Watching Altered Carbon

in #entertainment5 years ago

Photo by Netflix

I just finished episode 5 of season 1, so I can't give conclusions. What I will share are tidbits of my emotion while watching it.

I am not much of a TV show, movie or pop culture buff, I am thinking of the ROI all the time wasted on something like a Netflix episodes. Can my experience being worthwhile sharing?

I wouldn't know the answer until I have tried. So here I am trying to share you my point of view of a popular TV show.

The idea of TV show itself can be a little absurd since the device I use to view those show can't be considered as a television. Yet, the term TV show seems to fit the definition of those Netflix episodes. So I will stick with the definition.

Let us get back to Altered Carbon....

So much cyberpunk aesthetics as if located in the same universe as Blade Runner, but both exist in a very different timeline. Blade Runner was in an alternate current era and Altered Carbon is 300 years in the future where we can copy our soul in a 'stack'.

It was like Ghost in The Shell set up in a Blade Runner universe. The cybernetic brain converted to stack and stack can be inserted in any body called sleeve. If your stack was destroyed, you die.

🚨Spoiler 👮 Alert 🚨

In the world of Altered Carbon, the Rich can own the best sleeve. The ultra rich are known as Meth from the biblical Methuselah because most of them like Laurens Bancroft lived for 3 hundred years.

Laurens Bancroft resurrected an old terrorist Envoy stack from 250 years ago in a recently deceased Caucasian dude. The stack was originally a Japanese Slav dude by the name of Takeshi Kovacs. Multiple ethnicities, very cyberpunk, wow. [Insert Doge Meme] 🐕

This Laurens Bancroft dude needs Takeshi Kovacs to help him solve the mystery of his recent murder. Since his stack was destroyed, the last 48 hours between his death and resurrection was blank because even the most advance technology money can buy can't upload those stack data to his satellite.

Takeshi Kovacs background story is exciting, not to forget the characters he met and got acquainted like the AI Hotel, Edgar Allan Poe. A hotel Artificial Intelligence which interfaced as the gothic writer, Edgar Alan Poe. He is quite interesting of a character which gave a little new touch to the whole noir detective story.

I understood how much this writing is lazy and hanging, because I have yet to finish the whole season. So let me finish it first and post the conclusion in later post.

Thank you for reading.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for reading, Robot Girl.