Learning African Roots in Japan?

in ReggaeJAHMlast year (edited)

A0F7744F-C9DE-448D-B420-700C7574ACFC.png

Last weekend while taking the kids to the park, something interesting happened.we went to the indoor space where events are held and to our surprise, they were doing a workshop on African children’s games.

Now, over the past couple of days this has got me thinking. What added to that thinking was listening to a Minister Farrakhan speech. Africans living in the west don’t know about their own roots and culture. We have been robbed of everything down to our names.

Just imagine, a group of Japanese people who visited various African countries ( Malawi 🇲🇼 is one I remember them saying ) teaching us about games and activities played in the motherland. But in no way am I blaming anyone as I could have researched these activities myself online. But it never really dawned on me.

6D91E045-1654-4CD7-B89D-6A01A589733D.jpeg

446FBED7-AB0A-4537-9013-105977EA734A.jpeg

It’s kind of sad to think that I couldn’t tell you where in Africa my roots are from but I have a feeling it’s Ghana due to its clear path to the Caribbean and how the name just resonates with me.

During the Transatlantic Slave Trade era, which lasted from the 16th to the 19th century, the majority of slaves taken from Africa came from West and Central Africa. Countries such as Senegal, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, Cameroon, Gabon, Congo, Angola, and Mozambique were significant sources of enslaved Africans. The exact numbers and origins of slaves transported from Africa are difficult to determine, but it is estimated that between 10 to 12 million Africans were forcibly brought to the Americas during the slave trade.

Source: ChatGpt

A166F403-8543-4768-8AC0-FC0CB6F9006E.jpeg

AC4F13D1-2E52-4CFB-B30A-174567AEA42B.jpeg

But let’s not dwell on the past and being the victim. Let’s see the games we learnt from the motherland during this workshop.

This first game we played was a soccer game using bottle stoppers and a crushed piece of paper. Tape was used to define the parameters and 🥅. You had to use your finger to hit or position a bottle stopper to strategically score goals. Now interestingly this same game in some form or another was played in Jamaica 🇯🇲 during my childhood days. I think the lack of and cost of board games in the new world Bobylon Caribbean necessitated the creativity to create these games. They are fun and can be played with simple objects one could find around the house/community.
60D408CF-1D5A-443D-B6FD-7DAAC9C0643E.jpeg

FE19CB6B-32EC-4B44-B425-FC7D6166A0D3.jpeg

2E2DA3DC-7EF6-4C63-9B76-0717185DE4DE.jpeg

5B0D0B76-D6D9-4415-96D6-3392E433A4E6.jpeg

The other game we played used bottle stoppers as well as plastic bottle caps. Now this was something I had never seen before. The game was played by piling a bunch of bottle stoppers and caps in the center of a cloth made into a small square and then each player got three bottle stoppers they had to use to smash them out of the square. Any of te caps that came out of the square due to your smash was your points. It’s a very simple but fulfilling and fun game.

B46129A2-7076-49FB-9FFD-1F8F164AF519.jpeg

953ACCC6-978E-4683-8BC7-6A2B0B920E80.jpeg

F4E4869F-78C6-4B47-9A12-A078C0F6A05F.jpeg

To warm down from all the excitement of the games, they did a little crafty work using string, cloth and cardboard to make a spinner instrument that was wined up and spun to make an interesting noise. The kids didn’t enjoy this as much but it was interesting to see.

933D1582-282E-4DDF-B45A-92A7493C948D.jpeg

EC1C5B99-B26D-4DDD-A2E1-5EAD3B58A3B7.jpeg

It’s interesting how the universe shows you things. And I think I was in the right place at the right time as I have been thinking more of my roots lately especially in the form of praying to my ancestors for guidance.

Are any of these games familiar to you? Until next time, Bless 🆙

D20CDD50-9D54-4BEA-B16D-A85C900BEAC7.png

spotify.png twitter.png youtube.png Instagram.png 140804979-0ef11e0d-d527-43c1-93cb-0f48d1aec542.png

Sort:  
 last year  

Especially the game with smashing the bottlecaps looks real fun. Simple, but explosive.

In the end it doesn't matter who brings the culture to you, what matters is that it got there.

 last year  

Yeah it is quite the stress reliever 😂
True dat, I'm grateful that I could experience these games. Without them I'd probably never have learnt.

 last year  

!LOL, have you been to any African countries before? I'm thinking of visiting at least one soon. At least, one of them where we don't need Visa.

What did the shark say when he ate the clownfish?
This tastes a little funny.

Credit: reddit
@dmilliz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @rarej

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

 last year  

It’s interesting how the universe shows you things. And I think I was in the right place at the right time as I have been thinking more of my roots lately especially in the form of praying to my ancestors to guidance.

Same happens with me, as I often reflect on a lot that's going on and how I handled certain situations and think of how to deal with new challenges and in one way or another I get an answer without having to ask it out loud.

 last year  

First of all, thank for pointing out that grammatical mistake 😂.

I find it quite powerful when talking to self, ( while not actually taking out loud) which is talking to God and the ancestors, the energy flow. Yeah is like the calmer we get the easier we seee the guidance. Powerful stuff.

 last year  

First of all, thank for pointing out that grammatical mistake 😂.

🙈

I find it quite powerful when talking to self, ( while not actually taking out loud) which is talking to God and the ancestors, the energy flow.

Never thought about it in that way.

Hey, enjoy the weekend! 😊

 last year  

!LUV

Congratulations @dmilliz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 11000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 12000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - February 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

How good that you were able to share with your children in that space, to live the experience of other cultures is the best thing that can exist, to know our roots is a wonderful light in the clarity of our consciences, happy day brother.
.

 last year  

This is quite interesting. It must had been a lovely time for your family. I can understand that Japan probably isn’t where you’d have expected to have such an experience. I’d love to visit a country in Africa, maybe Ghana as well. I’ve heard that they are so many similarities there to the culture of Jamaica. Just a few years ago, I met someone from Malawi by a train station. We met up a few times before she headed back home. She would have been happy to see a part of her culture here. Thanks for sharing. Respect.

Actually no, but I am pretty old...
On the other hand...
Good to see You my friend @dmillz !
And Good to see You with the family!
I can personally attest to things that will be shown to you! 👀
Have an Amazing Week!
🙋🏻‍♀️✨🌄✨🙋🏻‍♀️