King Rafa

in #blog3 years ago

rafael-nadal-288554_640.jpg

One of my favorite sportsmen (people) of all time just cemented his already cemented legacy earlier today.

I started following Lawn Tennis because of the William sisters but in those years where they battled injuries and inconsistency, there really was no leader in the womens game for a while. We had cameo appearances of some superstars who threatened, Justin Henin being the most dominant of all, but it still wasn't enough to sustain any momentum for any individual. It was the men who kept my interest in those years.

Rafa, Federer and Djokovic have been phenomenal. It's mind boggling really to see that they've been at the top for 20 years or so and show no signs of slowing down.

Nadal's record on clay had been phenomenal, particularly at Roland Garros. I honestly do not see him slowing down in another 3 years and I expect him to extend his Grand Slam tally even further.

Also big congratulations to Oga Swatiek. I honestly didn't know much about her leading up to the tournament, but she's certainly put her name in everyone's lips. I hope her reign continues at the top.