Is It Appropriate To Post With Alt Accounts?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Is It Appropriate To Post With Alt Accounts?


Greetings Steemian's,

I've never made a dpoll post before, but this seems like a great way to get peoples opinions, plus I've been wanting to try it out anyway.

I notice some very prominent Steemian's who have strong opinions about gaming and vote farming, yet some of these Steemian's use alt accounts for things like Actifit, Dpoll, sending SBI shares for their main account, and other various activities that seem farmish to me.

So what do you think? Is this hypocritical, or do the standards that some of these Steemain's preach not apply to them because they work hard or have earned some status here?

Edit: It seems like I might be ruffling some tail feathers with this one, and perhaps I did not explain what I mean very well. I don't have an issue with alt accounts, in fact I manage @awesomeaustin, and @goldlist as passive curation accounts. As well as @starrykinght for @spl, and @imaginary-friend, which I use for nothing..
This isn't about whether or not it's ok to use alts, I am fine with that, so long as some transparency is present. What I don't like is hypocrites, where there are some here, who act as if it's ok for them to use posting alts, while calling new joins gamers if they do the same thing. I hope this clears up my stance on alt accounts.


  • Yes, this is wrong..

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

  • Not sure.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

Steem was designed as a proof of stake system (or more accurately, delegated proof of stake) explicitly so that alts are a non-issue. At protocol-level, cutting stake across many different accounts does not increase the value or influence of that stake in any way.
Individual dApps are responsible for their own guidelines and determination of whether alts matter. If they decide that alts should matter and usage should be restricted to 'per person' then they are responsible for their own verification or oracles.

In many cases, systems are badly designed and don't account for alts, making them easy to take advantage of using alts. This is the responsibility of the individual dApp designers - if they want to build for blockchain, they need to actually understand the economics of blockchain, and unrestrained alts are a central feature.

I agree that alts are fine. It's the hypocrisy I see from some that I don't like. I believe in leading by example, so one should not say a new account is gaming by doing this, while they are practicing exactly what it is they call gaming!

I would like to get your thoughts on the SBI shares though if you don't mind. It's difficult for me to not see this one in a "gaming" sense. To send SBI shares from an alt, for a main is gaming in my book, because it negates the intended purpose of SBI, and leverages an unfair advantage in the big picture. I'm not a math wiz, but this seems like common sense.

Do you guys have a system to combat this, where perhaps you are watching for known users who are gaming your SBI system?

The proviso requiring the sponsoring of another account is in place to encourage users to help each other. We know that sponsoring alts and sponsor-swapping both happen a lot, but we're fine with that. It's still contributing to a self & crowdfunded basic income for the enrolling accounts, even if it doesn't support as wide a distribution as I would like.

The idea is to use incentives to encourage good, not to force people to do good.

Ok, understandable. The accounts I've seen that do this seem to be careful not to do it too much, like they don't think you know anyway... lol.

I really appreciate the timely and respectful communication, as well as everything you do for our beloved blockchain!

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

operating accounts with different purposes, and self SBI sponsorship is no vote farming for me because it's totally the user's resources.

Suppose they were to operate with one account, they can still find someone to exchange SBI sponsorship. Even this move is supported by SBI and most often done in the server.

Thank you for your thoughts. I agree :)
The proof of stake model makes it so that moving stake around to different accounts doesn't offer any real advantage in terms of sharepool influence.
I think there are a few grey areas, but ultimately I'm a proponent of having alts, and manage some myself for passive curation, as well as manage a trail for a community.
I appreciate the thoughts :)

Coool! I guess we're on the same page :)

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a muddy issue for me and I guess it depends on how their used. I have actually thought about opening a new account for content that doesn't fit on my normal blog but I haven't gone through with it.

Yes. It's not all that muddy for me. I don't see a problem with alts, and had to compose an edit, because I really felt as though I misconstrued my meaning a bit. The title is somewhat misleading.

