Brazilian Bossa Nova, perfect for a summer night

in #music7 years ago

@trilumia's cover of Na Bahia Tem / Cada Macaco no Seu Galho got me thinking thoughts of Brazil. So you have probably heard of The Girl from Ipanema and maybe heard the term bossa nova but then dropped it quick and forgot about it. You are missing out, friendo. Give these 5 videos a listen to sample some of the best. If you have a sleepy Sunday, watch all of Black Orpheus, which drops you right in media res of a stylized mythologized version of peak Bossa Nova Brazil. For those without such a sleepy Sunday, the below clips will give you a taste.

A Felicidade from Black Orpheus

Astrud Gilberto -- One Note Samba

Joao Gilberto -- Desafinado

Another version of A Felicidade by Astrud Gilberto, who not only for her singing, but also for her ludicrous 60's outfits, should be celebrated.

Jobim and Elis -- Aguas de Março

This is just a jumping off point for the curious and interested. Explore further at your leisure.

Sort:  

Thanks for the music inspiration! My favorite of all of these is A Felicidade by Astrud Gilberto.

I like the calm beats of the first three but can appreciate the upbeat of the last two. Astrad really puts a spin on her rendition which is nice. It's amazing how songs can have such a different feeling depending on who's singing it. Thanks for sharing!

My fave is the Desafinado by Jao Gilberto, so chill and sweet, totally perfect for a summer night!

beautiful. I used to wake up to Stan Getz every day for years. Love bossa nova/soft jazz

Nice! Don't tell my gf I got those from you okay? ;)

Sorry... I'd leave an upvote, but my voting power is down to 38%...
@pocketechange

Great work

Very nice
Fllow . Upvote

Plz support me on my page

I never upvote people who ask me to upvote. It's a bad strategy in general on Steemit.

Thanks for reply

But brother i think helping and supporting each other not bad .

you are doing a great job dude. keep up the good work mate. make steemit better. followed and upvoted.we are the one who can this platform better. best of luck for your future.

Congratulations @eeks! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's nice that you like Bossa Nova! So many good references there. Are you Brazilian? If not, you need to know also Tom Jobim and Gal Costa

Awesome music! :D