My Hive 2021 in overview. Does engaging help?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

This could be my rep 70 post but this all of course depends on you. When I first boarded the Steem/Hive train, Rep 70 was something magical. For sure for the ones not using bid bots, which I rarely did. I could have been here faster, but during the Covid Pandemic, I was distracted from Hive. A few weeks ago, I decided that Hive would get my full attention again.
We are now day 147 in 2021 and I did write only 65 post. If this was 2019 I would have written over 165 posts.

In the past weeks, I started to #ENGAGE again and focus on writing posts. So I was curious about what I wrote this year and if there are specific area's which does attract more comments or upvotes.

Categories

I did run by all my posts and did organize them per category. I did end with up with the following categories: Actifit, Betting, Gambling, Life, Crypto, Faucet, Blogging and Beer!

Schermafbeelding 20210527 om 09.17.10.png

As you can see most post where created in the Actifit channel, there is a pretty good reason for that. Due to lack of motivation to write a decent post it is easy to write an Actifit post.
Next up are posts about sportsbetting, which is one of my hobbies but in general these are doing very well on Hive.

Comparing payouts and interactions per category!

Schermafbeelding 20210527 om 09.21.41.png

A little but surprised about my beer post! I did got a very good payout due to #CURANGEL dropping by, but more important is that is also did score 12 comments. Probably 5 comments and replies on that and the other comments are BEER rewards.
Also posts about Crypto are doing fine. No surprise I guess, because I do think everyone on Hive is interested in Crypto.

Also no surprise that Actifit posts are doing very good in the engagement diagram. These are often shit post, in which we all have to make sure that we do reach the minimal needed chars to be able to post. Still they are a great addition to the Hive blockchain. On one side it does motivate you to get out and on the other side, I could be an easy post with proof of walk behind it!

The Blogging posts do well in the engagement diagram but are staying behind in the value diagram.

General

If I do have a general look, I do score an average 2,93 comments on my posts. Something which I would like to see to go in the future. This means on my side writing better posts and trying to interact more with the posts of other people. This only works if these comments are genuine. Non saying comment do work contra productive.

The average pay-out for all my posts isn't bad but also not great. They do have an average value of 2,47. So every post above this mark is outstanding for me, everything below is more normal. Also here interaction on other's post will and could work!

You can clearly see inn the diagrams below, that interaction does pay off! While the increase is only small, the trend line is going up. And that's the way we do like it.

Schermafbeelding 20210527 om 09.31.32.png

Now I could easily say that I would ditch some categories, but that would go against my nature. While just like all of us, I would like to score $20 posts time after time and it appears that some of my categories would give me a bigger change to reach one of those golden pots. But I always told myself that I would write about what does interest me and about thing I like. So I will stick to that, even if these means that these posts will score lower in value and interaction. I do see some authors chasing the popular topics, which they are allowed to do, but I will just not do that!

Will see if I can write this kind of post again after one month and see if things have changed. Pretty interested in this. It is a test if interaction does get rewarded. I did learn pretty quickly on thise blockchain the power of interaction; this lesson was teached to me by @abh12345 and @taskmaster4450

Euhm, in the mean time I will drink, euhm, test plenty of Beer to have some decent input for some Beer posts 😇

Cheers,
Peter

To refer to later on:
Schermafbeelding 20210527 om 09.46.54.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Congratulations on reaching reputation 70 FullCoverBetting! More respect for not using bots too :)

But I always told myself that I would write about what does interest me and about thing I like. So I will stick to that, even if these means that these posts will score lower in value and interaction. I do see some authors chasing the popular topics, which they are allowed to do, but I will just not do that!

I can totally relate to this as I myself have turned my blog to my gaming journey and as expected the interactions became little to none. It was expected though since the games I play (with the exception of Splinterlands) are not that popular. It also doesn't help that there are only a few people in here who plays video games to begin with. Still, I write and brag about it since it is the kind of thing that really interests me. I could have gotten more upvotes if I write about crypto and the likes but except for HIVE, I am just not into those things. I do get lucky sometimes though to get a decent upvote once or twice a week.

So yeah! Congratulations on reaching Reputation 70 again! And please do continue posting what really interests you. I might not comment much but I do read them :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Same here! I do read most of your post, but if the topic is out of my reach it is hard to comment. Just did place one on your winning streak posts!

Diversity is what Hive does need. There is no advantage if everybody does write about the same topics over and over again! This way Hive won't get the attention it still deserves!

