Beer Diary - Canadian Local Beer VS Japanese Lager

in BEER2 months ago (edited)

[日本語は後半にあります]

Over the Easter long weekend, I had big plans to relax and enjoy a beer. However, I ended up diving into spring cleaning instead, leaving me either bustling around or crashing into bed from exhaustion. Plus, with my current menopausal woes, my body isn't exactly in the mood for beer right now.
How sad... haha

Today, I'm sharing some beers I had weeks before.
Thanks to my boss, who’s been helping me with my…well his beer photo, I have lots of stocks of my beer photos haha.

First up is Function Junction Northwest Pale Ale from Whistler Brewing Company, another local gem. Whistler, known for its nature and ski resorts, serves up this refreshing brew with 4.8% alcohol by volume. It's full-bodied, delicious bitterness, yet incredibly thirst-quenching – so much so that I found myself craving another one.

As always, lacking proper beer glasses, I settled for pouring it into a mason jar for the photo again. It's the same style served at a brewery and pub near my workplace, so I tried to mimic the presentation. With its ample capacity, it easily accommodates a long can – might as well stick with this glass…

I strive to capture the beer foam in a delectable way. What do you think?

Did Pepper give it the paw of approval? Hehe

Next up, my daughter treated me to a Sapporo Premium, a classic Japanese brew. While I'm supposed to have a soft spot for Japanese beers (I’m Japanese) like Sapporo and Kirin according to my daughter, having moved to Canada at 20, I don't particularly pine for it 😅. But hey, free beer is always a good deal, so I keep that to myself.

This beer boasts a 5% alcohol content, yet its taste is remarkably clean and crisp. It's the perfect accompaniment to a hearty meal and occasion like cherry blossom viewing and a BBQ feast.

Interestingly, I discovered that this Sapporo Beer is actually brewed in Canada 😅
It's a bit surprising, almost like ahhhhh WHAT?
… but you know…I wasn’t missing it, so it's all good😆

While it didn't produce much foam, its beautiful golden amber colour still made it a sight to behold.

Well, that wraps up this week's beer diary.
Here's hoping my beer cravings return soon... cheers!


🍺🍺🍺


[Japanese]

先週末はイースターで4連休でした。
ゆっくりビールをいただく予定でしたが、スプリングクリーニングなんて始めてしまったので、バタバタ動き回っているか、エネルギー切れで寝ているかの4日間でした。しかも体調がすぐれず(ただの更年期障害です)只今ビールを欲しない身体になっています。
なんて悲しい…笑

今日紹介するビールは先週と先々週いただいたものです。ボスのおかげで自分のビールの写真がたまっていました。

まずは、Whistler Brewing Company のFunction Junction Northwest Pale Ale
こちらもローカルビールです。ウィスラーと言えば自然とスキーリゾートで有名です。アルコール分は4.8%、コクがあり、苦味の美味しいビールでした。もう1本欲しくなっちゃうくらい美味しかったです。

相変わらずビール用のグラスがないのでメイソンジャーに注いで写真を撮りました。実はこれ、勤め先の近くにあるブルワリー&バブでこうしてビールを出しているので真似してみたんです。
ロング缶一本分まるまる入るので、グラスはもうこれで良いかもしれない…

ビールの泡を美味しそうに撮ることを目指しています。どうでしょう?
ペッパーにはOKをもらった?みたいです、笑

次にいただいたビールはサッポロプレミアム。
娘が買ってきてくれました。
どういうわけか、私は日本のビールを懐かしいと思っている…ことになっているようで、娘が時々買ってきてくれます。でも私は20歳でカナダに来てしまったので、日本のビールは特に懐かしくはないのです😅
でもフリービールなんてお得なので娘には内緒です、笑

アルコール分5%ですが、スッキリシャッキっとしたお味のビールです。
ガッツリな食事をいただく時はこれくらいスッキリしたビールが欲しくなります。焼き肉とか…焼き肉とかね…外でお花見&BBQしたいなぁ〜

ちょっと調べてみたらこのサッポロビール、カナダ製でした😅
なんだろう…ちょっと裏切られた気分…笑
いや…懐かしくないからいいんだけれども…

上手く泡が立ちませんでしたが、キレイな淡い琥珀色です。

では、今週はこの辺で…
早くビールを欲する身体が戻りますように…笑

Sort:  

春のクリーニング、カナダにもあるのですね。ドイツもです。こちらは暖かくはなってきてはいるものの寒さが戻ってきてなかなかビールを飲めずです。気候の変化も激しいですし、ゆっくり行きましょう🍺

一本目の缶かっこいいです😊

こちらも寒さが戻って今朝の気温は5度でした。
春のクリーニング…まだまだ終わりそうにありません😭ぼちぼち行きます。
缶のデザインでビールを選ぶもの楽しいです😊

ナイスボス&娘さん!

日本のビールを懐かしいと思っている…ことになっている



娘さん優しいですね😂ペッパーの顔が映っている写真もかわいらしい!

色んな人の協力で安く!😆楽しく記事を書くことが出来て幸せですね☺️

あー今回も楽しいビールダイアリーをありがとうございます!
Function Junction Northwest Pale Aleは缶のデザインが素敵〜!さすがスキーリゾートのビール、という感じがします。
カナダのサッポロビール、缶のデザインが硬派ですね😆私はカナダ製のサッポロビールすごく飲んでみたいです。そして焼肉とか食べたいです!あと思いつくのは焼肉とか、焼肉とか!

ビールダイアリーを読んでくださってありがとうございます!
日本語でサッポロプレミアムと検索したら、検索結果はアルコールフリーばかりで、同じデザインの物は国外販売商品と書かれていました。サッポロビールがカナダ製だなんて不思議な気分です。
こちらではビーチや公園でBBQをする光景はよく見かけるのですが、公共の場所でお酒を飲めることになったのがつい最近で、お花見をしながらお酒をいただく習慣がないんです。場所も限られていて勝手がわからないので、まだお花見&焼き肉ビールは試せていません😭桜が咲いている場合が指定の場所かも分からずです。いつかトライしてみたいです。

そうそう!海外って「公共の場所で飲酒する」って珍しいというか、あまりないんですよね。
日本は本当に自由に公共の場所でお酒も飲めるしタバコも吸えてしまうし、ちょっと甘すぎる感じがしています😅
今日は久しぶりによく晴れた日曜日ですから、きっとお花見のできる公園はものすごい賑わいになっていると思います(私は花粉症で外出拒否症です)

They look beautiful!

Aren’t they? Right?
They were yummy too!