For the Love of Apples

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

apples edited 1.jpg

The Hunt

We promised ourselves to take it slow with the farming for the end of the year, but picking apples isn't real work, right?

It's almost like pouring water from a tap, or switching on the cotton candy machine, it's easy like...picking up a fruit with your bare hands I guess 😁.
I don't think I will pick all the apples, just because we need to feed the surrounding birds, wasps, hornets; the way I see it: If they're busy with the tree, they aren't bothering me.

apples edited 2.jpg

There were some areas that weren't really accessible, and sometimes the apples were just too high to reach, I will come back for them with a ladder.
We barely spend time on this side of the property, I am still thinking of planting more trees in a near future,

apples edited 9.jpg

Hnet-image (1).gif

apples edited 8.jpg

Trail found

As we don't spend much time on that side of the property, more wild life is coming and going every days, and few clues led us to a trail.

There are always the usual fox , deer, and boars drops on this field. This the very same field where I found one of our chicken (ninja), rest in peace.
We can't see it very well on the pics, but there is a trail that created a pathway, down to the road.

apples edited 3.jpg

apples edited 4.jpg

Something seems to have dragged a muddy prey across the road. Of course, we don't have anyone showing us the sings, so it's a lot of guessing. The prey was probably the size of a rabbit, we thought it could also be a bike that had a muddy wheel, but it would have left a tire mark.

apples edited 5.jpg

apples edited 7.jpg

Right at the level of the track, with founds more scats, inside a hole. Could that be a badger? They are the only animals that poop in holes, that I know of. This is where I get my info from.

apples edited 11.jpg

apples edited 10.jpg

Jacky was observing us from afar, from a shady spot 😁 where he could still enjoy our company.

apples edited 15.jpg

Funny, because the next day, Jack chose a similar spot, it looks like he hasn't moved from one day to the other.

Hnet-image (2).gif

We've filled up a basket very quickly, and one thing I've learnt with potatoes, don't dig up too many at once, because you might end up with rotten food. For now we are making a lot of compotes, which you call "applesauce" in English if I am correct.

apples edited 14.jpg

apples edited 16.jpg

I really enjoy easy work, so when the big apples are easy to reach, I am not going to complain.

apples edited 12.jpg

Hnet-image (3).gif

apples edited 13.jpg

What I have noticed though, is that on the side that gets most of the sunlight, the apples are red, and sweet! We already turned these ones into an apple pie once, which needed very little sugar, if you have any apple related recipe, don't hesitate to share it in the comment section!

This is filling up nicely. This rack is normally filled with wine bottles, but lately we've been focusing on fruits a lot (don't worry we still love wine 😁) more, drinking also a lot of carrot juice and tomato juice, excellent anti oxidant, people that knows me, knows that I talk about graphene oxide all day, especially since you can find it in the jab, masks, hydrogel, etc... Don't listen to me, I am just rambling.

apples edited 17.jpg

This is the famous compote:

apples edited 18.jpg

apples edited 20.jpg

There is a hectare, that is left discarded. For those that remember a garden journal from few months ago, I was talking about some more work to do with vines on fruit trees. Well this is a pear tree, which barely yielded any fruits this year, and an apple tree next to it.

I might cut it all during winter, when the grass is lower, and less chances of getting stung by wasps and hornets...Speaking of which...

Privats vs Asian Hornets

apples edited 21.jpg

I can't really blame them, look how juicy they look. I give you that I might have edited all the pictures, photoshoped them, just to make it all look extra yummy, but still, if I were a hornet, I would straight up dive into that tree, which they did by the way.

apples edited 23.jpg

It makes life a little hard, as every time I pick an apple, I have to be very careful that there isn't a hornet in it, otherwise it's game over 😁. Though our buddy @rubido got stung at least 4 times the other day and was just fine, but the beers eased the pain I am sure, what a warrior! I ain't taking no risk.

apples edited 22.jpg

Let me know if you can stop the hornet on the picture below:

apples edited 24.jpg

apples edited 25.jpg

As you can see, a neighbour dropped us pumpkins, it was for the potatoes we gave to everyone last month. Great to see that people still remember my potatoes :) I still have some more if anyone is interested!

On that good note, check a miracle that happened today, which has nothing to do with anything, but I thought was pretty cool.

Voilà, that's it for today, now let's eat some apples!

Hnet-image (4).gif

Sort:  

I would say that picking apples isn't work, it's a fall time activity. In Canada there are all kinds of places where you pay good money to go pick your own apples and it usually cost more than just buying them at the market or grocery store. It's kind of crazy really but it's super common this time of year Hahaha. That and visiting a pumpkin patch to pick out a pumpkin to carve into a Jack o Lantern for Halloween

 2 years ago  

What's up leaky ^^ what? And people pay money just to pick them up? Come to think of it there were something similar where I came from, but never thought it would be more expensive, a good way to make money of city people 😁.

Oh man, the JAck O Lantern experience might be something we do again this year, it's always a lot of fun. Thanks for passing by!

Beautiful post, I enjoyed a lot, imagining myself walking on those fields and picking apples, my favorite fruit. Thank you for sharing.

 2 years ago  

Hey @cesarj21 thanks for your comment, I hope you felt like your were there a little! Cheers!

Hey! Long time. Good to see you are living life to the max. Those apples look amazing! The ones at the end of my road are still green, not ripe yet, but anytime now. They're wild so I'm always reluctant to pluck them. Maybe I'll attempt it this year. Otherwise I'd have to wait till I go to Kent.