There are some users floating around that are extremely judgmental of new users creating posting alts, yet they hold themselves in this delusional entitlement mindset, as if they've "earned" the right to do something they don't agree with. How fucked is that? lol

That's why I composed an edit outlining all the different alts I'm in control of. Although I don't post with any of them, I definitely have some auto passive curation going on. Some aren't cool with automation, so that could even be put under scrutiny.

With all the new stuff happening though, there are many grey areas, and what I see to be a more important, and bigger picture, is for us to remain active here and keep onboarding new users. As time goes on, things will smooth out, and probably even get worse at times! This is still very early in the game my friend. Thank you for your thoughts @artisticscreech

PS, did you claim your PAL token yet?

Voted for

  • Not sure.

I dont have a big issue with it as such, and have just restarted poating from an alt account. I have it purely for steemmonsters and the content will be all monster related. I am also using it mainly on splintertalk so I can manage the voting power separately.

I guess in my opinion it comes dowm to wether the content contains some effort or is just spamy for vote farming only.

I probably should have worded it a bit differently. I don't have much of a problem with alts, but I just think some people here are rather hypocritical with their antics.

I have a few myself that I use for passive curation income, but I do not post with them.

Thank you for your thoughts!

I voted for No, it's perfectly fine. I think its fine when done with transparency

Thank you for your response @tattoodjay, I agree . I think it's perfectly fine so long as users make known their alts, as not to deceive curators and community members in general.
What ignited this question , is seeing some users who act is if it is wrong, but ok if you earn the right to do it. Like a sense of entitlement, which to me is pretty lame. If it's good for the goose, it's good for the gander right?
That and the sending SBI shares for their mains doesn't sit too well with me, but @josephsavage made a good point here too, that

It's still contributing to a self & crowdfunded basic income for the enrolling accounts, even if it doesn't support as wide a distribution as I would like.
The idea is to use incentives to encourage good, not to force people to do good.

I didn't think about it like this, but the man has a good point. Actions speak louder than words, so we can see who does what and make our own determination as to the merit of their behavior, and decide accordingly if we are going to support such a user. I see long term detriment in behaviors that are selfish like this. (I consider it selfish.)
The idea of having another posting account does appeal to me actually, for SM posts, Dpolls, and whatever else. Maybe I'll create one and call it "futuremindshitposts" or something lol. 😄
Thank you for your thoughts :)

For the record, I do have alts for various purposes like gaming. And they have SBI... but I fund them separately by having them sponsor other people or initiatives.

I'm not judging anyone, we just have some hypocrites that contradict themselves around here, and it grinds my gears, but I really don't think anyone would have a problem with the man who created SBI receiving some extra support shares, not at all.

What do you think "futuremindshitposts" for an alt? 😋

I do kind of want to create an alt to go ham with some SM and Dpolls lol.

I do get management units at 5% of total, but then I assign them out to improve distribution on the long tail...

I did let a bit of surplus build up first, but right now I have maybe 50 mgmt units assigned to me.

!sbi status

Hi @josephsavage!

  • you have 2091 units and 82 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 364521461135165 or 218.151 $
  • as you did not wrote a post within the last 7 days, your comments will be upvoted.
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.240 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 72.43 % has come from your subscription level
  • 25.89 % has come from your bonus units
  • 1.68 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 36.36 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    To reduce blockchain clutter, you can also check your status in our Discord server!
    https://discord.gg/VpghTRz

I hope you have dustweeper too cause I'm not sure if these votes are going to dust lol

Lol you should go ahead and make that Alt account
I have trouble keeping up with just one account and co leading the SteemUSA community without even thinking about another account
I have no issue with people who create alt accounts to support the community I’m some way I do have an issue with those who do it to only help themselves and disguise there own self voting
But I guess each to their own

Cheers

Yeah bro, that's exactly what I mean. 😄 Deceptive behavior that is rather easy to piece together on a blockchain.
It was a pleasure chatting. I'll see you around!

