BLOGGING CHALLENGE PART 3 DAY 5 - WHAT LESSONS HAVE YOU LEARNT SO FAR IN LIFE?

in Blogging Challenge3 years ago

bloggingchallenge-part-03.0.jpg

Good afternoon hivians, hope you guys had a beautiful night's rest? This is my second post on this blogging challenge community. I was unable to post yesterday due to some factors beyond my control but I am back fully.

Today's topic is a very interesting one and I couldn't help but post about it. I have learnt a lot of lessons from my journey so far. I have made some bad choices, I have had some regrets. But one thing is constant, I pick up lessons and move with them. Giving up is not an option, we keep moving no matter what.

Most importantly, life has taught me never to expect too much from people. I have learnt never to look up to people for solutions. Sometimes they may not have the power to help even if they want to or they may have the power but chooses not to. When we place too much expectation on them, we tend to get hurt and disappointed when things do not work as planned. Having an open mind towards any situation remains the best option. While we hope things work out well, we should also be ready when it doesn't. That way you can seek other alternatives for that problem.

During my NYSC, I had an uncle who promised to help me get a job where he was working. He told me he had a good relationship with the HR of his company. Days turned into weeks and weeks into months and nothing happened. All I wanted was for him to help me submit my CV so I can be invited for an interview. If I don't get the job because I didn't do well during the interview, it was going to be on me.

Recently, my friends (two to be precise) told me they got invited for a test in that same company. One of them said till date, he doesn't know who helped him to apply for the job since he has never applied to that company. This news made me devastated and depressed. Mind you, I live in the same house as my uncle. He never told me that the recruitment process has commenced because the last time I asked him he said they were not recruiting.

I couldn't control my anger and this led me into saying things I didn't mean about him and his family. He knew how important this was for me and I felt like he didn't want to help me. My anger sabotaged my relationship with him, he threw me out of his house because of things I said and I still didn't get the job from his company. I lost everything while my friends were given employment with that company.

Assumption kills. It is better to critically think things through because this will help me see situations from a different perspective. Maybe he has already submitted the CV and I just haven't been invited yet for the test because it is in batches. He might have forgotten and all I needed to do was to remind him. This taught me never to expect too much from people also. They are humans and have their shortcomings. I lost that relationship because of my actions.

I now know better, mistakes aren't meant to mar you. It's to make you better, see things better and grow. This will prevent you from making similar mistakes in the future.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fayour! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day

I've also learnt not to expect things from people. It's hard to get disappointment when you did not expect anything from them.
Also it's important to be mindful of the things we say in anger. Someone recently told me, words cannot easily be taken back.

Thank you for your feedback 😊

Who might that someone be? 😏

You already know 😌😌

I am glad you've learnt your lessons. There is no need to beat yourself up. If another opportunity presents itself you would know how to act.

I try my best to hold my tongue. It is often impossible to take back words that have been said. They never go away. Do try to reach out to your uncle and apologize. Don't expect his forgiveness but at least let him know that you are sorry--if you are

I have reached out to him. Like you said, words said cannot be taken back. I will make conscious effort not to make such mistake again.

Well, that went downhill fast 😶 Don't beat yourself about it. Our emotions mislead us sometimes.

I also don't place high expectations on people. It's not like I've had any bad experience, it's just being my personality. A relative of mine made same promise but I took it with a pinch of salt. Till now, nothing and I'm not bothered at all cos I didn't put my hope in him in the first place.

I like your personality. Truly, we shouldn't place high expectations on people. Thanks for stopping by 😊

Oh what a good reflection and learning you give us today.

It happened to me often, I gave people more than they asked for and then I felt betrayed, disillusioned by their actions.

And it is true that sometimes we assume and act based on that, making mistakes.

I hope you get a good job soon, with the best of working environments.

And to say goodbye, I recommend you to justify the paragraphs, a good layout makes the posts have a better profit. @fayour

Thank you for your feedback.

l recommend you to justify the paragraphs, a good layout makes the posts have a better profit.

I will keep this in mind with my subsequent post.

That's very unfortunate. But you learned your lesson. Life is full of surprise.
"Keep learning and it will seem easier", this is my moto.
Good write up!

Yes I learnt my lesson. Thanks for stopping by