Please help report this fake Hive Blog scam on Facebook

in #anti-abuse4 years ago

I was surprised to find a notification seemingly from Hive blog on Facebook today. Initially, I thought I was simply tagged in one of the few unofficial Hive community groups that I tend to join/like if only to show support.

However, it turned out that the notification was due to the page sharing my profile picture together with a lengthy post promising 10,000 HIVE on behalf of the "Hive team". You know, the typical scam that has you follow a link to a hostile site.

HIVE blogs facebook scam.png

The fake HIVE Blogs Facebook account sharing my profile picture with a hostile link

Looking at the page (found here), it seems to still be sharing countless of other people's profile picture with the same text. I assume it is going by the people who like the actual Hive page (@hiveblocks). Clever tactic, as push notifications this way are almost guaranteed to get the attention of the user, and one might assume that since one received a notification then it must be from an account that one is already following...

In any case, if you have a Facebook account then I suggest you visit the fake page (https://www.facebook.com/HIVE-Blogs-102717581522468). Also, if you happen to be asked by any community members about whether or not the site is legit, then you can assure them that it is definitely not (hopefully, that should be obvious, but you just never know...)

Thanks in advance for reporting the page!

Sort:  

Done ;-)

Hi dear hivalander 🍀📷🍻 sorry I couldnt make a post for youre card for now, I am moving and working a lot!
Still I was so happy aboit youre card and I would love to send you one as well 📷
For now have a
!BEER for the waiting time 🏅🎁🏋
Greez from zürich 🇨🇭


Hey @hivelander, here is a little bit of BEER from @sandymeyer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Reported! 👍

Done, Reported

Always something my friend... reblogged and reported!!

We all know it's you but I'll play along. :p

🤫

It's probably Lasse, lmao

He would never come up with that, but he would be one to fall for the scam. 😅

Yep, similar scenario for me earlier today. the post they tagged me in as well as the page itself. Just took a peek again - man, they've been busy today! 😮

Yes, I got one from them this morning as well. Reported as a scam.

Yeah, this scam page shared one of my photos too!
Reported

But the man look so honest in the pic. This can't be a scam, not that innocent man. Clearly the guy is just trying to find himself in this world....

Made a post on the Hive Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/hiveblocks/posts/166644688313211

posted the comment with Dan's account by mistake lol

Seite Melden / Report this page / Copied

Thank you for letting everyone know about this scam post. I did my part by reblogging your post and including it in my I Am Engaged Challenge.

included.png

Ohhh, I've reported countless times. This isn't the first page. XD

Reported the fake page with my facebook account as well. Hopefully facebook sorts it sooner rather than later, Can take them months to do anything.

Done. So much scamming going on. Seems to be as bad as covid.

Nowadays social networks have been dedicated to scams, so you have to be careful and think about these false information. Also inquire and do not fill your eyes first .. thanks for sharing this information

I don't use fb, but good information to know.

I will definitely report.