Maybe you should try to also post on Publish0x to extend your reach. Copy and pasting those posts takes a minute or so. And it has a bigger diversity in posts! They do have a great search bot.
If you are not on there yet, feel free to use my ref link:
https://www.publish0x.com?a=46dB46Ja79

Up to rep 71 for both of us. Probably will be something for next year :)

If you like Sports betting and gambling you should give Bitsports a try. It’s available on Blurt and Steem.... https://blurtter.com/@bitsports ... https://Steemit.com/@bitsports ... you can always win by voting opposite teams on each site. I earn blurt, Steem, SBD, and trx


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thx will give it a try. I did gave up on bliet when trying to move some blurt to hive-engine. Got lost forever 😔

Oh... you can always find your missing blurt with @yehey who runs the blurtlink on blurt

https://Steemit.com/@bitsports

Thanks for the reminder, will have to start also finally :-)

I earn about 5 SBD and several hundred Blurt every week with Bitsports. ...

i just entered three games on both chains, i have no clue about NBA though

Me neither ... I just look up the Stats..l choose one team on Blurt, and the other team on Steemit... this way I always win something.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Good work Sir! I mainly spread my engagement and content on music, pob, photography contests and if i find time again on sports / gaming and beer. Like your spread, only do not like the actifit stuff in general but different topic :-).

!BEER


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Can understand the dislike for actifit posts. For sure at the start my feed was full of actifit posts.
Most of mine were written, going to be honest, to get the autovotes 😔.
Also really like what POB is doing. But it is still fresh and time will tell. But took the gamble and did purchase some tokens to kickstart my adventure there.

Thx for the comment and !BEER


Hey @uwelang, here is a little bit of BEER from @fullcoverbetting for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congras for your 70 rep. Of course engaging help. You can't imagine how active I was to get that 76 rep, I'm aiming now to 77. The great thing is that it's harder to jump from a reputation to an other. The more the number, the harder is to cross it. I'm on 76 for more than year now. I'll do my best to make it 77 this year already, that will be huge for me. I'm not that active at leo, but I create content there. I like the activity in #proofofbrain, I'm planing to be active there more. I wish you to reach the results you want. ☺

It indeeds gets harder to score the next rep point. Nowadays this a better representation than in steem times where you could climb in the rep ranks with just using the right bid bits.
Step by step I guess.
Good luck in reaching rep 77!

!BEER


Hey @clixmoney, here is a little bit of BEER from @fullcoverbetting for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Recently i am beginning to understand more benefits or usefulness of engagements on this platform.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It is one of the most crucial parts for most of us. Engage with authors and other comments. Only a handful do get lucky with the support of some whales.
Engaging will attract followers and could score an upvote now and than on a genuine comment.
It is all about creating a brand!

Thx for the comment.

Cheers,
Peter

Yeah you have made a valid point.


Posted via proofofbrain.io


Hey @fullcoverbetting, here is a little bit of BEER from @uwelang for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

an easy post with proof of walk behind it

Yeah... I am a little ashamed to use my ActFit post as my "daily" post, but some days I just don't have the motivation or the time. I would probably like to figure out a bot to show my daily gaming updates. Something that would summarize my activity on the 3 games I am still playing into post form, just as a record of my activity.

As far as getting actual responses to my posts, so far the biggest discussion I had was on someone else's post. LOL. Oh, well.

:)
I do know and understand your dilemma. Writing a decent post does cost time, motivation and inspiration. We all had a writer block!
You could try to set a routine and write on Monday for instance about game a, on Tuesday on game B and so on. Once you are in this routine, it will become much easier.

I am thinking about writing each Friday about my adventures in Crypto Faucet land. Let's see if the post of tomorrow will be a faucet post :)

I have the BEER SATURDAY post as well. Which requires me to go hunt for a local beer. LOL

I have ideas to write, just the motivation is lacking.

I do try to write my posts in the evening. There isn’t a lot on TV which I do follow so there is time to waste, certainly with the current weather here!

I probably should watch less TV, but it helps my brain unwind.

I like to see people with dedication to this social network, it is incredible that you have a very good reputation.

The rep comes due to my long adventure here on the blockchain. If you stay committed,you will get there also! No doubt about it!

thanks for the support

It doesn't get any easier once you get past 70! :P Trust me. It is such a slow crawl because of the algorithm after that point. That is awesome that you get so much engagement on your Actifit posts. I never would have guessed that. Keep plugging along. You will be 75 before you know it! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I wonder if rep 75 will beat the age of 75 :)
The engagement on the actifit post are a little bit blurred. On each actifit post, actifit does write a comment that they did upvote the post. So in real life it are actually 9 comments. Did want to distract that from the total, but then also I should take all the !BEER comments out of the charts. Too much of a hassle :)

Ah yeah, I remember that now. I think you will get there before you hit 75. I am about .5 away from 75 so I should be good to go. I think it took me about a year to get from 70 to where I am now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

One year isn't that bad at all! It is quicker than I imagined.
You will be at 80 before you know it :)

We will see! :) You've got this though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Hey @bozz, here is a little bit of BEER from @fullcoverbetting for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.