DCity: A game that keeps on giving

in 1UP2 years ago

         It's been almost two years since I started dCity. In fact, I remember when I received my first card from @gerber.

         For reference, the timestamp of that conversation was back in February of 2020. That was before the formation of Hive. I didn't take advantage of the early entry due to the uncertainties surrounding the chain. In hindsight, I should have went in harder, but alas, it was not so.

         Over the course of 21 months, I managed a more or less top 100 city. I used to write several roleplay fiction involving dCity, but haven't kept up with it as I ran out of materials. One could say people aren't as fun as they used to. Or, they got better things to do.

         These days, it's harder to earn from your city without thinking through your set up. Taxes can be overbearing for newbies who don't know what they are doing. The main attributing factor is the fallen price of SIM against HIVE (or STEEM depending on who you talk to). But, don't let that fool you, though. While the value of SIM was 0.005 HIVE back then, it was against a $0.16 HIVE. SIM is around 0.001 HIVE right now against an $0.80 token.

         You don't actually have to play the game to earn. After all, dCity resembles more of a gamified DeFi than a literal game. One can do pretty well by holding SIM in their wallet. A 70%+ return is not bad for sitting around doing nothing. The best part, as you can see from the screenshot, the SIM you hold equates to governance power. You could influence where the rewards go with other players. If you don't care about all that, you could always participate in the Diesel Pool instead.

         So, what do I do these days? I try to obtain more war-related buildings and collect police stations. They are no longer in print, so I decided to grab as many as I can for no reason other than personal amusement. Now I've said that, someone is going to buy up all the listings on the market.


         At this moment, dCity is pretty low key. I am waiting for the next gameplay tweak involving popularity. This means, the population bonus from the said popularity will receive a nerf. This will give population cards more value again, especially individual citizens. It will also address the weirdness where our base population is tiny compare to the bonus given out. For example, my city of over 32K people has a base population of 3700 before the bonus. How's that for making sense?

         If you haven't tried out https://dcity.io/ already, you should. As long as you read the information listed there, you'll gain a basic understanding of the game.

Sort:  

Wonder if that means Cold Fusion tech will actually no longer be a nerf to your city.

There has to be a future combine with nuclear plant in dCity space edition!

Along with the AI Tech and Advanced Robotics.

These days, it's harder to earn from your city without thinking through your set up. Taxes can be overbearing for newbies who don't know what they are doing. The main attributing factor is the fallen price of SIM against HIVE (or STEEM depending on who you talk to). But, don't let that fool you, though. While the value of SIM was 0.005 HIVE back then, it was against a $0.16 HIVE. SIM is around 0.001 HIVE right now against an $0.80 token.

This. People pegging it to Hive while forgetting some players pegged their city values to USD. The market price somehow manages to readjusts itself according to the USD to be at 0.001$ levels most of the time.

It's funny, because every time HIVE pumps, the tokens on Engine dump. So, people who hold a significant amount of tokens still value things in USD.

I just got into the game recently and it has been pretty fun overall. The taxes are something else, though, at above 100% with the war tax.

That will unlikely change unless there is a huge demand for SIM like a great influx of new players buying things up.

I opened it but it seems very complicated :)
do I need to buy cards to play it?

To play, yes.

To earn. Not necessarily.

How much can I earn in Hive daily if I have 8000 sim? Thanks.

Probably around 0.016 HIVE per 8000 SIM daily right now.

Thanks!
"SIM Power is calculated from average 30 days SIM holdings. " means if I am holding 8000 sim, my sim power will be 8000 after 30 days, right?

I check in on my city once in a while and realize there are probably things I should be doing, but it's a fun little game with a several ways to earn and grow!

It’s a nice little “at your own pace” kind of game.

I thought everybody hated dcity :P

Who told yo that? jk

Yeah, I know a few who feel that way.

The holding rewards for SIM definitely seem more appealing compared to building an actual city. At least it seems like you need to really think about how you build it since you won't get much with the current taxes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, the current taxes do feel like barriers for entry. The sad part is, that can't be corrected unless SIM is heavily bought up.

create a burning mechanism .. like APE ;P

They are very different in terms of tokenomics though...so I don't think it'd work the same.

I love dCity, my new favorite activity is printing weird citizens, like creative scientists and educated artists and workers.

Dude, I love those.

I haven't been actively seeking them, but it's kinda cool seeing citizens with multiple stats building up.

How is war building doing? What should I purchase to maximize my profit in dcity ? Thx

Profiting off of city income is extremely difficult right now. You will probably fare better playing the market, holding, or participate in the liquidity pool.

If you actually want to build a city right now, it needs tax reduction buildings such as law firms and churches. Then, there are % income increase cards such as mining to help along.

Even with those upgrades, I am only able to take in like 300 SIMs out of over 17K produced by my city a day.

When the war tax is on, it helps to have those war buildings. As you can see in the screenshot, 91 shares (0.711%) of all war shares grant me about 6K SIMs a day despite of the insane taxes.

Haha I have to admit every post I read of yours I learn something, from the laboratory ... Which by the way I am waiting for you to upload some to crypto things that I am super ignorant of these topics! Hugs

Like, what crypto things?

Would you advice someone to start Dcity now?

You could always start. Just know what your goals are.

dCITY been a while since I looked at my city. Still generating 1000 SIM a day.. from 16k ;P

image.png

Haha yeah. War tax generates most of my income these days.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 78 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
15