hopeful face on it—but it is still yet to be discovered. But I do wish I had another artifact so I could torch it, too!”

The video broke a million views. It isn’t a stretch to believe that this video will eventually reach a full 1% of the US population. That isn’t typical, so how does it feel to have created something that resonated so well with the public?

“It does feel very rewarding to know that so many people watched the video and that the overwhelming reaction was positive. I do understand that having Obama’s name in the title and putting fire and short shorts in the thumbnail helped, but I am grateful that most of the feedback I received was from people excited that what I said resonated with them.”

Does the number of views give you hope about the American people?

“It does! It is encouraging that there are so many people informed about the crimes of the Obama administration. I do worry that the final segment of the video—a discussion about the inherent violence of the system—fell by the wayside over the excitement of torching an Obama shirt and all of the hatred for him it roused. I think there are a lot of people who love to hate Obama (same with Bush before him) but may not recognize that his presidency is only a symptom of a system that was set up to benefit a small handful (or, the oligarchy, as Princeton determined we have). I understand the frustrations with the president and want to use people’s legitimate disdain for him as a gateway to a deeper understanding of what I view as the bigger problems.”

Is there any single point you would really like the readers to take to heart?

“Socrates said that “the secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new.” My goal is to view my life and my activism not as fighting against institutions and states, but for peace, love, justice, truth, and freedom. I’ve found that that while yes, government tends to destroy all of these virtues, it is far less productive and satisfying to be chronically angry. Instead, I can share with others the power of love and voluntary interaction (there are examples every single day!) while explaining how they are violated on a large scale. This frames the message in a completely different light from one of negativity and hate to one of progress and optimism while acknowledging the problem. I know from experience that it is difficult to be positive all the time—whether with regard to current affairs or my personal life—but I have also found that dedicating a small amount of energy toward this type of positivity makes a huge difference. I am very much like your readers in that I know and care about the injustices in the world, so while I still think it’s entirely appropriate to be outraged at what goes on, it is vital not to let that toxicity taint our inner well-being and the positive values we want to foster today and in the future.”

Carey’s views are probably not everyone’s cup of tea, but they have resonated on the web and found a ready audience among those that are no longer able to simply play partisan politics and root for their “team” to win. Carey and many others have realized their team is simply not represented by either major party.


My Links:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@careywedler
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/CareyWedler
Anti-Media: http://theantimedia.org/author/careyw1/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCs84giQmEVI8NXXg78Fvk2g
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/careywedler
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CareyWedler/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/careywedler

The Video

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
▶️ YouTube

Sort:  

AMEN.! (Not that i believe in all that amen stuff anyway) but you get my point.
With that being said, i have a small hope and belief, that Bernie could have made a better world. Maybe i´m still to dumb though.
Now... BURN THE OTHER SHIRT YOU ARE WEARING ;-)

Welcome to Steemit community Carey!

Thanks for revealing the phoney!
I have seen this video the first time you released it on Youtube! I still enjoy watching it!

Yea he did a lot of disappointing things but don't hate the player hate the game. Joining the Obama hate club doesn't really advance progressive goals, it kind of is a step in the wrong direction because it distracts from how bad things are now under the Trump administration.

3:05 My finger will forever be pointing at debt-based currencies.

Keep fighting Carey.

Thanks @careywedler. You , like me, are not lead by the Bi-partisan brainwashing we typically see among the Dems and Republicans in our country.

Shoot, after seeing that Obama video above... @everittdmickey will probably be back here LOL
signature_2 (1).gif

Such wise words. I hope more listen to you. Your spreading a grand message 💯🐒

OMG an xsupporter of Obama who dresses and acts like a bimbo.