Cheers and take care

Voted for

  • Yes, this is wrong..

Pretty obvious what I think.

Can you explain?

Posted using Partiko Android

Surely. I think I did a poor job explaining what I mean with my question.

I have no problem with alt accounts. I maintain a few myself for passive curation.

I don't like hypocrisy, and people claiming new users on the chain are vote farmers because they maintain alts, while they are behaving in this manner themselves.

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

Hi, @futuremind!

You just got a 33.47% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

Congratulations @futuremind! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Piece of cake! Thanks Steemitboard!

As member of the @Council - Community Upvoting Service, this post has received a 100.00% upvote from @council another project managed by @Yehey [ Witness ].

Members of the community can all chip in to Power UP. Become a member, delegate as low as 10 Steem Power (SP) to @Council to receive upvote and resteem. Here's the link to delegate https://on.king.net/council10sp it will redirect to Steem Connect for a secure connection. We share the Steem Power of all members that delegate to @Council Community Upvoting Service, sharing our SP for a stronger upvote. Vote like a Whale.

Please join us at https://SteemChat.com Steem Community discord server if you have questions.

Thank you.
@Council - Community Upvoting Service. Powered by Steemians

Posted using https://Steeming.com website.

You da man.

Voted for

  • Not sure.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

So cool , Thank you @dpoll.curation! Thank you @bluerobo for the curation. I enjoyed my first experience with dpoll, and can confidently say, I will be using dpoll again in the future!

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.

Is it appropriate here to use a nickname to hide your real name?

Well, that isn't what the poll is asking, but it's within the context. Some people here have privacy concerns. A little old lady might be paranoid that someone will try to track her down and victimize her, so would I judge her for it, me personally, not at all.
In the same context, is it appropriate to hide your face?

I voted that it is fine to use alt accounts. I have had people enter the Shadow Contest more than once using various alts and I decided that when I knew they were using alts I would only choose one account as a winner. But if they are willing to put in that much effort and spread votes around from each account, I can only admire all the work they are doing! I have all I can do to keep up with one account! I have a second account @melshadow, and occasionally I'll go look at it and try using it but it is pretty much unused and I get too confused to make the effort!

Seems like those users took some extra effort to game your Shadow Contest, and ultimately it's a poor reflection on them, but sure I can see how it would take some extra effort, which is kind of comical, because if they just focus that energy on making one really good post, they would probably have better chances at winning.

Yeah I don't see any problem with it either, and I also manage some accounts for different purposes that I outlined above. I do like the idea of having an account just for dpolll, steemmonsters, and other posts which require low effort. I'm seriously considering making an account called futuremindshitposts. :)

I guess you would have to use different front end sites for each alt?

No not at all, you can use which ever frontends you wish to use, but there are some implications to this, which in my opinion would be gaming. Like if you are using eSteem and earning the points with your main account, to me it would be a form of gaming to use an alt with eSteem as well, it's unfair to others on the platform.
Luckily there are ways to block these types of users.
It's double dipping, so of course if I do make this account, it won't ever log into eSteem, and my other thought, is it's important to be transparent about it , and have "futuremind" be a part of the user name, as to make it very obvious who's account it is.

Voted for

  • Not sure.

Voted for

  • No, it's perfectly fine.
  • Not sure.

I chose these two answers because I'd need more context on the individuals.

Like, if someone's spotting about vote-farming being wrong, only to upvote themselves from alt-accounts, then yeah I can see that being pretty slimy of them to do.

I have a few alt-accounts, and I auto-upvote my posts from them, but I justify it because I know the post-payouts are being powered up and used to help other Steemians and this platform.
I have never once sold any of my STEEM, so I don't consider my actions harmful. I guess especially since my votes are so low anyways. And I make sure to upvote other people way more than I upvote myself.

I don't know... perhaps these are just bullshit excuses I tell myself to sleep better at night lol ;^)