Will you boycott Blizzard after how they punished a competitor for supporting Hong Kong protests?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Will you boycott Blizzard after how they punished a competitor for supporting Hong Kong protests?


  • Yes

  • No

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • Yes

Well I would if I played any of their games. They are bowing to political pressure to maintain their business, but we need people like them to take a stand against bad governments.

I uninstalled all the blizzard games on my machine yesterday.

Good for you. Is this being talked about on gaming forums? Of course some people will find it hard to give up games they have invested a lot of time in.

It's all over the gaming subs on Reddit.

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

I was stop play they games long time back ..all of them, and I feel more free.

Voted for

  • Yes

Lol. This was the question I was going to ask. You beat me to it.
I don't buy many Blizzard games but now I wont be for sure until they address this.

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Their political views and/or actions does not matter for me.
Their games do. Heroes of the Storm is one of my favorite games.
Some people even uninstalled all the Blizzard games on their computers (just/only because of this), which is ridiculous.
Blizzard would need to do a serious (very bad) thing personally to me to make me boycott them.

No man is an island. If you don't stand up for other people's rights you cannot expect to maintain your own.

I did not wrote that I do not stand up for other people's rights. Actually I support the Hong Kong protesters. But I will not boycott Blizzard, nor their video games, if they do not support them (or even if they are against them). I enjoy their video games (at least the Heroes of the Storm) regardless of their political views and actions.

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • No

No. I am firmly of the opinion that companies and corporations should be apolitical. Too many are trying to virtue-signal these days but I think politics and business should remain separate.

I see their actions against the gamer/activist as defending their apolitical status, rather than a kow-towing to China.

Enforcement of apoliticism among participants is political, it is authoritarian. Every major website on the internet is owned by a corporation; enforced apoliticism is what you have on Chinese internet. If corporations enforced apoliticism there would be no free speech anywhere online and even in meatspace it would be very limited.

With enforced apoliticism, there is always the status quo.

Also, while they might claim to be enforcing apoliticism in a neutral way, their apology to the Chinese state was supremely political:

I was of the impression that the player was of a particular rank, effectively a contracted and paid competitor / employee who was bound by a code of conduct - though I concede I have not researched the incident deeply.

That official statement was pretty poorly worded and it does sound political. Their PR department needs a kick up the backside.

FWIW I support the HK protesters. I just think politics has no place in business, nor sport, nor schools.....the list is long. I'm not talking about apolitical enforcement, I am talking about neutrality.

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • No