Presenting Steemian.Info - A Concise Steemit Information Website

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Logo 2 Steemit-400x400.png

Finding information on Steemit can be overwhelming and reaching all the users with vital information is a challenge. In the last couple weeks, I've been busy working on a little website project that consolidates some recurring information and FAQs. Many bloggers have written about some important subjects over and over, but despite that, not all users are benefiting from those posts. There's a limit to what followers and resteems can do, for example in the event of a new scam.

One weakness of Steem is the lack of editing after the payout, thus many informational posts often become obsolete after a while, without the possibility of editing them. The only way is to write new updated posts, which causes more problems in tracking and condensing the information. What's more, for some reason, many of the embedded images get deleted or become missing from Steemit's image host after a while! I've had this issue on several of my old posts.

So I thought to myself, why not pool essential resources together and present them to the users under one reference roof? Therefore, I present to you:

Steemian.Info

The concise information resource about the Steem blockchain
https://steemian.info

It's a non-profit project to help the users get organized and important information about the Steem platform. So far, the site's layout is:


General Information
  • First Login - Important notes before the first login
  • Sign-up FAQ - Answers to the common sign-up problems and delays
  • Steemit FAQ - The official FAQ from Steemit.com
  • Steem Whitepaper - Steem blockchain technicalities (August 2017)
  • Steem Bluepaper - Short and simplified whitepaper
Security
  • Account Security - How to handle your account securely
  • Keys Demystified - Understanding the differences between each Steem keys
Witness Stuff
  • Witness FAQ - What are witnesses, their rewards and requirements
  • Witness Voting Guide - How to vote for witnesses
  • Active Witnesses - List of active witnesses and their settings
Communities
  • Minnow Support Project (MSP) - For helping new users

I'd like to expand it with sections about spam, scams, abuse, communities, artists, etc... If you wish to contribute to the website, you can write your article (condensed material from your own posts and others) and contact me on Steemit.Chat or PAL Discord. Preferably, the articles should embody all relevant information without being too long. I'm open to all ideas and suggestions to improve the site.

If you would like to promote your project or community, write a few paragraphs about it and I'll gladly add it to the site.

If any artists would like to make a site logo, that would be nice too.

Translations are welcome, contact me if you have time to translate the site so we can reach more communities.

I hope you enjoy it and find it useful.



Are you a visual artist? Join the Steem Artists Guild.
We are on Discord at https://discord.gg/CY9u65g

Proud member and delegator of the @minnowsupport project.
Join us on https://discord.gg/GpHEEhV

MSPPAL


Follow

Available & Reliable. I am your Witness. I want to represent You.

🗳 If you like what I do, consider voting for me 🗳

Vote

If you never voted before, I wrote a detailed guide about Voting for Witnesses.

Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses. My name is listed in the Top 50. Click the upvote symbol.

Alternatively,

with cli_wallet : vote_for_witness "YOURACCOUNT" "drakos" true true
with steem-python: steempy approvewitness drakos --account YOURACCOUNT

Sort:  

Thanks for the link, Drakos. I'll add this to your witness write-up when I get to it (unless my memory fails me...)

Thanks sharing! Links to your site and post were included in the Steem.center wiki page Steem Ecosystem:S-Steemis. Thanks and good luck again!

Wow that's great. Thanks.

Congratulations @drakos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good stuff. Can you add the veterans project for supporting military veterans? I'll send you info on chat.

Of course. If you want you can write a couple paragraphs describing your community and I'll make a page for it.

It looks good. Yes, it is a bit of an issue still for Steemit that info seems to be a bit haphazard on various links and pages... but i guess that is normal. Has anyone done a video intro/tutorial about Steemit? Or I guess if there was one it would have to be updated like every few months. Ty

I hope this can be of use to new steemians, although I think many just sign up and start dumping content in without the RTF step. Upvoted & resteemed.

@gtg may have a trove of invaluable account & key info/security advice. I don't know if I've anything you could use, but you're welcome to help yourself to anything I've written that may be useful on your site, if you give attrib on page contribs just link back to me, otherwise you still have permission to use anything I've written for the purpose of user advice on your site.

Indeed, a lot of users think that Steem is an easy platform like other social media where they can sign up and start blogging. But in a way, I blame Steemit.com for not underligning the complexity of this blockchain, that's why people end up making a lot of mistakes.

I'm aware of gtg's writings (I actually referred one of his posts), the website is work in progress, I'll be gathering more topics and condensing them into additional pages. Of course, if I'm not the author I give credit to the original posts. Thanks for your offer, I'll check out your blog see if I can find something useful.

Thank drakos. good post

Good information, thaks for that drakos.

I'm voting for you my witness :D

Very useful, specially for new people (like me) and those who have been here a while yet still dont know all of this. Thank you drakos

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @drakos! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Awesome if we keep this clear and concise I woukd this

Thanks for putting all this information together in one place, most useful.

We would love for OLAAT project to be added to the communities tab if that is ok?

Thanks for all you do.

Of course, gladly. Message me the info about OLAAT and I'll add a page for it.

Thanks drakos, much appreciated. I'll send info on chat. <3