The Quarantine Chronicles: Day 4 - More of the same, and something completely different

So here we are, on Hive. It's amazing how much things have changed in the past four years. Four years I was on Steemit. I remember the day I found out about it. I literally dropped what I was doing and went and signed up right then. Back in those days it was a huge pain just to get an image into a post. Uploading to an external site, then linking back to your post, half the time it wouldn't even work. The post rewards were out of this world too. Those were the days.

Now here I am in lockdown, typing on my wife's computer, on Hive.

I'm really excited about Hive, I think it's going to be incredible, and finally actually something controlled by the community.

So anyhow, my day was pretty boring to be honest. I slept in so hard, because it's tough to find motivation right now. There is nothing to do so there is no big reason to wake up. It kinda sucks, and it's not good for us, so we decided tomorrow we are gonna wake up early, around sunrise, so that we can spend the few precious minutes we have on our balcony when the sun shines directly on it. We'll make a nice breakfast and listen to some music and feel the sun on our faces, it's gonna be awesome.

Being locked down like this really makes you appreciate those types of things. We live on the shady side of the street so it's been really hard for us to get any sun on our skin during this time, it's crazy how depressed that will make you when you aren't used to it.

We are trying not to read too much news about the virus right now because it's the only thing that we can see right now, and it just get's worse every day, but it's hard to avoid. We have a friend here who has pneumonia very bad right now, she is sure she had the virus because she had all of the symptoms but the doctors refused to test her, so now she is just stuck dealing with pneumonia and all the symptoms of Covid 19. Plus she is stuck in her home with her husband and 2 little kids, it makes us nervous. Another friend we know is dealing with their four year old son trying to get his leukemia treatment. The doctors have postponed his treatment for three weeks because of the virus but they can't postpone it anymore, he needs to go to the hospital. The only problem is that the hospitals are so overrun already that they have taken over three entire floors of the children's hospital just to house Covid 19 patients, three entire floors, of a children's hospital, and he's going in there tomorrow with an immune system of basically zero and fighting leukemia, the disease that killed my sister.

I mean I want to be positive but all I can think is how is he gonna survive?

And then I go and check the news and Italy officially has 200 more deaths than China, with only half of china's total cases, and Spain is catching up.

It's hard to stay positive right now. And it's really scary seeing our friends in danger, and not really being sure what will happen. Its crazy how comfortable we've become in the modern world, so many of us feel invincible because of antibiotics and hospitals and modern medicine. Watching the hospitals become overrun is such a reality check. A couple months ago I was seeing photos online of China rapid building hospitals in wuhan and thinking "Man that's incredible, why are they doing that?"

Yeah, we know why now.

Italy recorded over five thousand cases today, Spain over three thousand. Can you imagine five thousand people just getting sick and going to the hospital in one day? Even if it was one thousand, can you imagine the waiting time? And all the time you're waiting your chance of dying goes up.

Well, I think I'm gonna go have a drink, there was quite a bit of food in the shop today, I got one of the last packs of eggs, and there was a lot of meat, so we are still doing ok. They were pretty low on booze though. Almost out of wine, which in Spain is insane to say, not a beer in sight, and of all the hard stuff there was amaretto and two bottles of rum, so I grabbed the rum (just one bottle, I'm not a heartless bastard). Gonna have a drink.

Good night

Sort:  

This whole situation is just crazy!

The corona virus situation or the Steemit/Hive situation? Or both? hahaha. Either way, yeah, it's pretty crazy.