Bug Elimination Help

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

Hi fellow natural medicine enthusiasts and gurus!

I’m looking for some help on ways to help kill or remove bugs on our deck and in our unit.

The Problem

So my wife @ssiena is terrified of bugs and these past few years we’ve gotten way more of the little pains in the ass, these past 2 especially. We live in a condo complex that is adjacent to a very large river so there are things you have to kind of expect when in that type of environment. We have lots of wildlife and great plants and such but the downside to that are obnoxious bugs. I love seeing the pollinators and others but there’s these really annoying black flying bugs that swarm onto our damn building like the plague. I open the door to our deck and have to do it twice, once to scare the bugs off the door and surrounding area, the second time to actually go out lol I have no idea what type of bug they are specifically, I tried searching but none look correct. We also get silverfish which are brutal since they scare the hell out of you.

This is a picture of the lovely view we have from our deck. Beautiful but with some caveats lol

51BBC525E37A4D19BA28FEA2B9AB93B1.jpeg

Ultrasonic Repellant Dangerous?

So the crux of the post here is does anyone know or have experience with an ultrasonic repellant device? I don’t want to put a quasi 5G device in my home that’s just awful for the human body since we have a toddler.

Possible device we are looking at

So the reviews we have looked at seem ok but with something like this, it’s difficult to search the webs and not find sponsored stuff to make it look glamorous. Has anyone used this type of stuff? I don’t want to introduce something into our house that will be damaging to the toddler and his rapidly growing body. Personally for me, I just kill the bugs I see inside the house but it’s like a horror movie for my wife. Have to do what I can to alleviate that stress on her.

Last year I tried to grab a couple smelly plants for our deck but they didn’t really help much. It was a citronella type smell but not exactly citronella. I liked the smell but the bugs didn’t seem to mind it. That was a fail lol thankfully we are just approaching June so maybe if I have to I can add a plant to the deck but we are at a loss for what we can do to get rid of these bugs but not end up hurting more than anything.

Connect with me!
Did you enjoy this post or my other posts? Please consider following me for more! @cmplxty

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 1,280 PRE tokens, with a market value of $17.93. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


peak.JPG

Still using hive.blog? Upgrade! PeakD is a much better user-interface, gives loads more information at your fingertips and has some of the best developers behind it. Give it a try, go to www.peakd.com and see how much easier it is. You just need to use Hivesigner or Peaklock some of the most secure ways to log into other Hive frontends.

Sort:  

I would def NOT recommend the ultrasonic - it is harmful to all pests and people - dogs in particular find it painful. We have no idea yet what it does to YOUR brain function.

All bugs have their place. Go with more-different fragrant plants and some fans - many bugs don't like the moving air. Make a water feature which attracts dragonflies and stock it with larvae-eating little fish. Dragonflies are voracious bug eaters.

And plant fruit trees, which attract fruit bats - the little fruit bats are stunning pollinators and also eat huge amounts of insects. More BIRDS in general will help. So build a bird feature and make sure you have food for them.

If your wife screams at the thought of bats, get a new one. LOL. 😆

Thanks for the feedback! Thankfully we’ve never had a bat in our house so I think we can assume neither of us would be thrilled to have one, but it’s too rare that it wouldn’t matter we would get it out lol

So living in a condo, we don’t have the ability to plant fruit trees. I mean I could I think, but I don’t plan on living here long enough to enjoy the trees anyways (<1 year hopefully, maybe 2). We do have lots of bats around, I hear them using echo location in the early mornings and in the evenings but these bugs love the sunlight. I will take a picture of the little buggers today.

I looked at the product and it’s rated for 20-40 hertz which is weird because some say megahertz which is high beyond that. I wouldn’t mind 20-40 hertz but megahertz is wildly above the range for WiFi, so I can’t imagine how bad that is.

So we took some pictures of the little buggers and the slaughter that ensued.

Got a closeup of one of them, I can’t tell what it is; is it a fly? Is it a beetle? Oi!

sz2udu.jpg

They are swarming on our side of the place. That’s our other bedroom window and there’s dozens of them on there!

qhratm.jpg

I think we killed probably 50 of them and they still kept coming and swarming. It was driving me nuts!

I think I may have figured out the problem though. They love the gutter and I’m going to go out on a limb and assume that the condo association we live in doesn’t clean them every year so I’m going to get up on a ladder (gracefully and safely as possible lol) to give it a look. I bet I’ll find all kinds of shit up there and hopefully can clean some of it out maybe.
tlg0rz.jpg