When I was a little girl I had a rag doll

in #dolls7 years ago

When I was a little girl I had a rag doll, like in this song.
You don't know that song? I've left a bonus at the end of this post so you can catch up.

It wasn't my only doll, I had a few, I remember how much I enjoyed dolls when I was five.
Dolls are great for kids.
Playing dolls helps to develop their cognitive, fine motor, self-help and pretend play skills.
But that's for kids.
I'm not a kid anymore but...

I still love dolls



BJD
Yes, that's a doll. Her name is Marion.

We've used to associate a word "doll" with a rough and simple rag doll. Like this one:

Rag doll

No, I'm not talking about that kind of dolls.

Have you ever heard about Ball Joined Dolls?

If all you have on your mind is soccer, weed and inflated human size toy, then no, you are wrong.
Grow up.
I mean real dolls, like Marion. She came from GRANADO, a studio specialized in making ball jointed dolls in China.

"A ball-jointed doll is any doll that is articulated with ball and socket joints. In contemporary usage when referring to modern dolls, and particularly when using the acronyms BJD or ABJD, it usually refers to modern Asian ball-jointed dolls."

In following posts I'm going to present not any BJDs, but most beautiful and amazing pieces of art that can be found among them. If you are curious, follow me. If not, follow me anyway, I'm not a crazy girl with dolls, they are just pretty. I have other fields of interest so hopefully you won't be bored to death.

BONUS:
Title is a quote from "River Deep, Mountain High" by Ike & Tina Turner
That piece of awesomeness was performed by various artists,
but what I would like to share with you is this one:


Performed by Celine Dion in 1994.
I know, right? Dinosaurs walked the earth not long before it was recorded.
Trust me. That's not the same Celine your grandma likes to listen.

Marion doll photograph courtesy of the GRANADO with explicit permission to use on my blog.

Sort:  

That version is nice too, but I prefer one performed by Deep Purple on "The Book of Taliesyn" :-)

I know Deep Purple but I think it's the first time I hear about "The Book of Taliesyn" and definitely the first time I hear that they were playing Tina Turner's covers! :D

Sure, I will follow you, it would be nice to see the art pieces you find in your way.

Thanks, you won't be disappointed :)

Congratulations @decentral! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!