Quite A Dangerous Road

in #roads6 years ago (edited)

That's not a traffic jam, it's just that the bus before those two cars before ours must have needed to really drive slowly on this one cause as you can see, its top almost hit that part of that rocky mountain sticking out on the road. Unconsciously, I held my breathe watching that bus go through that cause it looked like it's going to get dented on its top.

a.jpg

What do you think those nets above that suggest? Falling boulders or debris? Both?

Just when you get to breathe after watching the bus go through it smoothly, a truck popped out of nowhere, also taking it slowly, once again, making me unconsciously hold my breathe till it was through.

b.jpg

More of those rock bulks and we were all almost moving at 10km per hour. Biking would have been better with that speed ha ha! Well, at least the driver on that bus is really cautious, no point of over taking the guy, it was just too narrow and there's always an oncoming traffic, it would test your patience as a driver.

c.jpg

More nets ... can't imagine what this roads look like in winter.

d.jpg

... then the rails vanished and were replaced with cones. Seriously? On this narrow, steep, curved road? Are you kidding?

e.jpg

It went on like that and we've reached a fork. We took the one going upward. Can you imagine what's in the middle of that fork? This.

f.jpg

On the way to Kriens, we passed by hotels and restos which are literally built on cliffs like those houses in Baguio if you've been there, except for they're not in rows. They would pop out of the greens like mushrooms spread apart on a field of grass. The resto has terraces hanging out on the cliff and mind you, it was even full and the people on it looked happy.

We passed by several considerably dangerous roads and tunnels there, this is actually a good one. It's well lit and there are emergency lanes on the sides compared to the ones we went through to get to Grindelwald, which have no emergency lanes at all and both lanes are very narrow and neither were they well lit.

g.jpg

Anyway, these roads kind'a remind me of the narrow, curved and very dangerous road called "Bituka ng Manok" in the Philippines which literally means - "chickens' intestines" if you've seen or eaten one then you can imagine how thin the lanes are.

When it's rainy, a mudslide could block the road, no boulders may roll but you see, a mudslide could also bury a car. Even when it's sunny, if someone steps on the gas and make one wrong maneuver, they could get thrown off the cliff. It has taken many lives because the fall would really be deep. At least in the Alps, the fall won't be that deep though still, very, very dangerous.

How about where you are? Are there any dangerous roads similar to this?
Where and what does it look like? Has it ever taken lives?
How did you feel while driving through them? Share in the comment below?

This content's 100% mine . I took the pics with my D Eye while we're on the go .



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



2.jpg

Sort:  

Hiya mon ami......

You managed to take some lovely photographs....I am assuming they are from the car.......right?

Oh yes.....nets for falling rocks or so they say......I would guess it would depend on the size of the stone. hehe ^__^

Those mountains do look steep.......

Wishing you all the best.

A bientot!

yes, they were
most of the shots I got were either tilted or blurry hahahah
my husband explained the road wasn't really straight
it was really curved and tilted
but the pull of gravity kept us from falling off the cliff

Hi englishtchrivy , happy to see you again!
I had to miss steemit because of my health, now it's much better.
What an impressing landscape, you feel very small on these mountain roads!
Thankfully there are the nets.
I remember taking roads like this when I was a kid
and that we were leaving in the south of France?
We crossed the Massif Central, it was also more dangerous, sometimes there were no nets and we could see some rocks at the edge of the road!

thank you for reading
and replying relevantly :)

edit: I can't imagine no nets whoa!

I was wondering where you've been
cause I wanted to ask whether its time to pull the sweet potatoes already
they're very bushy still but am dying to eat the roots already
it's still sunny here
how about yours? have you already harvested them?

I am like you, when I am on such road I am so scared, I just shut my eyes and try to sleep. I had once experience when we were on the way up to Wick, that is the town on the far Northern part of Scotland we also traveled with car, and we had a lorry in front, the road went up so I always thought now the lorry's break fail and we will be smashed by it, my husband just laugh to it :)

it's always scary to drive behind a lorry specially if it's loaded
have you ever driven behind one with cars on it
double deck of cars?
I think every time we travel we've encountered that specially in DE cause most import and export trucks would use DE's wide road very comfortable to drive there even if you speed up :D

Oh, yes, the lorry full of cars, that is nightmare, I also can't see it in front of our car, actually before when I was driving I stayed away from them. When my husband is driving he has no problem, therefore my favorite entertainment during our long drive, I just sit on back seat and enjoy my sleep, another reason for that I have motion sickness and when I am awake that is very bad.

Mountain roads are always a risk and a strain. Riding on mountain serpentines is an adrenaline rush :). There are no large mountains in my region, but I have sometimes experienced such thrills in my various travels. Cool photos!

thank you
and thank you for really reading :)

so am not alone
I always feel a bit worried specially that am in the passenger's seat :D
control freak hahaha
my husband is a very good driver yet it's scary
it's just the road really

this is really a feeling of fear and it all depends on the reaction and skill of the driver. The main thing is not to panic if something goes wrong. It is very good to be sure That your husband is a good driver. This makes it possible for many trips.

Heart in the mouth moments for sure on this road trip thanks for sharing this experience

Must have been a breathtaking Trip.

Posted using Partiko Android

omg ..they should trim off some of those rocks I mean wow...

i thought that, too
but then that maybe the only one holding the road above it, too
so it won't be wise to do that I guess

better off close it then! I can see the crack on the cut section...

ohhh boy itss very very dangerous i would have closed my eyes at that time

you can't drive with eyes closed lol

hahahaha

Sometimes you came across such people, driving like a crap moving in the water, I be like to have a magic long hands so I could push his/her in one side and go our way hehehe. Eish one shouldn't waste time around this place... Look scary especially for someone passing through this road for the first time...

Chicken intestine road.... Hehehe I wonder how you guys managed to grow through such road, It must really dangerous really because of the thinning...

Thanks for share..

Re-steemed.

wow its looking very dangerous