This guy has the right idea! :)

 2 years ago  

Hahaha yes this guy knows what's up!

Good to hear from you mate, how is life?

They're wild so I'm always reluctant to pluck them

Yeah we got some pretty nasty ones too, we discard them and keep the prettier. I also like to leave some for the birds, otherwise they come eat the chicken food.

Cheers! What are you busy with at the moment?

Most of my time spent not working is with my parents. My dad needs some help with physio while recovering from age-related injury... and sitting waiting on crypto to moon :)

 2 years ago  

Oh wow, you're a good man. Yeah man the market is about to go crazy right now!

Look at that happy face! Not yours, your adorable kiddos. To think that smile is all about apples. And the best kind. Are you going to make ACV? Please don't say no. We've been up the mulberry tree today. After all my lectures to the children to not get stained guess who got covered in purple.....

 2 years ago  

Lol I had to go check what's ACV just to make sure haha.

Well, I've never tried before, is it hard?

Oh yeeees the mulberries, I'll remember them for the rest of my life, because we were picking them the day we decided to move to France! I remember that day like it was yesterday, we filled up bags of mulberries, and made pies 😁

I always like the albinos ones 🤣, they are the sweeter, but of course we end up with stains too :) cheeeeeeeeeeers!

That's a lot of apples! 😀

 2 years ago  

Hey buddy! Yes, and there are more to come still! Don't hesitate to share any recipes, we did applesauce and apple pie a lot, maybe we should try caramelised apples. Cheers!

 2 years ago  

Ah, you people talk about Australia being dangerous - HORNETS????? What the actual flying aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh. One of my fave memories was Dad and I picking wild apples when my son was 4. Dad's up the tree piffing them to us and they were splatting on the road and we were SCREAMING at him to 'throw slower' - Jarrah was crying with laughter and squealing GRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNDDDDAAAAADDDDDDD!!!! Twenty years ago now and I can still taste the last of summer in those apples.

You must make apple scrap vinegar!!!

Love @riverflows



image.png
You've been curated by @gardenhive on behalf of the HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY! We support gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

 2 years ago  

Ah, you people talk about Australia being dangerous - HORNETS?????

I kid you not, when you kill one, it screams and look at you like that possessed girl in The Exorcist, spitting fire at you, and fight until its last breath. I don't even think it should be legal 😁

You must make apple scrap vinegar!!!

ooooooooh! Like...like...like...Like I forgot who...But it's farmmom I think that did a cool post about it? I've been scrolling through posts looking for it. I will find it...

Twenty years ago now and I can still taste the last of summer in those apples.

I wasn't ready for that level of beautifulness and poetry, you were being so casual about it, I was smiling a minute ago.

Dang man I'm impressed. Helluva job documenting this one.

 2 years ago  

I always know that if you say it's good, it's probably shit haha (and vice-versa).

I don't know if I should "lol" or say "nuh uh!"

Ooh! Nice reward dude. Cereal.

 2 years ago  

Ooh! Nice reward dude. Cereal.

Again! You're doing it! You're furious about the reward aren't you? 😁

No hell no. I'm stoked you're earning what you deserve. You've worked as hard as anyone. I even said Cereal.

 2 years ago  

I even said Cereal.

The cereal gave it away

I said that shit twice too, Dammit.

Good eye dude. Touché.

Hornets, I eat them for breakfast. Well at the minute it feels like I do, this fuckin flu kickin my ass.

Beer eases most pains, except a kick in the nuts. Nothin fixes that.

Apples are looking good man.

 2 years ago  

Beer always fixes any garden associated pains.

@riverflows.

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha

It certainly helps smooth things out.

Chop an ear off, you'll forget all about.... whatever you said.

Pretty sure It would just compound the issue, But if I cut them both off maybe I wouldn't hear my own screams at least.

Guess that could be the positive.

Thanks for the advice tho!

My fault dude..

Not your ear! I should've been clearer.

Dammit now it makes more sense, Guess I'm gonna have to take up painting now.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I think you can still hear, even if you cut the ear. That's actually a good fucking question, dear Van.

Sorry I cant ear a thing

 2 years ago  

this fuckin flu kickin my ass.

I see we're scared of the C word 😄

Nah Just pretty sure Its the Cats fault with all that sneezing its been doing. Could be Catvid I guess.



🎯🎯🚀🎯🎯

Your post is interesting, we have selected it to be presented to
INTERCOMMUNITY - HIVE - AFFILIATE team.

Your post will be reblogged on @Target-Post, in order to increase its notoriety and be boosted (visibility, reading, comments and rewards).


Our affiliate earn passive income by delegating to @hive-affiliate. + 75 % of the curation rewards are shared with the affiliate delegators.

If you are active we boost your rewards from + 50% to + 75% to + 100%



🚩 Read Our Guidelines to get more information

🎯🎯🚀🎯🎯


 2 years ago  

Wow that's pretty cool!! Thanks so much

It's almost like pouring water from a tap, or switching on the cotton candy machine, it's easy like..

Said like a Galway man!! We say like at the end of many sentences..

Those apples look deadly. We have apples out on my Dad's farm and they are quality, sweeter than any apple you'll buy in a shop.

 2 years ago  

I forgot food grows in Ireland 😁 too

Sorry that was too easy,

Said like a Galway man!! We say like at the end of many sentences..

I would expect to be more "it's like pouring beer from a tap" 😆 again Ed, full of clichés preconceived ideas about your country, you can thank Conor MCgregor for this.

Ha ha ha, yep we have fields here you know! 😉

Congratulations @edprivat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 10000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!